We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnifico!”

Alessa by Chef Pirozzi
Reserve with OpenTable
Alessa by Chef Pirozzi is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #22 of 168 Restaurants in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Magnifico!”
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I had a lovely dinner here. The lobster ravioli melted in your mouth. I had the lamb pappardelle dish and it was superb. They cooked the lamb for 8 hours.

Helpful?
Thank Jonathancm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    108
    41
    7
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hand-made pasta”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

The squid ink linguiniI was delicious!!!! I ate all of it along with a little bit of everyone else's meal.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank JaneSanford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Mixed bag”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Dropped by for a casual meal with friends. We were accommodated as a walk in with no problem despite being busy. The meal got off to a good start with the mixed meat and cheese platter and some nice wine. However the entrees were less exciting. The spaghetti and meatballs which should be a standard for any Italian chef were a strange texture and the vegetable risotto came with mozzarella on top. The food wasn't bad just unusual in an odd way.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobble50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“terrific Italian food in a great location”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

food is surprisingly good --- at reasonable prices -- service is excellent --- outside tables give opportunity to fun people watch -- only negative is that they are very busy but don't take reservations except for large parties ... so get on the waiting list and stroll town

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Neil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Love EVERYTHING!”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We have been to Cucina Alessa (now Laguna Alessa I believe) several times and have tried many of the menu offerings. Each time we are surprised and delighted by a new find. Not to be missed - the mix and match meat and cheese combinations. We always get the 6 item one. The gorganzola with fig marmalade is my favorite. We sit at the bar and the service is always excellent and the servers very friendly and informative. Saul was terrific! Tried the lamb pappardelle this last visit - was absolutely DELICIOUS - rich and flavorful. We end our meals with a Pirozzi family favorite - Zucca - an appetizer of butternut squash ravioli in sage butter sauce. Definitely a sweet and salty grand finale to our meals. Can't wait to go back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank babyRN19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alessa by Chef Pirozzi also viewed

Laguna Beach, Orange County
 
Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Alessa by Chef Pirozzi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing