We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,262)
Filter reviews
2,262 results
Traveler rating
1,536
358
171
106
91
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,536
358
171
106
91
Show reviews that mention
All reviews splashes restaurant tower room there is no air conditioning sound of the waves ceiling fan ocean front high tide the pacific ocean falling asleep turn down service beautiful resort beautiful room southern california the ritz romantic getaway shops and restaurants beach access
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 2,262 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2019

From the rooms to the staff at every level (check in, Splashes, and esp the valet parking team) this hotel is stellar. The location and views are of course awesome and very unique, but the decor, the pool, the dining options and the staff are all simply outstanding, and the food at Splashes is great. They do everything well.

Room tip: All rooms are great but the rooms in the Tower are awesome!
Date of stay: July 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mdavro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela H, Manager at Surf & Sand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2019

Hello recent guest:

Thank you so very much for the high rating of Surf & Sand and for the compliments of our location, associates and service. We are always pleased to learn that we exceeded your expectations, and hope that you are able to return to Surf & Sand and lovely Laguna Beach in the near future. Please let us know when you are planning to return so that we may accommodate the details of your next stay.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2019 via mobile

We always come back to surf and sands....cause every one they’re are very professional,the room are impeccable and super clean,food,pool and privet beach always amazing
We just love love love this place,I was so sad to leave this morning,but already make plan to get back very soon...
Just walk distance to everything
Thank you surf and sands for make our week end best ever

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank jeanmarclasvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela H, Manager at Surf & Sand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2019

Hello Jean:

Thank you so very much for taking the time to give Surf & Sand a high rating, and for
the compliments of our location, associates and service. We pride ourselves in
providing the best stay possible for our guests. As our return, loyal guests, we
are very pleased to learn that we met your expectations once again.

Please let us know when you are planning to return so that we may assist.

Warm regardsm ,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2019

However there is essentially no beach to put chairs and a umbrella on as a consequence. A tiny amount of sand appeared at low tide, but was fleeting. If you are looking at great beaches to stay "on" in SOCAL # 1 for us would be the Beach Terrace Inn in Carslbad, CA (our favorite by far) and # 2 the historic Hotel Del Coronado in Coronado, CA which is the prettiest beach town in all of CA, and we have been everywhere.

Date of stay: July 2019
1  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela H, Manager at Surf & Sand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2019

Hello John:

Thank you for the high rating of Surf & Sand. We appreciate you taking the time to share
feedback regarding your recent stay. Yes, we agree that there are times when the tide is
high and the beach is minimal; however, the majority of the time, there is plenty of beach area
to enjoy and we supply beach chairs and umbrellas for your comfort. We hope to have you
back with us for your anniversary! Please reach out for any needed assistance.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2019 via mobile

Good hotel. Pretty overpriced for what you get but it’s on the beach so it’s what you’d expect. Service was and pleasant. Very nice views and congenitally located a few blocks from downtown Laguna. Can’t beat Laguna Beach. The weather is always perfect

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank lolafashionista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela H, Manager at Surf & Sand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2019

Hello Lola:

Thank you for the compliments of Surf & Sand and your high rating. We are pleased that you enjoy
visiting Laguna Beach and hope to have you back in the not-too-distant future. Please reach out
for any needed assistance!

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2019

This amazing resort in Laguna Beach is a GEM not just because of it's location but 100% because of it's staff. They are phenomenal and far exceed expectations. Especially Pamela Hopkins. We have been going to this resort as a family since I was a baby - now many many many years later, we still go. However, it's only been the past several years that I've come to know Pamela. She takes care of us every year now, and, constantly wows me. It's very apparent how expertly she communicates with her staff because we are treated like royalty and our entire stay is always flawless. I can also see how well others around us are taken care of, so, all in all, Surf and Sand has a rock star crew. Matt Heinz runs the outlets, and he is also amazing, as are the valet, the front desk, housekeeping, the servers at Splashes, etc. I own a meeting planning company, so I have seen my fair share of hotels. I wish every hotel I worked with had a Pamela Hopkins there.

Date of stay: July 2019
2  Thank CarylBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela H, Manager at Surf & Sand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2019

Hello Caryl:

Thank you so very much for taking the time to share your feedback and high rating of Surf & Sand.
As our very loyal, LONG TIME GUESTS, we are always pleased to have your family return to enjoy
all that we have to offer once again. Thank you also for the compliments of our associates which is
always appreciated!

We look very forward to your return. Please always reach out for any needed assistance.

Have a wonderful remaining summer season!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews