We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the worst Indian food I have ever had, but in the bottom 2”

Natraj Cuisine of India
Ranked #124 of 168 Restaurants in Laguna Beach
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Laguna Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Not the worst Indian food I have ever had, but in the bottom 2”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

The food really was not very good and the staff were not very pleasant and the place just did not seem very clean. I had read some glowing reviews on trip advisor which convinced me to go to Natraj for dinner. Maybe Saturday night is not their good night.

And they added an 18% tip to the tab (there were 3 of us -- not a large party). I thought that in North America that a tip and the percent were at my discretion. Not here!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank EquineDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    7
    10
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lawrenceburg, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Indian”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We love indian food and do not often pass up an opportunity to enjoy the food. Natraj did not disappoint accept I was not presented with a choice of spiciness. I would have chosen something much more spicy. So inquire before ordering.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Albert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Neighborhood Restaurant”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

A local favorite...family run, consistently good, and varied Indian dishes. Lots of vegetarian choices, great location and a pleasure to dine at. Aloo Ghobi is great here.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Horrible food”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

I went to this restaurant with my family since it was getting late for my son's dinner time. My son is 3 yrs old. I ordered Vegetable Pulav and it tastes worse. We ordered for a paratha and the waiter forgot about it.. He brought it later by that time my son was screaming with hunger.. soon we decided to pack the food and I asked them to pack it. the waiter did not even pack the roti (bread) in aluminium foil and he just used a paper. By the time we got back to the car, the bread became hard and my son just throwed that.. overall very bad experience.. there was a frozen yoghurt next block and it was a sigh of relief for us. I will never go back to this restaurant..

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sgmkjsekar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin CA
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Friendly, Lively, Broad Menu, Casual”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

The Natraj menu is really varied, without being overwhelming, and includes a nice variety of veggie dishes in addition to meat. Our group of six ordered eight dishes to share (we know they are smaller than some places provide), plus Nan. Many of the dish names were unlike those we'd encountered before, so I offer English translations here.

Dishes which got the most raves from our table were their lobster, their spinach with cheese, and both their Fruit Nan and Garlic Nan. Everything was well cooked and presented attractively and with nice enthusiasm and smiles from a very friendly staff.

We were delighted that they offered wine by the bottle for $20 in every variety, as well, of course, as some more expensive. It is nice to be able to order decent wines without paying more than for the dinner, at such a casual place.

Our only "complaint" is that several of the dishes were pretty mildly flavored rather than more powerfully, as in most Indian dishes we've had before. This was also true the last time we were here, in 2012, so was just not the result of a particular chef. It is possible to request them "hotter," but I'm talking about flavor intensity.

They were very busy on Saturday night at 6:30 - good for them! Being on Coast Highway across from the beach helps! Prices are very reasonable. We will certainly be back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ExplorerMundi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Natraj Cuisine of India also viewed

Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 
Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Natraj Cuisine of India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing