We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Laguna Beach
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Truly enjoyed our stay at this hotel, the staff was so friendly, the manangment was very pleasant. The reception staff was very helpful and accommodating.
Perfect location, the beach is just steps away. Very quaint and beautifully landscaped hotel with a lovely lobby. The rooms were very clean, spacious, large flat screen TVs and we had great service, they even provided free coffee, drinks, snacks and wi-fi. The pool in the center of the property was perfect to relax in after a day at the beach. We highly recommend this hotel, it is close to the beach, to downtown Laguna, lots of restaurants and shops within walking distance, a great value for the spend. We had a great time and plan on returning for our next visit to Laguna Beach. Thank you Laguna Holiday Inn!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UCSBmom_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (517)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Laguna Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

306 - 312 of 517 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed at this hotel during the busy season. The location is great! A short walk to the beach. They have a nice restaurant in the hotel. It is nice to sit outside, the scenery is pretty with trees and flowers. They also have Ralphs supermarket, Orange Inn and Taco Bell across the street. Down the street are shops and other restaurants. There is a trolley that has many stops in the Laguna area including The Pageant of the Masters. You can catch that very close to the hotel.

The staff was very pleasant. They were helpful when we needed directions to places and suggesting great places to eat. In the lobby they had free popcorn, sodas and water. They also had a computer to use.

The room was comfortable and clean. Self parked and do have to take luggage down up and down stairs. Average furnishings and pillows. The staff was great when we needed extra towels.

Overall, a relaxing stay at this nice hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

The hotel was a no-frills, simple stay as expected - however our room was very dark and the AC loud (although this blocked out a lot of sound from the neighbours). There wasn't really much room for the 3 of us and I hated the motel-like feel of everyone being able to look in through the windows (although of course, there were curtains, but if they were opened you had no privacy). The only windows were looking out onto the outside corridor, where everyone walked past! The staff at the desk were very helpeful and friendly, and there were nice touches in the lobby including free drinks (mineral water, coke, coffee, tea etc), popcorn and a free use of a computer + internet. There was also free wi-fi in the hotel with a good connection. I used the pool once in our stay and it was fine, quite big and cut off so that young children wouldn't swim too deep. We had a family (supposedly with young children, who were running around) who were quite loud (when the cihldren were up) - we called to ask if there was any other room free, and the staff at the desk were very helpful. They said that there were no free rooms that evening, but some were freeing up the next morning and they would be happy to call us and arrange for us to change. The next morning, as promised, they called our room with the offer of another room to which we could move, but at this point we declined because we had got used to it and the children went to bed early anyway. The TV was big and the bathroom was perfectly nice, with a large vanity area outside the bathroom.

It was also in a very good location - there was a restaurant but you could walk to other restaurants. Breakfast wasn't included in our rate, but there was a large "Ralph's" store right opposite, which provided us with all the food we needed. It was very close to the beach, within easy walking distance.

Overall fairly good stay - for the area, it was worth the money (as it is very upmarket) and lovely, friendly staff. We would maybe come there again but not for more than one or two nights. Good for (small) families!

Thank you! :)

Room Tip: Try to get a room as high up as possible for more light and less noise!
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ans H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keeptrack, General Manager at Holiday Inn Laguna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Thank you for your comment. we appreciate all the feed back that we get since it helps us better our services. Once again, Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Avoid this hotel if you can. You are better off paying more money to stay at a nicer hotel or save money and stay at Best Western of Travelodge-They seem nicer than this place. The hotel is a very run down hotel that has nice pictures on the website and has nice landscaping. The rest of the hotel, such as rooms, common areas, parking, hallways, etc are HORRIBLE! They remember a motel environment and reminded me of the Holiday Inn Motels in the 80's. The rooms are in major need of a renovation and are dirty, mildewed, small, and the a/c units are very small window units that do not cool the rooms. We had a torn mattress, broken iron and ironing board, broken door lock, broken electrical outlet that caused the lights to go out in the room taking 30 minutes to fix, sand on the bathroom floor and the worst possible view any hotel room can have. Although this property is a beach property, you are still a 5 block walk over the pacific coast highway and down many many flights of stairs that take you to a crowded dirty and smelly part of Laguna Beach. There is no loading/unloading area at the hotel and you have to haul luggage up steps to get to the lobby. Then you have to take the stairs to go to the pool. NO ELEVATOR. The room we were in, #60, avoid! You have a view of the parking lot, sprinkler system, stairwell, and a painted plant on a wall. I am a Priority Club elite member and the front desk never acknowledged my elite status and were the most unprofessional, rudest staff I have encountered at any Holiday Inn property. The review before me from Antigony was the same weekend and he encountered the same problem with the rude staff! This proves that this is a true comment. I have discussed these matters with the Hotel Manager and she was not too accommodating. I had to ask three times to be compensated for these concerns and she finally agreed to refund half of the room stay. The first offer was 10000 points, which keep in mind this hotel required a minimum of 25000 to stay at per night. Also, the hotel is crowded with lots of family's with small kids and European travelers who take over the pool for HOURS at a time. If you are a typical medium to high standard traveler - AVOID THIS HOTEL!!!! You have been warned.

Room Tip: If you must stay at this hotel, get a second floor room with a pool view. AVOID ROOM 60!!!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VPNor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keeptrack, General Manager at Holiday Inn Laguna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Dear VPN,

I appreciate your comments and your view of our property however, we don't appreciate threats of a bad review if we don't discount. I would like to assure all viewers that if there is a problem with a guest room, we are more than happy to change the room, fix the problem or discount that portion of the stay.
As everyone can see from our other reviews, the number one priority in our hotel is customer service and our friendly and professional staff.
I'm surprised to see that you also have left a negative review for Laguna Beach itself which was voted one of the most beautiful beaches in Orange County and just a correction to your review, we are just across the street from the beach. Once again, thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

I stayed here 2 years ago and gave the hotel a 5 star rating. However this stay was a complete 180 degree turn for the worse. The price of the hotel doubled, the quality of the room was not how I remembered, dirty towels in the bathroom and an unreasonably loud rumbling air conditioner. I would not stay here again and not recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NYGD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keeptrack, General Manager at Holiday Inn Laguna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Dear NYGD,

I’m sorry to hear that you were not satisfy with your stay and hope that you’ll give us another chance if you come back to laguna beach. The rates are usually higher during the summer season but you can find lower rates during the off season. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

First off I did not get the same Priority Club Gold Member treatment as I just had experienced in San Diego, but maybe they just overlooked this fact even though we paid our stay with points. The gentlemen who checked us in could have been a bit friendlier but maybe he just had a rough day. The rest of the staff including the maids were very friendly. The hotel looks very nice from the outside and from the inside, and is clean. The lobby offers complimentary water bottles and coffee. The rooms have a fridge and are well sized, with what seems to be a fairly new, spacious shower. The vanity sink is outside the bathroom which is practicalk. All the rooms, however, seem to face the courtyard/ pool which gives it a little bit of a motel feeling. If you only need a clean place to sleep in an excellent location than this is the hotel for you. If you spend hours in your room than you will probably mind that the rooms only have one window next to the entrance door which you want to cover with the curtains unless you don't mind being seen laying on the bed or walking around naked, so little privacy or a dark room is your choice. The courtyard itself is beautiful and reminded me of an oasis. Even though the pool was right in front of our room we didn't hear a lot of noise. The a/c though was on the noisy side so we turned it off during the night. The bar is spectacular, still very new, with a modern design and some art. Parking is not too expensive and we were glad we could just forget about the car and walk to the beach or nearby restaurants and bars. Nick's is an excellent location for breakfast just 10 minutes north on the Pacific Coast Highway. Rarely have I seen such attentive and friendly staff! Watermarc right next to it and offers excellent value for money! I have never had a better NY strip!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antigony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Very pretty Holiday Inn on PCH with no ocean view in a nice beach city setting with upscale shops and restaurants. Short walk to beach access across the street that is down a steep stairway but beautiful ocean with tide pools at night. Bit of a walk to the official "beach" but do-able. Has fridge in room but no microwave. Free wi fi. Supermarket across the street very convenient. Waters, soda, coffee and popcorn in lobby but no breakfast. Clean room and nice pool area. Friendly desk staff. Short drive to Dana Point with whale watching and more activities. Little pricey but fits the area. It is an additional $12 daily for parking but no resort fee.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maurmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
0.5 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
443 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#6 of 22 in Laguna Beach
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
326 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Casa del Camino
La Casa del Camino
#10 of 22 in Laguna Beach
613 reviews
1.5 mi away
Crescent Bay Inn
Crescent Bay Inn
#8 of 22 in Laguna Beach
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Laguna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Laguna Beach

Address: 696 S Coast Hwy, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-2416
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range: $166 - $379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Laguna Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Laguna Beach hotel is a beach resort located in the heart of Laguna Beach. It is nearby Laguna Hills, Newport Beach, Dana Point, Laguna Niguel, Huntington Beach, San Clemente, San Juan Capistrano and South Coast Plaza and minutes away from the pageant of the masters art festival. A French country decor hotel with rooms facing the heated pool which is surrounded by lush tropical landscaping. Across the street from the beach and within walking distance to all shops, restaurants and the famous art festivals. We have just completed renovation on all guest rooms, pool, lobby and the courtyard. The Mare Restaurant & Lounge is the hotel's restaurant. Sun drenched patios, shaded back patio in tropical settings, amazing food and nightly entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Laguna Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Laguna Beach Hotel Laguna Beach
Laguna Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing