We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love The Surf & Sand”
Review of Surf & Sand Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Surf & Sand Resort
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
healthprof
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love The Surf & Sand”
Reviewed August 16, 2008

Great room, service and views!!! Love staying here.

  • Liked — The view of the Pacific Ocean
  • Disliked — Nothing comes to mind.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank healthprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,077
    284
    131
    80
    62
See reviews for
399
721
41
218
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (536)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockwall, Texas
Level Contributor
153 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2008

We were in the Laguna area August 10-12 for which we booked a premier deluxe ocean view king room . Upon opening the door to the room we were shocked at the temperature inside the room. Facing the west sun, (ocean view) the room was stifling hot on this particular 94 degree day. I called the front desk to inquire only to learn the resort is "A/C free". I felt this was unacceptable for a room costing $600/night. The manager reluctantly issued me a credit on my credit card.
For the money, I felt the property should at the very least offer air conditioning . No where on their web site is this mentioned to unsuspecting guests.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — uncomfortable room temperature
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Drroady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2008

From the start to the finish, this hotel is outstanding in every way. My best friend and I wanted a great place on the beach (and we've tried others at Laguna before) and this was it. All the staff has a "Yes" attitude which is what I need when I truly want to relax . . . no hassles at all. The room we had on the 8th floor was very roomy and nicely decorated. When you enter the room, the first view you get is an unobstructed view of the Pacific Ocean . . . nice! If there is anything missing from the room (we wanted a microwave, the mini bar emptied and a coffee maker), the staff is there immediately with your every wim. The bar downstairs is just awesome (try the flat bread pizza with your martini . . . yum!) and the open windows allow the ocean breeze to gently cool you. The view of all the perfect bods walking the beach are nice too . . . added bonus for both sexes! We tried the spa too and although we wanted 80 minute massages before we left on a Sunday, we could only get 50 minutes. Book early because the facilities are wonderful and very relaxing. My massage was perfect. I recommend Connie. I HIGHLY recommend this place. WELL worth the high prices.

  • Liked — View and the Yes attitude.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Josette_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2008

Good beach resort. Ample, but not extensive, beach services and amenities. Definitely plan to return to Surf and Sand.

Surf is loud! This was great for us, because the sound of the waves was one of the attractions to booking Surf & Sand Resort.

All rooms in towers building have a balcony directly above beach, overlooking beach and waves perhaps 25 feet horizontally away. Balcony fits 2 chairs, each with ottomans, and table. Had room service one evening, to watch the sunset.

Surfside rooms have similar balconies, except smaller and without ottomans.

"seaside" rooms overlook the pool and are much farther back from the beach.

There are many other places to stay in Laguna Beach, right on the beach off Pacific Coast Highway. Surf and Sand Resort appeared to have the best balconies of any of these places, and the towers and surfside rooms appear closest to the beach than any of these other places. Some of the other places appear to have better beachside amenities -- lounge chairs, surf equipment, etc. The beach is public and very walkable.

Room was corner king on low floor in towers building. Bed was angled to face the surf, yet with enough privacy from the beach.
Room decor was 70s SoCal beachy: half of one wall was mirrored, and track lighting above the bed. Room included couch, desk/table, 2 chairs, several lamps, and bedside sconces. Room was clean and well maintained. Turndown service provided.

Had breakfast, lunch, and dinner at hotel restaurant Splashes. Very friendly, casual service. Crowded at sunset -- reservations needed. Menu was good, not outstanding, California cuisine. Pricey for dinner ($35 or so entrees) but similar menu is a better value for lunch ($20 entrees). Breakfast was pricey, but surprisingly excellent. Restaurant has great location, just a flight of steps up from the beach, with excellent ocean views.

Fitness room had about 8 machines -- treadmills, ellipticals, stationary bikes, etc. Also several weight machines, and some free weights. Hardwood floor. Not lavish, but functional.

Front desk and valet were friendly, generally helpful.

  • Liked — room layout focused on the beach
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sfca18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2008

We've just returned from a fanatastic stay at this hotel. We had sea view rooms, and the rooms were unbeatable, really spacious and bright with fantastic views of the waves crashing, also saw several dolphins.
We were a little worried beforehand by the tripadvisor reviews that said there was no a/c at the hotel, however, that was no problem at all. I normally love to have the a/c on full blast freezing everyone when were in hotels, but it did not bother me one bit. The celing fan and also separarte electric fan were just fine - and i do like the room to be quite cold!!

Food was good in the hotel, the restaurant is right on the beach and has great views. Breakfast could be bit hit and miss, generally very good, but some mornings better than others - very good menu for breakfast.

The beach was great, much quieter than huntington beach, so was great place to chill out. I also enjoyed bodyboardin there as the waves were pretty good just a 2 min walk down from hotel.

The rooms were the best we've stayed in and the service was good the whole time. Will definately be returning in the future.

  • Liked — View and the rooms
  • Disliked — Liked everything
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Hefferz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2008

1. Our room was not ready, so we decided to get some lunch down stairs and than we waited and waited still know room. Than when we inquired about our room, we were told that it would be ready in a few minutes, we continued to wait. Finally we were told that it would be ready in five minutes and we continued to wait.

2. When we finally got our room it was gross and unacceptable. The carpet was black, the room was dirty, the glasses in the room looked like they were rinsed out placed on the bar for our use with Coke still in them and there was mold growing in the shower. When we brought this to the attention of the manager on duty and she saw the condition of the room, she agreed.

3. So on the second day of our four days at your resort we had people cleaning our carpet all day and we had to deal with fans in our room and wet carpet while we were getting dressed. At this point of our stay there was nothing that anyone could do to make things better. We were miserable.

4. I have a brand new Mercedes parked with your valet, My seats and mirrors were all adjusted by the valet and because the car is new I notice everything. Someone put at least 50 miles on my car during our stay. It wasn't us.

  • Liked — beach
  • Disliked — dirty room
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gwendolyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2008

I stayed at the Surf and Sand for 4 nights. The property is very conveniently located within walking distance of most of the shops and restaurants in Laguna Beach (this is why we chose to say there). The decor is beachy and perhaps a bit dated in the hotel rooms (needed new carpeting, I thought). Our corner room was very spacious and had beautiful views of the Pacific ocean. The bathroom was spacious, clean and fairly well maintained (had separate tub and shower). I would not describe the feel of the property as luxurious, elegant or staid (like Montage resort). It is beachy, somewhat casual and fun.
We had requested a room at the end of the hallway and this request was honored. We walked into the room and my travel companion immediately began looking for the temperature control to turn the Air Conditioning down (we had arrived at 4 pm and the room did feel a little warm to me). We searched the walls, floors and ceilings looking for A/C vents and discovered that.....there weren't any...i.e. there is no air conditiioning in the rooms. The the ocean breezes keep the temperature fairly comfortable at night but it does get warm in the room during the daytime at least during the summer. There was a large fan in the closet and we pulled that out to get better air circulation.
Another issue to be aware of is the noise from the crashing waves of the Pacific. The hotel provides earplugs for this. We had bought our white noise machines and this helped in insuring a peaceful nights sleep.

The beach - it was crowded on the 4th of July holiday and is a public beach so you are not permitted to drink alchohol while sitting at the beach. The hotel provides beach chairs, umbrellas and towels for their guests. It is not a peaceful beach experience as the guests are crammed into a small area.....(i.e. no taking a daytime nap here!). There is a small beach lunch menu and servers to bring you lunch while you are sitting on the beach.

The pool - the pool area is set about 25 steps up from the beach, is enclosed You can get an alcoholic drink at the pool. It is not serene or peaceful but has a raucous and festive atmosphere.

Splashes restaurant - located just off of the pool. Varied selection of tasty food for breakfast and lunch (I can't comment on dinner because I didn't eat dinner there).

The fitness center - fairly small and very hot - 3 treadmills, 3 elliptical machines, free weights and a few Hoist weight machines. The fitness center was almost always busy in the mornings. I felt like they needed to expand it a little and consider putting in A/C as it was stifling by 10 AM.

Spa - there is one but I did not use it so can't comment on that.

Staff - very accomodating, professional and friendly. They go out of their way to please their guests and this alone made the trip special. They are very well trained and attempt to anticipate the needs of their guests.....GREAT valet staff at this hotel.
The common areas are nicely decorated, clean and well maintained. To synopsize, if you are looking for a romantic, peaceful, elegant or luxurious vacation, this may not be the place for you. If you want convenience, easy access to the beach and the town of Laguna Beach, a festive atmosphere and a beautiful view of the Pacific Ocean this will probably fit the bill.

  • Liked — Convenient location, easy beach access
  • Disliked — No airconditioning, noise from the Pacific ocean
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
1.2 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
729 reviews
0.1 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
388 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
653 reviews
1.4 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#7 of 22 in Laguna Beach
298 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf & Sand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf & Sand Resort

Property: Surf & Sand Resort
Address: 1555 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-3299
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Laguna Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Surf & Sand Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surf & Sand Resort, a member of Preferred Hotels and Resorts Worldwide and holder of AAA’s Four-Diamond Award, lies on California's Laguna Beach shoreline where the waves of the Pacific meet 500 feet of pristine sand.All 151 guest rooms and 16 suites at Surf & Sand command spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean. The resort also houses Splashes Restaurant, featuring a Mediterranean-inspired coastal menu by Executive Chef David Fune; the intimate Aquaterra Spa; 10,000-square-feet of meeting space and wedding venues with stunning ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Preferred Hotels, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Surf & Sand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Surf And Sand Hotel Laguna Beach
Surf And Sand Hotel
Surf Sand Hotel
Surf And Sand Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing