We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Stunning”
Review of Surf & Sand Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Surf & Sand Resort
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Reviewed April 15, 2014

I stayed here for a week and felt like I was in heaven. My room was right on the beach and the room was impeccable. Service was very attentive from the valets to bell hops to restaurant staff. I would highly recommend staying here if you are looking for a place to stay in Laguna.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,735)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,022 - 1,028 of 1,736 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2014

Our family thoroughly enjoyed surf and sand hotel. It is very different than any hotel we have stayed in before. This boutique hotel offers a swank environment for young and old alike and is also family friendly. The staff is excellent all around. The rooms are enormous and beautiful and offer queen beds with luxury linens. All rooms are Located right on the ocean the waves will rock you to sleep. Splashes restaurant is delicious and offers high end and unique dishes. Our kids loved the breakfast. Cocktails by the pool and at the sunset view bar are a treat. Walk to shops and restaurants. Although a little pricey, We will return.

Room Tip: All rooms are great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carrie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

This hotel could not be any closer to the Pacific Ocean if it tried. The waves are inches away from the main building and enjoyed by surfers, bathers, and the plain old scaredies like us. We had a suite with a large patio balcony on the fourth floor and the view was tremendous. Pre warned about the noise of the waves overnight we were duly kept awake most of the night, only to discover that the patio doors and a bedroom window had been open all night! Earplugs are thoughtfully provided but were absolutely unnecessary the following night once all the windows were properly closed! Lovely pool and downstairs bar with, of course, tremendous views of the sea. Ate in Splashes restaurant on first night but only small plates so can't comment on full blown meal. Very attentive staff throughout, especially upstairs patio staff who provided patio heaters etc without prompting on cooler evenings. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: I think lower level rooms are noisier owing to the surf crashing onto the shore but we didn't he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsNP712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

This place has to be seen to be believed - the waves come right up and touch the hotel at high tide! Superb rooms, superb views, superb food and helpful and friendly staff. A bit pricey but overall excellent and one of our favourite hotels in the world.

Room Tip: All the rooms have an ocean view. We chose a room on a high floor as the crashing of waves at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane_S186487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Don't let the PCH frontage fool you. This hotel is right on the main street but miles and miles from the rest of the world. The suites with the sun decks are posh and airy. The service has been impeccable since Jon first showed us to the room. Breakfast was delicious and unique...who puts dates in an omelette...?...but it works. A fresh flower arrangement, not just some stems, was on the desk with a card. Ashley at the beach will bring you whatever you want (as long as it isn't alcoholic...apparently that's illegal on CA beaches). Seafood salad was light with lemon vinegrette, while the caesar salad was memorable...and when's the last time you could say that? The best part? Some really scary looking rocks sort of block the way to the main Laguna waterfront, and most people don't venture our way. I was somehow, risking life and limb, able to get across. Okay, truth be told, it was easy as pie, but don't tell everyone. It was a pleasant walk to Las Brisas. We also went into the main Laguna area for dinner, just walking a few blocks south...very easy with sidewalks the whole way. Go down the beach south and through the arch to see the water bursting through the rocks and explore the interesting tidal pools.

Room Tip: Melissa gave us terrific tips and options when we called. I loved having a sun deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sibyl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surf_and_Sand_Resort, General Manager at Surf & Sand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

I am thrilled to hear about your recent stay at Surf & Sand Resort! Creating memories for our guests is what we strive for by training with our team throughout the year.

We look forward to your next stay with us!

Sincerely,

Joanna Bear
Resort Manager
Surf & Sand Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

This is the most beautiful hotel!! It is our favorite place. Every room has a fantastic ocean view, but we prefer the Tower rooms. The waves literally crash right outside your window. The food and service by the pool are outstanding, especially Kyle and Mitchell. They are so friendly and knew us by name every morning when we went to get our spots. Splashes restaurant is the most romantic place to have dinner. Food is amazing and the ambiance is even more spectacular. If you want to celebrate a special occasion or just relax and be pampered then this is definitely the place for you!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LuxuryLover1226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surf_and_Sand_Resort, General Manager at Surf & Sand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at Surf & Sand Resort. I am thrilled to hear your pool experience and dining at Splashes exceeded your expectations!

We look forward to your next stay here with us.

Sincerely,

Joanna Bear
Resort Manager
Surf & Sand Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

I came here for a small conference which meant we were inside much of the time. But when we weren't, we had the most beautiful views of the ocean imaginable. Everything (except the conference room) is set up to take maximum advantage of the location--even the placement of the bed in the room! The pool and spa look out on the sand. After walking down the beach to town and back, we slept with the window open so we could hear the ocean.
In addition, the food from the restaurants was delicious and interesting and all the staff, from the valets to the waiters and front desk staff, we're helpful and accommodating. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Pick a room in 400 series and you'll be overlooking the sand.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Redtree54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surf_and_Sand_Resort, General Manager at Surf & Sand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at Surf & Sand Resort. As we always strive to create wonderful memories for our guests, it is a true joy to have it posted on Trip Advisor!

It will be a pleasure to share your comments with our entire team.

Thank you again and we look forward to your next stay with us!

Sincerely,

Joanna Bear
Resort Manager
Surf & Sand Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
1.2 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#6 of 22 in Laguna Beach
807 reviews
0.1 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
460 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
832 reviews
1.4 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
346 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
1,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf & Sand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf & Sand Resort

Address: 1555 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-3299
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Laguna Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range: $406 - $770 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Surf & Sand Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surf & Sand Resort, a member of Preferred Hotels and Resorts Worldwide and holder of AAA’s Four-Diamond Award, lies on California's Laguna Beach shoreline where the waves of the Pacific meet 500 feet of pristine sand.All 151 guest rooms and 16 suites at Surf & Sand command spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean. The resort also houses Splashes Restaurant, featuring a Mediterranean-inspired coastal menu by Executive Chef Ron Fougeray; the intimate Aquaterra Spa; 10,000-square-feet of meeting space and wedding venues with stunning ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Orbitz, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Surf & Sand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Surf And Sand Hotel Laguna Beach
Surf And Sand Hotel
Surf Sand Hotel
Surf And Sand Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing