We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pure perfection 40 years in the making”
Review of Surf & Sand Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Surf & Sand Resort
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pure perfection 40 years in the making”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

My husband and I decided to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary at the Resort as we had done on our wedding night. Our stay, though short, was the perfect way to start our trip down memory lane. The location is stunning and as if sunset from our balcony wasn't enough, the sounds of the ocean right below, provided the perfect romantic soundtrack to our evening. Our room was elegantly appointed and spacious with breath taking views, but perhaps what was most memorable was the service. At check-in we were greeted so warmly and our anniversary acknowledged without prompting. The recommended dinner at Splashes and it truly is a must when you stay, offering great food and warm friendly experience. I also suggest you start off you're evening at the patio lounge, great atmosphere and my husband raved about the blood orange margarita. Perhaps my favorite touch was receiving the most delicious chocolate dipped strawberries and a truly thoughtful hand written note congratulating and welcoming us to the Resort. It's touches like this that really make a stay remarkable and show a loyal guest, that after 40 years we again made the perfect decision as to where to spend an incredibly special occasion.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surf_and_Sand_Resort, General Manager at Surf & Sand Resort, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

It is a true joy for us at Surf & Sand Resort to create special memories for our guests. We appreciate you choosing us to help celebrate such a joyous occasion, as your 40th Wedding Anniversary!

Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.

Sincerely,

Joanna Bear
Resort Manager
Surf & Sand Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,060
    280
    131
    79
    62
See reviews for
392
713
41
212
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (528)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
miami
Level Contributor
114 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Check in and were taken to our room. There was an outdoor walk to the next building and the down a flight of stairs to our room which faced the ocean and the afternoon sun. The room had shutters that did not close all the way to block out the sun.

The room was hot so we looked for the A/C thermostat. There was none to be found and then called reception who told us that there was no A/C in the hotel.

Neither the web site nor my travel agent mentioned there was no A/C which I expected from experience with many 4 & 5 star hotels. I was told by the front desk that it was not listed in the list of amenities shown on the web site.

We cancelled our reservation and left.

If you can stay in an non air conditioned room this is really a nice place

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
Helpful?
3 Thank Miamijim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surf_and_Sand_Resort, General Manager at Surf & Sand Resort, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

My sincere apologies that you were unable to experience a pleasant
stay at Surf & Sand. As our very valued guest, I appreciate your feedback
so that we are able to improve upon our services.

I understand your frustration in our lack of air conditioning. I am very
pleased to inform you we have been in the process of researching options to
include air conditioning for all of our guestrooms. As with
any project of this magnitude, it will be a lengthy process;

Please feel free to call me directly at 949-793-8054 for any future assistance.

Sincerely,

Joanna Bear
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Pointe, MI
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Stayed 3 nights for a work trip. Brought my wife and 7 year old with me. The hotel is great. The location and views are phenomenal. We loved the area and were able to get to Disney one day. The drive wasn't too bad. I highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Tower room so that you are not directly above the pool. Ask for a high room as well. The surf is p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmaidlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surf_and_Sand_Resort, General Manager at Surf & Sand Resort, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay at Surf & Sand Resort.

I was thrilled to hear you and your family enjoyed our property as well as our proximity to Disneyland!

We hope to see you again soon,

Sincerely,

Joanna Bear
Resort Manager
Surf & Sand Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northbrook, Illinois
Level Contributor
73 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Stayed three nights for a conference - so didn't have time to fully enjoy the amenities and the ambience.

When you think California, beaches, surfing and sunsets this place is the epitomy. The hotel sits directly on Pacific Coast Highway - but no rooms fact or back the road, so this is not an issue. You are a bit away from the main shopping area in Laguna Beach - but it is walkable.

Staff was very welcoming - from valets to the check-in folks. Lobby is minimalist to say the least. The room was very nice - furnished very much in a beach motifff,very nice. The king bed was comfortable, but not the latest or greatest pillow top you see in many hotels. My one complaint, the pillows were not very good - probably time to replace them. The bathroom was nice sized with a jetted tub. The seperate shower was very small - barely room to turn around.

Rooms all have nice balconies facing the ocean - great place to watch the sunset over Catalina. Now, the hotel sits on a surfing beach - what this means is they have real waves. Real waves mean that if you are on a lower floor (I was on 3) - the waves CRASHING can be quite loud. You have options - leave the door open to get the fresh air and enjoy the noise: leave the door open and use the provided earplugs: lastly shut the door and the sound is deadened substantially - your choice.

Our group had several of our meals and used the meeting facilities here - perfect place for a group of 100 or so. Service was outstanding, food was excellent. Can't ask for better. Very well done.

Bottom line - get new pillows and i'll give Surf & Sand a "5"!

Room Tip: Ask for higher floor or room in Tower 1 if noise from the waves is going to be an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mchud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surf_and_Sand_Resort, General Manager at Surf & Sand Resort, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay at Surf & Sand. I am pleased to hear your enjoyed our services, guestrooms and views.

I will have our Housekeeping Director address the pillow concerns immediately. Having a good night sleep for our guests is a top priority and will ensure all pillows are of the same quality.

We hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to Laguna Beach.

Sincerely,

Joanna Bear
Resort Manager
Surf & Sand Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 20, 2014

My husband and I took our 2 kids to this resort and this is by far the best place we have stayed at in California. Every single staff member makes you feel so welcome!

You are literally right on the beach and when you look down from your balcony all you see is sand.

If you are looking for an amazing place on the beach to stay this is it!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ohheyrachrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surf_and_Sand_Resort, General Manager at Surf & Sand Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor. I am thrilled to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next return!

Sincerely,

Joanna Bear
Resort Manager
Surf & Sand Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 19, 2014

My boyfriend and I had a lovely getaway overnight at the Surf & Sand Resort in January. We loved our room, which was directly over the sand and the ocean. We preferred the sound of the waves, but the hotel provides ear plugs for those who don't. We spent as much time as possible on the balcony taking in the restful and beautiful view, and also walked on the beach below, just steps away! The room was very comfortable and the amenities were also great. Only downside was that we were on a low floor and could hear the people on the beach below us who were there to surf and have fun. Nothing wrong with them, just more noise than I would have liked. Also, I realize that a room overlooking the ocean is a very special thing, but the price of the room will make it difficult for us to go back anytime soon. Too bad. Would love to go back as often as possible!

Room Tip: Higher floor have less people noise from the beach below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
103 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We stayed at Surf and Sand Resort from February 14 to 17, 2014. I booked the oceanfront room with Expedia since I did not see anything available on their website for the time I wanted. The hotel ended up being everything I wanted. I wanted to hear the ocean waves and we did. There is a nice short beach walk that starts right at the hotel. Room was cleaned in the morning and prepared for the night. Pool area was a nice place to hang out - bar, music. Staff was friendly and answered questions. Their "make your own breakfast burrito and pancakes" morning service was great. The only suggestion I would give is to hire few more waiters in the Splashes restaurant and in the Pacific Perk/Gift shop. We had to wait for service for a bit since no one was found at the Pacific Perk one morning. Restaurant's food is superb! The best lamb rack ever. Staff was good but thinly spread, our water glasses were never refilled, bread plates were not taken away before dinner came (I had to ask to have them removed), waiter came to ask how our dinner was by the end of the meal and not withing usual 2 minutes. Table was not wiped after dinner. Hope they improve because food is outstanding.

Room Tip: the ocean is loud and they have earplugs for those who prefer quiet but if you can't use those d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JCResortsMarketing, Online Specialist at Surf & Sand Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Nina,
Thank you for your review of Surf & Sand! We're so glad to hear that you had a fantastic stay, and we appreciate your feedback regarding service at Pacific Perk and Splashes Restaurant. I've shared your comments with our dining staff. We look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
1.2 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
0.1 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#8 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf & Sand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf & Sand Resort

Property: Surf & Sand Resort
Address: 1555 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-3299
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Laguna Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Surf & Sand Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surf & Sand Resort, a member of Preferred Hotels and Resorts Worldwide and holder of AAA’s Four-Diamond Award, lies on California's Laguna Beach shoreline where the waves of the Pacific meet 500 feet of pristine sand.All 151 guest rooms and 16 suites at Surf & Sand command spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean. The resort also houses Splashes Restaurant, featuring a Mediterranean-inspired coastal menu by Executive Chef David Fune; the intimate Aquaterra Spa; 10,000-square-feet of meeting space and wedding venues with stunning ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Surf & Sand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Surf And Sand Hotel Laguna Beach
Surf And Sand Hotel
Surf Sand Hotel
Surf And Sand Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing