We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded Expectations”
Review of Surf & Sand Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Surf & Sand Resort
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We wanted one special night right on the beach to hear the roar of the ocean....no ear plugs for us. The person who took our reservation talked us into a package that included valet, breakfast, and resort fee....actually glad that we did as it more than covered everything. While this property is older, the updates they have done are tasteful. We received superb service from the moment we pulled in....from the valet...an upgrade...a special anniversary greeting. Only caveat....no air conditioning and we were there in 90+ with no breeze from the ocean....fans helped, but it was hot. No matter we loved it. The staff seemed to knock themselves out to make certain we appreciated the experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barb g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,712)
There are newer reviews for Surf & Sand Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,082 - 1,088 of 1,712 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2013

I stayed at the Surf and Sand with my parents and brother recently and soaked up the luxury of this hotel and its location to the best of my ability. The rooms are beautiful, clean, and serene. The ocean is literally steps away from this hotel and I delighted in the sound of crashing waves that permeated my room when I had the balcony doors open. I also loved my morning swim at 7:30am. :) We ate a delicious breakfast and dinner at Splashes (the restaurant at the hotel) and the service was top of the line. I would definitely come back to The Surf and Sand and stay again. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JulieMC11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Recommended to our family by many locals we just had to make a stop at this resort. 5 amazing nights at this resort which couldn't get any closer to the pacific ocean if it tried.

Rooms were very luxurious and the amenities in the room were amazing. It was my wife's birthday whilst we were in house & our family back in AUS organised a red velvet cake & flowers to be delivered to our room on the morning of her birthday which the resort took care of perfectly.

Very polite bellman staff who our children enjoyed interacting with during the week. Short walking distance to many good restaurants in laguna including Italian/ Mexican which we sampled.

Pool was awesome down by the beach & we enjoyed cocktails at the pool bar most days. Do yourself a favourite & spend a few nights here & sleep with your doors open so you can hear the ocean all night.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed this past weekend to celebrate our anniversary. From the moment we arrived, the amazing staff took care of us. The room and view are truly a unique experience in Southern California. The hotel is so close to the water that until you look down from the balcony, you aren't sure it wasn't actually built on the water. I've stayed at many resorts in Laguna Beach and none had this incredible location. We had drinks and appetizers at the bar Friday and saw the most wonderful sunset on the ocean. Our server was attentive and gave excellent recommendations. We spent Saturday going back and forth from the beach to the pool area. Again, the staff checked on us every 15 minutes to ensure we having a great time and to see if we needed anything. Sunday morning we had breakfast with friends at Splashes restaurant. The food was exceptional (I had the dugeoness crab eggs benedict) and again the service was impressive. For a one of a kind experience in Southern California, we strong recommend this resort.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoeLeinackerGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

If you want to stay virtually on the beach, a few feet above the waves, and hear them crashing on the sand as you sleep, this is the place for you.

The bedrooms are beautiful, and the staff is very friendly.

In addition, Laguna Beach is packed with incredible restaurants and art galleries that you can easily walk to.

However, I would not recommend either the hotel or Laguna Beach for a family vacation. It is more of a couple romantic getaway place.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean front in either building and you will be right over the waves.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CWRDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Customer service was horrible. The surroundings were beautiful. The rooms very nice. But bottom line is that I'd never say here again due to poor service.

After making a noise complaint at 1:30 a.m. due to a domestic dispute in the room next to me, that was addressed by security at 2:00, and then when I called at about 2:15 a.m. to report that the situation had not be resolved no one at the front desk would pick up the phone. I called three times over about 10 minutes with no answer. So, I finally got up, got dressed, walked to the reception desk to find it empty. After poking my head around, I found the attendent coming back from somewhere with two cups of milk in his hands. He said he was only away a minute or two (becuse he wanted some milk to drink). It is true he wanted milk; it is not true that he was away only a minute or two.

No offer to move my room was made. So I decided to leave (at 2:30 a.m. in the morning). Making matters worse, no offer to have my bags moved for me was made and my car was not even brought up from the valet by the time I had gone back to the room, packed and gotten my bill (which in all fairness was a zero charge after I told the attendant I would not paying for a sleepless night).

I won't be back. If you choose to stay here, I hope your experience is far better than mine

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surf_and_Sand_Resort, General Manager at Surf & Sand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your recent stay. I appreciate your comments, which I take very seriously, and extend my sincere concern and apologies. I regret that, upon attempting to reach you via telephone and leaving you a message, I was unable to speak with you personally.

Please be assured that the inconveniences you experienced are, indeed, uncommon
and not our usual standard of excellence, and I understand your frustration and displeasure.

I would appreciate another opportunity of having you as our guest in the future, please feel free to contact me directly at 949-793-8054.

Sincerely,

Joanna Bear
Resort Manager
Surf & Sand Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I've stayed at the Surf and Sand Resort twice in the past year and the staff at this hotel has excellent customer service. The rooms are luxurious and comfortable as well. I will be returning here again.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms with the waves crashing are peaceful.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
1.2 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#6 of 22 in Laguna Beach
787 reviews
0.1 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
441 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
782 reviews
1.4 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
326 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf & Sand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf & Sand Resort

Address: 1555 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-3299
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Laguna Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range: $429 - $826 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Surf & Sand Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surf & Sand Resort, a member of Preferred Hotels and Resorts Worldwide and holder of AAA’s Four-Diamond Award, lies on California's Laguna Beach shoreline where the waves of the Pacific meet 500 feet of pristine sand.All 151 guest rooms and 16 suites at Surf & Sand command spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean. The resort also houses Splashes Restaurant, featuring a Mediterranean-inspired coastal menu by Executive Chef Ron Fougeray; the intimate Aquaterra Spa; 10,000-square-feet of meeting space and wedding venues with stunning ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Travelocity, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Surf & Sand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Surf And Sand Hotel Laguna Beach
Surf And Sand Hotel
Surf Sand Hotel
Surf And Sand Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing