We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Hotel is fine-location is fantastic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Laguna Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Laguna Beach
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
98 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Hotel is fine-location is fantastic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

Pretty standard Holiday Inn in a fantastic location. Lovely pool area, friendly front desk staff, clean rooms. Note that there is a steep parking charge ($12/day), and the rooms do not have safes. Easy drive from John Wayne airport. There's a grocery store next door and easy beach access right across the street.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soapandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    195
    50
    20
    15
See reviews for
153
145
20
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Telluride, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We booked a room for one night and ended up staying for 2. Christian at the front desk was very helpful and knowledgable about restaurants, parking, etc... The Hotel was very nice and clean, rooms were great and location is perfect! We plan on making this our new vacation spot!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keeptrack, General Manager at Holiday Inn Laguna Beach, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and thank you for choosing to stay at the Holiday inn laguna beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I stayed at the Holiday Inn for 5 nights in late September. My room was on the second floor near the parking lot. Checkin was effortless. The location of this hotel is great, right across the street from beach access and right next to Ralph's. Every morning before I went into the office, I would take my coffee and walk a block or two on the beach. The parking lot is conveniently located right behind the hotel. There is a restaurant/bar on the 1st floor, nice location to have a nightcap. The only thing I was not thrilled with were that the windows from the room overlook the hallway/courtyard and did not open (as far as I know). If I go back to Laguna Beach, I would definitely consider this hotel again.

Room Tip: I liked being near the parking lot on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank almeister6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Valley
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed at the Holiday Inn the last weekend in Sept. We had a horrible room at another hotel and Michael at the front desk was wonderful and organized a couple of rooms for us. He was so helpful and kind. The rooms were nice (maybe a bit small), but the courtyard with all of the beautiful plants and flowers made up for it. The pool is salt water which was fantastic. The hotel is located within walking distance of everything and it is quiet in the rooms. There is a awesome breakfast spot across the street with great coffee, homemade pastries, and yummy eggs. Ralph's market is next door and Taco Bell for a quick burrito is across the street. The beach is just a quick 5 min. walk away. We absolutely loved this hotel!

Room Tip: Upstairs overlooking the pool is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IdaSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Alaska
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Used Priceline and received a great deal. Had some concerns but that went away quickly. Older hotel with great charm and the location was perfect. Concert at Verizon to see DMB and quick trip home on the toll road. Good food down thr street at the Beach House and good view

Room Tip: Uppoer level rooms seems to have easier access from outside or lower floor at pool level and may hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flynirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brights Grove
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

I was travelling with 2 teenaged girls and we had great and caring service from the friendly and helpful front desk staff and the cleaning personnel. The room was perfect with a separate toilet and shower/ sink area which was key for getting ready to do anything with teenaged girls. Our room opened onto the beautiful flowered courtyard where there were gazebos, a pool, and many cafe tables and chairs for quiet evening visits. The location couldn't have been better. We were across the road from the beach where you could walk all the way along to the main beach while enjoying the ocean. The Holiday Inn is also across the road from a large store selling groceries and anything else you may have forgotten to pack. It is situated on the main strip for all of the great restaurants and many shops. There is a great breakfast spot right across the road. The parking was reasonably priced compared to other places we stayed on our trip to California. There were buses/trollies for free transportation around town if you did not feel like walking. We had a fabulous experience and would definitely go back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keeptrack, General Manager at Holiday Inn Laguna Beach, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear cathy M,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Holiday Inn Laguna Beach. We appreciate your kind comments and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gdansk
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

After a poor check-in experience - turning up before 3pm does seem to really offend them - we had a great 5 night stay. Rooms are pretty spacious and comfortable. Pool area is quiet and attractive, good pool. Easy access to beach and restaurants, no problem with parking, and the free drinks and popcorn were a great touch.

We had a room at the back but the ones near the restaurant may be noisy.

Good hotel for a beach vacation, just don't arrive early

Room Tip: Room at the back to avoid restaurant noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mills-tours002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 653 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
0.5 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#8 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,016 reviews
0.8 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 233 reviews
1.5 mi away
Crescent Bay Inn
Crescent Bay Inn
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Laguna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Laguna Beach

Property: Holiday Inn Laguna Beach
Address: 696 S Coast Hwy, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-2416
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Laguna Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Laguna Beach hotel is a beach resort located in the heart of Laguna Beach. It is nearby Laguna Hills, Newport Beach, Dana Point, Laguna Niguel, Huntington Beach, San Clemente, San Juan Capistrano and South Coast Plaza and minutes away from the pageant of the masters art festival. A French country decor hotel with rooms facing the heated pool which is surrounded by lush tropical landscaping. Across the street from the beach and within walking distance to all shops, restaurants and the famous art festivals. We have just completed renovation on all guest rooms, pool, lobby and the courtyard. The Mare Restaurant & Lounge is the hotel's restaurant. Sun drenched patios, shaded back patio in tropical settings, amazing food and nightly entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Laguna Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Laguna Beach Hotel Laguna Beach
Laguna Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing