We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Surprisingly nice hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Laguna Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Laguna Beach
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Centerville, Ohio
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Surprisingly nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

Stayed here last year for a business trip and had been meaning to do a write on this property. Excellent and very accommodating staff. It was nice each day to walk out from the room and look over the pool area. Such a great view to start the day. The next time I plan a vacation for the West Coast this will be one of the stayover locations. Can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Globalman2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keeptrack, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Laguna Beach, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are happy to hear that you had a wonderful time during your visit. We appreciate all the feedback that we get from our guests. If you are ever in town again we do hope that you can stop by and stay with us again soon. Have a wonderful day, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    198
    51
    21
    16
See reviews for
161
148
20
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

I stayed here on a business trip with other co-workers but I am definitely planning on coming back for more fun! We were only there one night, but it was very comfortable. Rooms were clean and very cute. Best part - right across the street from the beach. Close to restaurants and shops. Staff was friendly. Wish I could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rashida03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keeptrack, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Laguna Beach, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind words. We are happy to hear that you had a wonderful business trip and we do hope that you can come back next time for your next visit. May you have a wonderful day and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights in mid-October and loved it. The rooms overlook the pool and everything is clean and neat. The staff are friendly and helpful. The location is perfect, the beach is over the road and there are lots of dining options. We loved the relaxed hacienda style of this Holiday Inn and can't wait to go back.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cinders101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keeptrack, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Laguna Beach, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking your time to write us a review. I am pleased to hear that you had a wonderful time during your stay. My staff and I strive to provide great customer service and are delighted to know that we are. Please do come back and visit us again soon. May you have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

My wife and I stayed here from Oct 19-26. I had some classes to go to in Laguna Hills all week. This place is one block off the beach but we didn't pay $400-$600 per night either. Knowing what I know now, we would have stayed here anyway. There is a Ralph's grocery store right across the street. Restaurants within short walking distances. The hotel surrounds the pool so if you want to get away from the crowd for awhile hang out by the pool. No windows on the outside perimeter of the hotel rooms so we did not hear one bit of noise from the Pacific Coast Highway. The service was excellent. Anything we wanted, they were happy to help. They have a parking lot behind the hotel. Not the fanciest hotel in Laguna, but very clean, great location, and very good service. Best value for the dollar!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hal D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keeptrack, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Laguna Beach, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us and providing us with positive feedback. We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful experience during your stay and visit to Laguna. We do hope that you come back soon and stay with us again soon . May you have a wonderful night.
Kind Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

We have just returned from a trip staying in various resorts in California. We have always loved Laguna Beach but have always found the hotels to be very pricey so we were delighted, at the end of our trip to find this charming, reasonably priced hotel which is in a great location with just a short walk to the town and beach. The rooms are immaculately clean and cosy. The central courtyard is beautifully landscaped with a very pretty gazebo covered in bougainvillea and a small swimming pool which again is very clean and inviting. The supermarket (Ralph's) is just across the road and there is a small shop opposite on the PCH selling surfboards, swimwear etc who do a great deal on the hire of beach chairs, umbrellas etc. We didn't eat at the restaurant but it was busy most nights so I guess it also has a good reputation. The complimentary coffee, coke, lemonade, water and popcorn in the lobby is also a really nice touch. Last but definitely not least, the staff are very brilliant, so friendly and helpful and willing to go the extra mile to make your stay special.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue2151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keeptrack, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Laguna Beach, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. My staff and I are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at our property. We hope that you can visit us again soon on your next visit to Laguna beach. Have a wonderful day.
Kind Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here for 37 years, love the location, setting, and accommodating staff. We like the coffee, lemonade, water, soda and popcorn the staff set out in the lobby for guests. It's a small, older hotel built around a pool with lush landscaping. Ralph's is across the street. It's 1/2 mile walk to Main Beach, which we do twice a day, enjoying stores and restaurants on the way.
Air conditioners in rooms are somewhat noisy; parking is on 2nd floor level so we request room nearby to avoid stairs. Nonetheless we feel at home at this hotel.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keeptrack, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Laguna Beach, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We appreciate that you have stayed with us throughout the years and are happy to know that you are enjoying your stays with us. We hope you can come back for another year and we will look forward to seeing you. Have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

The architecture has a Spanish air to it, with bougainvilleas adorning the windows that overlook the street below.
The ocean is visible from there. It is surrounded by tiny boutique shops showcasing the local art. There's a central courtyard that is in bloom with a gazebo. Every step brings you to another breath-taking specimen of a plant. Even the Taco Bell across the street is pretty. This is Laguna Beach.
I cannot recreate the sensation of being in this picturesque town by the sea. Just go. Stay at the Holiday Inn Laguna Beach. Even the street signs are works of art. Every walk unveils another treasure within Laguna's maritime mist of wonder.
I will leave you with two quotes found on the fence overlooking the ocean in Brown's park, which you must discover for yourself. One sign has a border made up of "sight" written repeatedly, and it says: "In this fleeting moment what extravagant respite as Promethean sunsets blossom, blaze, and secede from splendor to mystery". Next to it is the other, the border has "sound" instead of "sight", and it reads: "In this moment what extravagant respite as blooming surf speaks its mystical passage across the undreamed depths".
Welcome to Laguna.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aamaris13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keeptrack, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Laguna Beach, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
I want to thank you for taking the time to give us a review. My staff and I appreciate all the wonderful feedback you have provided. We strive to give the best customer we possibly can and thanks to your review we feel good knowing that our guests are being take care of. We do hope that you can make it back to Laguna Beach and stay with us again.
May you have a wonderful day, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#6 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
0.5 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#8 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
1.5 mi away
Crescent Bay Inn
Crescent Bay Inn
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
1.3 mi away
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Laguna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Laguna Beach

Property: Holiday Inn Laguna Beach
Address: 696 S Coast Hwy, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-2416
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Laguna Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Laguna Beach hotel is a beach resort located in the heart of Laguna Beach. It is nearby Laguna Hills, Newport Beach, Dana Point, Laguna Niguel, Huntington Beach, San Clemente, San Juan Capistrano and South Coast Plaza and minutes away from the pageant of the masters art festival. A French country decor hotel with rooms facing the heated pool which is surrounded by lush tropical landscaping. Across the street from the beach and within walking distance to all shops, restaurants and the famous art festivals. We have just completed renovation on all guest rooms, pool, lobby and the courtyard. The Mare Restaurant & Lounge is the hotel's restaurant. Sun drenched patios, shaded back patio in tropical settings, amazing food and nightly entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, IHG and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Laguna Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Laguna Beach Hotel Laguna Beach
Laguna Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing