We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hotel”
Review of Surf & Sand Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Surf & Sand Resort
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego
Level Contributor
162 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We stayed at this hotel in the 1990's and recently decided to return for a two day stay. It really has remained an outstanding facility over the years. Everything about this property is exquisite. The rooms are elegant and clean. The grounds are impeccable. The views are to die for. I have stayed in many beach side hotels over the years, but this one seems to capture the essence of what a beach resort should be. It exudes serenity and relaxation. I literally felt that I could just sit on our balcony and enjoy the magnificent views without doing anything else. I usually try to include other activities when I travel such as golf and shopping and sightseeing. I didnt need to plan any other activities during our stay here. Everything you need is right here. There is not one area on this property that is not enjoyable. The pool area is wonderful. The food at Splashes Restaurant is excellent. The service is excellent. The hotel staff are very eager to accommodate. All in all this resort is one of my favorites. I highly recommend this hotel to those that want to just escape all of the hustle and bustle of life and relax in a wonderful setting.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gene2459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,060
    280
    131
    79
    62
See reviews for
392
713
41
212
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (528)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

The room is great. The view is outstanding - if you like watching dolphin play in the ocean. The staff is beyond friendly and helpful. The amenities in the room are awesome - robes, slippers, fireplace, balcony, soaking tub, chocolates. I just wish my family was here with me, but I would bring them here in a heart beat.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

From the minute you enter the secluded courtyard there's a sense of overwhelming serenity and peace. The beautiful facilities, delicious food and outstanding personalized / doting service make this resort a one-of-a kind facility. The rooms are beautifully appointed, the views are fantastic, the facilities are well appointed (amazing pool and Jacuzzi) and the staff is beyond wonderful. They define excellent customer service. I look forward to my next visit. In the meantime, I'll keep dreaming about my two days there.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RE E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

stayed at the surf and sand at the end of my americian holiday in at the end of my holiday and this I have to say is the best way to finish any holiday. Beautiful accommodation,stunning views , great bar and food short walk to town with lots of great shops on the way. I haven't stopped telling all my friend how good this

Room Tip: amazing hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bountiful, Utah
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

There are many hotels/condos/rentals in California that provide ocean views or access, but the Surf and Sand is unique, to my knowledge, because you are on the beach. Look down (not out in the distance) from your balcony and you see sand and waves--amazing. Our corner king unit in the main tower was beautifully decorated, great view, clean and modern (bathroom small, but stylish, with all the right stuff) and a great bed.
All of the staff were professional, friendly and overall just great.
Our only negative comment (and this is this visit only) is that management failed to inform me of construction at the property next door that directly impacted my premium level (and priced) room. Neither did they offer any apology, rate reduction or resort credit for the inconvenience. absolutely not up to what I expect from the Surf and Sand, especially at these prices!!

Room Tip: Corner King on the north end of the main tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dela520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

I don't think you could find a better hotel in Laguna Beach or on the California coast for that matter. The hotel sits directly on the beach, all the room views are breathtaking and you're literally steps away from the water. This hotel encompasses what a beach vacation should be. Plus the bed was so comfortable! I loved every minute I spent at Surf & Sand.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
343 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Located on the beach, Surf and Sand is an upscale hotel with comfortable rooms, splendid ocean views, terrific breakfasts and mostly wonderful customer service. Some of the staff at the concierge could have been a bit more obliging and did not go out of their way to help, but the overall atmosphere from the minute one drives up to the hotel is one of graciousness. The hotel is presently being remodeled so there is some work during the day. Be prepared to fall asleep to the sound of the waves crashing onto the beach and enjoy the splurge.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mayatravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
1.2 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
0.1 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#8 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf & Sand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf & Sand Resort

Property: Surf & Sand Resort
Address: 1555 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-3299
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Laguna Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Surf & Sand Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surf & Sand Resort, a member of Preferred Hotels and Resorts Worldwide and holder of AAA’s Four-Diamond Award, lies on California's Laguna Beach shoreline where the waves of the Pacific meet 500 feet of pristine sand.All 151 guest rooms and 16 suites at Surf & Sand command spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean. The resort also houses Splashes Restaurant, featuring a Mediterranean-inspired coastal menu by Executive Chef David Fune; the intimate Aquaterra Spa; 10,000-square-feet of meeting space and wedding venues with stunning ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Hotwire, TravelUp, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Surf & Sand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Surf And Sand Hotel Laguna Beach
Surf And Sand Hotel
Surf Sand Hotel
Surf And Sand Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing