We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Laguna Beach
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Essex
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly staff”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We have just returned from a trip staying in various resorts in California. We have always loved Laguna Beach but have always found the hotels to be very pricey so we were delighted, at the end of our trip to find this charming, reasonably priced hotel which is in a great location with just a short walk to the town and beach. The rooms are immaculately clean and cosy. The central courtyard is beautifully landscaped with a very pretty gazebo covered in bougainvillea and a small swimming pool which again is very clean and inviting. The supermarket (Ralph's) is just across the road and there is a small shop opposite on the PCH selling surfboards, swimwear etc who do a great deal on the hire of beach chairs, umbrellas etc. We didn't eat at the restaurant but it was busy most nights so I guess it also has a good reputation. The complimentary coffee, coke, lemonade, water and popcorn in the lobby is also a really nice touch. Last but definitely not least, the staff are very brilliant, so friendly and helpful and willing to go the extra mile to make your stay special.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue2151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keeptrack, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Laguna Beach, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. My staff and I are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at our property. We hope that you can visit us again soon on your next visit to Laguna beach. Have a wonderful day.
Kind Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    200
    55
    22
    16
See reviews for
164
155
21
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Henderson, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here for 37 years, love the location, setting, and accommodating staff. We like the coffee, lemonade, water, soda and popcorn the staff set out in the lobby for guests. It's a small, older hotel built around a pool with lush landscaping. Ralph's is across the street. It's 1/2 mile walk to Main Beach, which we do twice a day, enjoying stores and restaurants on the way.
Air conditioners in rooms are somewhat noisy; parking is on 2nd floor level so we request room nearby to avoid stairs. Nonetheless we feel at home at this hotel.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keeptrack, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Laguna Beach, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We appreciate that you have stayed with us throughout the years and are happy to know that you are enjoying your stays with us. We hope you can come back for another year and we will look forward to seeing you. Have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

The architecture has a Spanish air to it, with bougainvilleas adorning the windows that overlook the street below.
The ocean is visible from there. It is surrounded by tiny boutique shops showcasing the local art. There's a central courtyard that is in bloom with a gazebo. Every step brings you to another breath-taking specimen of a plant. Even the Taco Bell across the street is pretty. This is Laguna Beach.
I cannot recreate the sensation of being in this picturesque town by the sea. Just go. Stay at the Holiday Inn Laguna Beach. Even the street signs are works of art. Every walk unveils another treasure within Laguna's maritime mist of wonder.
I will leave you with two quotes found on the fence overlooking the ocean in Brown's park, which you must discover for yourself. One sign has a border made up of "sight" written repeatedly, and it says: "In this fleeting moment what extravagant respite as Promethean sunsets blossom, blaze, and secede from splendor to mystery". Next to it is the other, the border has "sound" instead of "sight", and it reads: "In this moment what extravagant respite as blooming surf speaks its mystical passage across the undreamed depths".
Welcome to Laguna.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aamaris13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keeptrack, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Laguna Beach, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
I want to thank you for taking the time to give us a review. My staff and I appreciate all the wonderful feedback you have provided. We strive to give the best customer we possibly can and thanks to your review we feel good knowing that our guests are being take care of. We do hope that you can make it back to Laguna Beach and stay with us again.
May you have a wonderful day, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Level Contributor
67 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Great location across the street from the beach and a few blocks from the center. Sure it can get better but with a decent off season rate and friendly staff it was a nice place to stay. Thanks for the nice room upgrade. Could not be better! The restaurant downstairs is worth it alone with great pizza, salads, and more

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keeptrack, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Laguna Beach, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful time at our property in Laguna Beach. We do hope that you can come visit us again soon if you are ever in town. Best of wishes from my staff and I.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
108 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Laguna while on a family vacation with my two boys. While the rooms were fairly standard Holiday Inn room (nice, roomy but nothing special) the property itself was anything but. This Holiday Inn is beautifully landscaped in a very southern California way with a wonderful courtyard pool surrounded by amazing variety of flowers and palm trees. The landscaping is like nothing I have seen at a Holiday Inn before. Location is another huge bonus as there is a beach entrance right across the street and the heart of Laguna is short 5 minute walk. There is also a wonderful breakfast place across the street and a full service grocery store next door. Parking is available on site for a fee. Loved the stay and look forward to returning for a longer visit!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whisox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keeptrack, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Laguna Beach, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a review. My staff and I are happy to hear that we have met your expectations as we work hard to deliver great customer service. We do hope that you can come back and visit us again soon.
May you have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
193 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We had booked a suite, nice sized bedroom with a large separate living room and huge marble bathroom. Positives: Beautiful property. Relaxing atmosphere by the pool. Comfortable sundeck chairs and cushions. Nice touch with complimentary popcorn, lemonade and water bottles in the lobby. Fridge in the room. Lovely French doors in the living room and bedroom. Location is excellent. Many restaurants, shops and galleries within walking distance and only one block away from the complimentary open air shuttle bus.
Negatives: No elevator. The pool area could use a good sweeping, and new towels by the pool area, like the ones in the room. Sofabed was the worst yet, BUT, the staff did send up an extra mattress which made it comfortable. We paid for a suite for 2 weekend nights and used points for two weekday nights (only 2 double beds available on points). We were told that the suite wasn't available for the points nights but they would let us know if something came up. A couple of hours later there was a cancellation, and the suite would be available for the remainder of our stay for an extra $80. So no upgrades here, even for platinum members. We did take the room as it was comfortable and we didn't want to move.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MARY K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keeptrack, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Laguna Beach, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for taking a moment of your time to provide us with a review. I am happy to hear that you did enjoy your stay with us and enjoyed the hotel. I also appreciate feedback on ways of improving some minor details to our hotel. We are currently in the process of doing just that and we do hope that you can come back and visit us soon to see our fresh new look. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you soon. Have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Love this hotel a block from the beach! Beds are cozy, pool chairs are comfy. Clean room, with fridge and coffee. Yummy lemonade in the lobby. We grabbed a free bottle of water each time we passed through. Great location for walking to beach and restaurants. Ralph's grocery across the street. When I asked the night manager for plastic spoons (for watermelon, ice cream) she actually went to Ralph's, bought some and brought them to my room. You can't beat the sunsets on Laguna Beach! By the way, the Italian restaurant downstairs was terrific

Room Tip: We liked our room on the second floor because it was street level
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wilscj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keeptrack, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Laguna Beach, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us during your visit in Laguna Beach. I am very happy to hear that my staff was able to provide great customer service to you. If you are ever in town we do hope that you can visit us again soon. May you have a wonderful night.
Kind Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
0.5 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Crescent Bay Inn
Crescent Bay Inn
#7 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
0.9 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#8 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Tides Laguna Beach
The Tides Laguna Beach
#9 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Laguna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Laguna Beach

Property: Holiday Inn Laguna Beach
Address: 696 S Coast Hwy, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-2416
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Laguna Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Laguna Beach hotel is a beach resort located in the heart of Laguna Beach. It is nearby Laguna Hills, Newport Beach, Dana Point, Laguna Niguel, Huntington Beach, San Clemente, San Juan Capistrano and South Coast Plaza and minutes away from the pageant of the masters art festival. A French country decor hotel with rooms facing the heated pool which is surrounded by lush tropical landscaping. Across the street from the beach and within walking distance to all shops, restaurants and the famous art festivals. We have just completed renovation on all guest rooms, pool, lobby and the courtyard. The Mare Restaurant & Lounge is the hotel's restaurant. Sun drenched patios, shaded back patio in tropical settings, amazing food and nightly entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Laguna Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Laguna Beach Hotel Laguna Beach
Laguna Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing