We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Orange County Alina Beck- My favorite restaurant!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sapphire Laguna

Sapphire Laguna
Reserve with OpenTable
Sapphire Laguna is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #27 of 169 Restaurants in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $50
Cuisines: American, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Brooks
Transit: Mass transit and Laguna shuttle on the same block.
Description: The cuisine at Sapphire Laguna is characterized by Chef/Owner Azmin Ghahreman's distinctive international style, its cornerstone is the freshest possible local ingredients. The evolving menu changes seasonally - based on what is freshly caught and available from small farms, nearby markets and artisan suppliers. Chef Azmin's says: "When you dine at my restaurant you are traveling through the world's markets with your palate, and you don't even need a passport." Sapphire Laguna also features reach-in wine vaults which house an eclectic wine collection - more than 900 bottles, emphasizing varietals from around the world. All vintages are stored in temperature-controlled units behind a rustic wall made from actual wine staves. In addition, approximately 25 wines by the glass are available. Menu samples and wine offerings can be found on Sapphire Laguna's Website.
Mesa, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Orange County Alina Beck- My favorite restaurant!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

Lunch was absolutely fabulous. Great Menu selection!

View, breathtaking.

Service, excellent.

Super place for out of town guests.
Service was attentive, friendly, and knowledgeable about menu and ingredients. A true gastronomic and sensual joy.

Kuddos from Alina Beck Arizona Mesa

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlinaBeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    89
    32
    14
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, Ca
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ummm - Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

OK - First of all, I live in Laguna and have been to most of the restaurants in the area. This includes both New and Fancy to "hole-in-the-wall Classic" in and around the Laguna/Newport foodie spectrum and I must say, Sapphire is quite possibly the best of any in the county. Not only have we experienced a remarkable meal, but the ambiance and service were both warm and professional - a rare combination. Do yourself a huge favor - experience Sapphire for yourself - it is quite possibly the finest restaurant in Laguna Beach!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank amozz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very nice and quaint”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

We liked sapphire. Great bottle of wine. Waiter was awesome !!! Food delicious. Good location! Cute atmosphere. St Regis sent us there. We recommend !!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen1949622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
90 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice Place for Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

In September of 2012 we had dinner here on a Friday or Saturday night and had a tough time hearing each other over the din of the other clientele at this popular bar and grill. We did enjoy the food and they are Gluten Free friendly, so when we found ourselves there around lunch and it was open Friday 9/13 we deemed it our lucky day and stopped in.

It was, a much quieter and more enjoyable atmosphere for us -- we don't hang out in bars and clubs to see or be seen.

The lunch menu is perfect. I ordered JUMBO SHRIMP LOUIE a salad of Romaine Spears, Avocado, Tomato, Cucumber
Hard Boiled Egg, Russian Dressing. This old fashioned staple is reinterpreted deliciously with the freshest ingredients. While I hesitate to say the shrimp were "jumbo" they were perfectly cooked and chilled. I also had a Something Buddha Margarita. I cannot precisely recall the name - perhaps because I had two they were so good. It was a delicious concoction of the chef's design (he told us he invented it 7 years ago) and prepared with his lemon confit (comfit?). It that was so yummy i was spearing bits of the candied rind out. I checked the little store adjacent the restaurant but it was not available. I can't recall the exact name - perhaps because I had two.

My husband had a PULLED PORK QUESADILLA Oaxaca Cheese, with three salsas (red, green and a bean concoction). He thought it was the right combo of meat and cheese, but a little greasy.
He got a Virgin Bloody Mary with a delish blue cheese filled olive wrapped in prosciutto. He really enjoyed the spice in that.

The owner chef bopped in while we were there and greeted each table. The lunch-time lighting gave us the opportunity to appreciate the decor. I found the waitstaff a bit haughty, but the hosts were lovely. The entrees were well priced for the area. the ingredients were fresh!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank steph1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Absolutely fabulous”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

This was an unexpected gem and is highly recommended. It's on the wrong side of the road for an ocean view but we want after sunset and so this wasn't an issue for us. The setting it gorgeous with nice wooden table and chairs with heaters and a fire pit. It was a cool evening and so the warmth was very welcome. The food was absolutely fabulous and we had the salmon and bourguignon and both were gorgeous. By Aerican standards, the portion sizes were now big, but they were as much as we wanted. It's quite pricey, but well worth it. The staff were nice and friendly, but very slow. We had decided the share a cheese platter and another glass of wine for dessert, but by the time the waiter came back we'd decided not to bother. The only minor down side is that it's right on the edge of the PCH so can be quite noisy but it didn't bother us and most places are anyway. There is a nice restaurant inside as well if it's too cold or too noisy. The only confusing thing is finding the place as it's set back from the road a little and their fascia sign is obscured by a big sign saying The Pottery Barn. Highly recommended.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Popet70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sapphire Laguna also viewed

Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 
Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Sapphire Laguna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing