We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect couple's getaway.”
Review of Surf & Sand Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Surf & Sand Resort
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
West Hollywood, CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The perfect couple's getaway.”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

We came down to celebrate our anniversary and could not have been happier with this resort. First off, the staff was probably the friendliest I have ever encountered. The rooms, the views, the restaurant, the bar, the beach was 5 stars across the board. They even offered us a Yoga class on the beach in the morning, which was fantastic. All and all a memorable experience and would highly recommend this resort to anyone heading down to Laguna Beach. This is our new favorite hotel. Thank you Surf & Sand!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BIKESANDHIKESLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surf_and_Sand_Resort, General Manager at Surf & Sand Resort, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear Value Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

I am thrilled to hear that your anniversary celebration was memorable. Your comments regarding our staff, rooms, restaurant, bar, beach (and yoga!) will be shared with our team.

We look forward to your next visit with us!

Sincerely,
Joanna Bear
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,077
    284
    131
    80
    62
See reviews for
399
721
41
218
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (536)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed July 24, 2014

We continue to return to the Surf and Sand because of the uniqueness of the facility. Not only is it 5-star quality all the way but its location right on the sand makes it an exceptional experience. Staff are customer-friendly and well trained. The food options are second to none. In fact the calamari was the best we have ever had...the spicy apricot jam adding an most unusual touch but so GOOD. We will continue to come back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surf_and_Sand_Resort, General Manager at Surf & Sand Resort, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at Surf & Sand Resort!

We appreciate your feedback regarding our customer service, food options and calamari. Also, I agree with your comments regarding our location. It is such a gift to have our property right on the water.... Hard to believe our best asset is our loudest - the ocean!

Sincerely,
Joanna Bear
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

I went with two of my friends for my birthday and all I wanted was a relaxing getaway. I had to wait literally 15 minutes before I was helped by someone in the lobby. The customer service was definitely not very accommodating.

The room wasn't bad; it was clean and looked fresh. But for the price I was paying, I wasn't satisfied. When I learned that there was a pool, I was super excited to try it but it was really crowded and there wasn't a spot that me and my friends could sit together.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Selena33020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Smith, Arkansas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

It can not be said that the location of this hotel is not the best for the beach lover. The building is merely 10 yards from the surf. BUT..... the sacrifice you make for this is NO AIR CONDITIONING. For a Southern girl used to cold rooms and quiet sleeping conditions this was not the place for me. And like most properties that are open to the elements things are a bit worn looking. The bathroom was particularly warm which made getting dressed to go out very uncomfortable. Some of the rooms appear to have small venting windows on the interior that would create a nice cross breeze between the shaded / cool hallway and the room, but mine did not.

Other oddities = the need to walk right thru the restaurant for beach or pool access if you are staying on the 1st floor... the room decor, just a big odd to me, not what i would expect for a beach room.... the price ! you are obviously paying for the location as the elegant montage a mile down the hiway has rooms starting at 75dollars more than this hotel....

One annoyance = upon returning late one evening after the Pageant of the Masters, my daughter and I encountered 2-3 VERY loud, obnoxious drunks in the lobby and the front steps. One remained inside the lobby as we walked by. He ceased screaming the F word to his buddies but started to make advances towards my 27yo daughter. The desk clerk did NOTHING. We skirted the issue and avoided getting on the elevator with the rest of that party. However, at these prices and the type of property they are charging for... the desk clerk should have not let this get to the point it had gotten to before our arrival.

Like in most older rooms there are no accessible plug ins for electronics and no accomodations have been made. We were able to drag out a power strip that was behind the night stand, place it on top and use it for our things.

The photos show things just as they are... comfortable, but just a bit dated

Would I stay here again? NO. But mostly becaue I don't care to pay 600++ per night for a property with no A/C.

Room Tip: ask for a room with cross ventilation
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susan f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

No air-conditioning and it wasn't mentioned on the website. They provided an additional electric fan but the wind coming from that wasn't good enough even. It has an $850++ price tag and it doesn't include breakfast. Front desk staff was snobby.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
6 Thank Kvelange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surf_and_Sand_Resort, General Manager at Surf & Sand Resort, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback.

I am disappointed to hear about your stay and would love another opportunity to have your back during cooler climate conditions.

Please feel free to call me directly at 949-376-2759 or jbear@jcresorts.com.

Sincerely,
Joanna Bear
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, Mt
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 20, 2014

An excellent find. We stayed at 5 hotels in the last 2 weeks with family. Sheraton, California grand at Disney, hotel del Coronado and hard rock in San Diego. This is our favorite of all. We feel at home here. Family wants to spend a week here next time. Absolutely fantastic. Management has created an overall happy attitude and fantastic experience. We are raving fans!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank cetraro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surf_and_Sand_Resort, General Manager at Surf & Sand Resort, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

I am thrilled to hear about your recent stay with us! As we strive to achieve an exceptional environment for our guests, it is always a pleasure to know when we have hit it.

Your comments will be shared to all our team members.

Thank you again, and we look forward to your future stays with us!

Sincerely,
Joanna Bear
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conejo Valley, Ca
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Great little spot in Laguna with amazing ocean views cause you are right on top of the ocean! Downside is there is no air conditioning, but it's still a favorite. If you are in town for the pageant you can hop on the free city Trolly right across the street. Nice!

Room Tip: If you don't want to hear the roaring tide at night stay on a high floor, AND prop your door ope...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Anoush-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
1.2 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
729 reviews
0.1 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
386 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
651 reviews
1.4 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#7 of 22 in Laguna Beach
298 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf & Sand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf & Sand Resort

Property: Surf & Sand Resort
Address: 1555 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-3299
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Laguna Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Surf & Sand Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surf & Sand Resort, a member of Preferred Hotels and Resorts Worldwide and holder of AAA’s Four-Diamond Award, lies on California's Laguna Beach shoreline where the waves of the Pacific meet 500 feet of pristine sand.All 151 guest rooms and 16 suites at Surf & Sand command spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean. The resort also houses Splashes Restaurant, featuring a Mediterranean-inspired coastal menu by Executive Chef David Fune; the intimate Aquaterra Spa; 10,000-square-feet of meeting space and wedding venues with stunning ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Preferred Hotels, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Surf & Sand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Surf And Sand Hotel Laguna Beach
Surf And Sand Hotel
Surf Sand Hotel
Surf And Sand Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing