We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not your typical Holiday Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Laguna Beach
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Issaquah, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not your typical Holiday Inn”
Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

Obviously this hotel was originally built as a different property with a Spanish feel to it. The grounds are impeccably landscaped and the courtyard pool is a welcome retreat. Great location, on PCH, across from Ralph's market.

The staff was very friendly and accommodating. While the room appeared a bit tired, it was quiet and comfortable. Lobby amenities included coffee, tea, decaf, pop, ice water and popcorn.

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Savvy61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keeptrack, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Laguna Beach, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
My staff and I are happy to hear that you had a good time at our property in Holiday Inn Laguna Beach. We are open to looking on ways of improving our customer service so we appreciate your feedback. We hope you will join us again in the near future. Thank you, have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    202
    56
    22
    17
See reviews for
168
160
21
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed here last week as part of our vacation to Southern California. I was able to easily book two nights using reward points through their website. When we arrived, our room wasn't ready yet but it was early. The staff was friendly and offered water and refreshments and we left to find lunch. Afterward, the room was ready, we were kindly upgraded to a suite, and checking in was a breeze. The suite was great! It had a large bed and bath with jacuzzi tub as well as a separate living area with a TV and fireplace. The only detractor was that the interior was showing its age a bit. Other than that, the courtyard pool was clean, and the restaurant downstairs was amazing. I'd recommend this hotel to those on a couples vacation or traveling with friends. I also recommend walking across the street and going to the Orange Inn for breakfast.

Room Tip: 2nd floor or suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrd232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keeptrack, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Laguna Beach, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for choosing out hotel to stay at during your vacation. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are always open to hearing on ways that we can improve our rooms so thank you for your feedback. My staff and I hope you stay with us again in the near future. Have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here one night on our way down to San Diego. The hotel is cute. The location makes it a perfect place to walk around Laguna, so it really doesn't need a lot of amenities - but it still did great.
It took is a long time to check in. There were 2 couples from Texas who took forever to check in, there was some sort of problem and they were being extremely vocal. We waited it out and the staff was fine with us, displaying no attitude or stress.
You can always count on this chain, from my experience.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlyssaSaturley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keeptrack, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Laguna Beach, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Guest,
On behalf of my staff and I we would like to thank you for your kind words. We are happy to hear that you had a good time here at our property. We hope you visit us again soon. Have a wonderful day thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

After an enjoyable yet intense three days at Disneyland Resort, we drove down the coast to Laguna Beach for a relaxing two night stay. This is a really cute hotel, with most, if not all, of the rooms surrounding an interior courtyard with a pool, which we used quite a bit (pretty sure it is heated as well). The staff were really friendly as well.

Access to the beach is pretty convenient as well as you just need to cross the street and head down some stairs (however, the traffic lights are really slow to change).

Breakfast is not included, but there is an onsite restaurant (which we did not try) and a grocery store across the street. And of course, Laguna Beach is just full of restaurants catering to different tastes and budgets. There is also a small snack table in the lobby (water, soda, popcorn and coffee) which is a nice touch.

We do have two small negative comments on the hotel from our perspective. As with most hotels, I find that there aren’t enough hooks in the bathrooms for towels. I fully support the whole idea of re-using towels but having more hooks would make that better in my opinion. And two, maybe we’ve just grown used to it, but having an in room safe would have been appreciated.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MoreVacations:)
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keeptrack, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Laguna Beach, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing our hotel to relax and enjoy the city of Laguna Beach. We are pleased to hear that you had a good time and hope that you join us again in the near future. Have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 9, 2013

This hotel is such a great place to stay in Laguna Beach! Michael and Karen were so great to work with. The room was very clean and the pool was aeesome! They made my mother's day weekend the best one yet! Thank you!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank plee55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keeptrack, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Laguna Beach, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us at Holiday Inn Laguna Beach. We are thrilled to hear you had a wonderful time and a great Mothers day. We hope you join us again soon. On behalf of all us at Holiday Inn we hope you have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed here in June 2012 with our two children ages 8 and 10. From the photos, the hotel looks beautiful, especially the pool. While it was fairly nice, but some areas around the pool were not clean at all. Our room was decent, but we were on the bottom floor near the corner of the pool. There always seemed to be large bins of towels and cleaning equipment that we had to dodge to get in our room. The hotel staff was very helpful. Given that this is a holiday inn, we thought it would be good for families. I must say that we did feel a bit uncomfortable with our kids there, particularly in the pool. There seemed to be no other children while we were there and the "tenor" around the pool did not lend itself well for kids wanting to splash around in the pool. So, there was nothing inherently wrong with the hotel. It is perhaps not a very good match for families with younger children.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DoreenB340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keeptrack, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Laguna Beach, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying at our hotel. We always try to provide a family environment as most of our clientele are families on vacation. We do hope that you come back and give us another chance for a better experience. Take care and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

the hotel is Ok, not the best, the heater stopped working and they gave me a free standing one not so great, the fridge made noise all night, they did give me a small credit and were nice enough about it,but hey it was near the beach:))

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timgigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keeptrack, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Laguna Beach, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
I wanted to thank you for choosing our hotel to stay. I do apologize for the inconvenience that you encountered during your stay. We do hope however you visit us again for a better experience on your next visit. May you have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
0.5 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
403 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#7 of 22 in Laguna Beach
306 reviews
1.5 mi away
Crescent Bay Inn
Crescent Bay Inn
#8 of 22 in Laguna Beach
433 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Tides Laguna Beach
The Tides Laguna Beach
#9 of 22 in Laguna Beach
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Laguna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Laguna Beach

Property: Holiday Inn Laguna Beach
Address: 696 S Coast Hwy, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-2416
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Laguna Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Laguna Beach hotel is a beach resort located in the heart of Laguna Beach. It is nearby Laguna Hills, Newport Beach, Dana Point, Laguna Niguel, Huntington Beach, San Clemente, San Juan Capistrano and South Coast Plaza and minutes away from the pageant of the masters art festival. A French country decor hotel with rooms facing the heated pool which is surrounded by lush tropical landscaping. Across the street from the beach and within walking distance to all shops, restaurants and the famous art festivals. We have just completed renovation on all guest rooms, pool, lobby and the courtyard. The Mare Restaurant & Lounge is the hotel's restaurant. Sun drenched patios, shaded back patio in tropical settings, amazing food and nightly entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Laguna Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Laguna Beach Hotel Laguna Beach
Laguna Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing