We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always great!!”
Review of Surf & Sand Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Surf & Sand Resort
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Los Angeles
2 reviews
“Always great!!”
Reviewed May 29, 2010

We have stayed at the Surf and Sand many times, but not for a while. It is just as wonderful as I remembered from the waves right outside our window to the delicious food and the great gym. Not to be missed

Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mjhorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,086
    287
    131
    80
    63
See reviews for
405
727
41
218
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (539)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dana Point, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2010

From start to finish the hotel was amazing. The employees were extremely polite & friendly and went out of their way to visit with us. We had a beautiful corner room overlooking the ocean. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blue1jay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2010

We like to get away to the Surf and Sand when we can because we feel it has one of the best locations in Laguna, comfortable guestrooms and amazing viewsof the coastline. This last trip we were upgraded to a corner tower room and it was fantastic! Rooms are very attractive with beach chic decor. Bed/linens were very comfortable. If I have any complaint, its only that when someone is smoking on the balconies it can drift your way and spoil an otherwise perfect setting. I would have loved to have coffee service in the room. Highly recommended for a romantic splurge, even if only for a night.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sctraveler05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssrta, Manager at Surf & Sand Resort, responded to this review, May 27, 2010
I agree- this is a very romantic spot. Thank you for sharing your experience and keep an eye out for our Summer Programming. It is geared for both couples and families....something for everyone! Look forward to your next stay, Joanna Bear - Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2010

The website for the Surf and Sand Resort was sleek and chic and that gave us the impression that we were in for a wonderful treat. The purpose of our stay at the Surf and Sand Resort was to attend a sunset wedding. Upon our arrival the staff was very kind and helpful. However the check-in process was somewhat cumbersome. I was attending the wedding with my boyfriend and his name had been added to the reservation. However upon checking in they treated us as though we had two reservations which was somewhat confusing. I'm sure there is thought behind this process, however it was confusing when even though we shared one room, we were asked for two credit cards and then handed two bills at the end of our stay. Again that part of the process was somewhat clunky.

Our rooms were up a couple of flights of stairs and we decided to transport our own luggage instead of waiting on the bell hop. When we first stepped into our room we were impressed with the large bathroom, the bed, and the general set up of the room. That feeling slowly dissipated when we noticed a faint mildewy/moldy smell in the room. Because we were only staying for one night, we didn't want to create any additional issues for the bride and groom.

The view from our room was gorgeous, even though half of it was of a wall. The location of the hotel was fantastic. We walked right out onto the beach and just explored. The pool area looked clean and inviting, however we didn't have time to partake in it. The wedding itself was beautiful and the food was delicious! We also enjoyed the turn down service that was provided.

Unfortunately for the cost of the room which normally ranges from $450-$1,000, I can't say that I would stay here again. The view is probably worth the $450, but other than that I wasn't overly impressed. I must say that the staff was very kind and courteous. Again check in and check out process was clumsy and cumbersome and the room had the aroma of mildew. Sadly we weren't the only ones in the wedding party to have such an experience.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pammy_4567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssrta, Manager at Surf & Sand Resort, responded to this review, May 20, 2010
I am also very disappointed to hear about the mildew smell in your room. I am having our Housekeeping and Engineering teams work in tatum to ensure a deep cleaning is done to all our guest rooms, including all the drains.

In regards to our wedding/group reservations, I will review with our Front Desk team to ensure a smoother/seamless process for our guests.

I am happy to hear the wedding was a success and the food was delicious!

Thank you for your invaluable feedback - Joanna Bear, Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the hotel for a conference the last week in April, and the hotel went out of their way to make us feel welcome. They always addressed us by name and would do anything to accommodate us. They cleaned our room at specific times, made dinner reservations for us, helped with directions, etc.

We did not eat at the Splashes restaurant – as our food was handled through the catering department at the hotel. The catered food (which I would think is by the same cooks as Splashes) was excellent. I wasn’t expecting it to be that good, but it really was. We always had several selections at each meal, and all were good.

The room was also nice with a beautiful ocean view. There isn’t any conditioning in the room (only heat), but in all honesty, we didn’t need it there then. We actually used the heat for a bit b/c we had left the windows open and the temperature had dropped that night. The other nights, we actually slept with the patio door open just so we can listen to the surf at night. The bathroom was nice size – it was just a bid odd b/c our shower door wasn’t a full door. It was only a half door and then while showering, there was a little water that got on the floor.

We didn’t use the pool or hot tub, but both looked nice and inviting. Overall – a great place to have a conference and stay for a few days. We got a discounted rate, but normally the prices are quite high for a room. If you’re willing to spend a few extra bucks, it is worth it to be right on the beach!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenniferLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssrta, Manager at Surf & Sand Resort, responded to this review, May 7, 2010
Name recognition has been a focus with our team and I am pleased to hear they are listening!

Also, it is good to know that your specific requests are completed to your satisfaction. In this industry it is vital to our success.

I will make sure to forward your comments to our team ! Thank you again - Joanna Bear, Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2010

I surprised my husband for our wedding anniversary and took him to the Surf and Sand resort (a recommendation from a friend who is originally from Laguna Beach). We both loved the place. The concierge called me a few days prior to our visit and asked if there was anything she could do to make our stay more enjoyable - she was very helpful and very nice and she upgraded our room. The view is unbelievable. The hotel and rooms are very nice and very clean. The concierge the day of our arrival was also very helpful getting us a reservation at a great restaurant. We hope to experience such a great time next year, since we are already talking about going back for our anniversary in 2011.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dana030303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssrta, Assistant General Manager at Surf & Sand Resort, responded to this review, April 30, 2010
Referrals are so important in this industry; please thank your friend for us.

What a great gift for you and your husband to spend your anniversary here at Surf & Sand. We look forward to next year's celebration! Joanna Bear
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2010

Celebrated my birthday over the weekend here at our favorite getaway spot. Even though we only live 20 miles up the road, felt like we were 5000 miles away from the hustle & bustle of OC. Front desk, so sweet to upgrade us to a gorgeous room in the Tower bldg. Thank you! Service throughout the hotel was excellent. Spa, simply decadent & melted away all stress.
Room Service so quick & right on! We will be back, soon!!!!
Thank you for help making my birthday so relaxing!!!
L. Stratford

(PS- don't listen to those AC complaints. You are ON the ocean! Most classic hotels in Hawaii do not offer AC. Stay inland if you want to freeze!)

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spahh!girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssrta, Assistant General Manager at Surf & Sand Resort, responded to this review, April 29, 2010
Thank you for sharing your feedback. It's great to hear you enjoyed the Spa, Room Service and a room in the Towers Building! We appreciate you celebrating your birthday with us! Joanna Bear
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
1.2 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
733 reviews
0.1 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
401 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
688 reviews
1.4 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#6 of 22 in Laguna Beach
303 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf & Sand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf & Sand Resort

Property: Surf & Sand Resort
Address: 1555 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-3299
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Laguna Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Surf & Sand Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surf & Sand Resort, a member of Preferred Hotels and Resorts Worldwide and holder of AAA’s Four-Diamond Award, lies on California's Laguna Beach shoreline where the waves of the Pacific meet 500 feet of pristine sand.All 151 guest rooms and 16 suites at Surf & Sand command spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean. The resort also houses Splashes Restaurant, featuring a Mediterranean-inspired coastal menu by Executive Chef Ron Fougeray; the intimate Aquaterra Spa; 10,000-square-feet of meeting space and wedding venues with stunning ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Surf & Sand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Surf And Sand Hotel Laguna Beach
Surf And Sand Hotel
Surf Sand Hotel
Surf And Sand Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing