We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Oceanfront Rooms / Motel 6 Service”
Review of Surf & Sand Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Surf & Sand Resort
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Omaha
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing Oceanfront Rooms / Motel 6 Service”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

To be fair, we spent two nights prior to arriving at the Surf & Sand at Hotel Bel Air, which was an amazing luxury hotel experience with an attentive and polite hotel staff that essentially falls over themselves trying to provide their guests with world class attention. My only knock on the Surf & Sand Resort is their hotel staff, which by comparison is inadequately trained and brings an attitude unfitting of a luxury hotel. From them moment we checked in, I felt as if the check-in clerks was doing me a favor by running my credit card, and how they can possibly lose your car in valet parking at such a small resort is beyond my comprehension. When I asked to speak with the hotel manager, the clerk refused. None of this is a huge deal to me, because the hotel rooms and views are simply spectacular, but for as much as they charge, I expected more than Motel 6 level service.

If you can look past the poorly trained and disinterested staff (which I can), the Surf & Sand is fantastic. Ask for a corner room, if you can get one. Our view made our stay worth every overpriced penny. We don't typically do hotel restaurants, so I can't comment on their other facilities, but the restaurant and pool spaces are oceanfront and very pretty.

Again, I'm pretty baffled by the service, which I would grade C-, but the room is an A and you can't beat sunset on our balcony.

Room Tip: Room 250 overlooks the pool, but it was quiet and lovely. Even if it had been noisy, the surf pound...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank schrager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,652 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,090
    287
    132
    80
    63
See reviews for
406
730
41
218
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (540)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed at the Surf and Sand for a business conference. Very high end, but property is old and, while updated, there are vestiges of yesteryear. For example, our room had only one easily available outlet for cell phone chargers and laptop power supply. That's why you pack a power strip. New flat screen TVs have been hung over light switches so you have to reach behind the TV to turn lights on and off. There appeared to be no air conditioning. Thankfully you could open the doors and windows for fresh Oceanside air, but you could be compromising your security if you left them open all night. Food was good to excellent, and staff was very attentive to our needs. The view is a killer with quick access to the beach, making some of the other inconveniences trivial.

Room Tip: Bring a power strip for your cell phones and laptops.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wilmingtonwillie2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed at the Waldorf Astoria in Rome in June of this year and raved about the hotel and the service. We are now at the Surf and Sand - and it is every bit as good! The location, the room, the food and the staff - are all awesome! The one star rating below is clearly the work of some really disturbed idiot!

Room Tip: Every room is great, except the ones immediately adjacent to the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jprJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We visit Surf and Sand every September for my wife's B-day, The customer service is outstanding from top to bottom and the view from every room is Fabulous! If you ever want to surprise your partner for a romantic evening, ask the concierge to decorate your room with rose pedals, candles, champagne and chocolate dipped strawberries, it will be one of the best nights you ever have!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bighurt552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

This place has it all. Right on the beach. A fabulous pool with a bar. Excellent restaurants. Attentive staff to help you with anything you need. Immaculate well appointed rooms. A little far from some of the popular restaurants and shops but a quick taxi ride takes care of that.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cathiann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
1 review
Reviewed September 17, 2013

The customer service, room, and ocean views exceeded all of my expectations! All of the staff was very well trained, professional, and delighted to serve us. Our room was beautiful and very well maintained. Not to mention spotless! The pool area and ocean views from this resort are top notch. I would highly recommend Surf and Sand Resort. I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lonzino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We came here again after our visit one year ago. Must say it still has a very high standard and pleased we made the choice. Ocean front rooms are pricy but we knew that before we came. Compared some other high end hotels but wanted to stay close to the beach.
By the way, if you like the sound of water crashing this is the place to be. If this keeps you up at night, might want to reconsider. The ocean sounds like you are about to be blasted but then I like that. Our room was on the top floor in the corner which is what I wanted. Quiet and without any noisy parties going on near us. All the services we had were first rate from dining, maid , gym and concierge . Staff was attentive, know how to do their jobs without you asking.
Gym was a bit small but fine for most. No AC but most of the time would not be a problem.
I would suggest you will like this place.

Room Tip: top floor ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
1.2 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
736 reviews
0.1 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
402 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
690 reviews
1.4 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#7 of 22 in Laguna Beach
305 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf & Sand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf & Sand Resort

Property: Surf & Sand Resort
Address: 1555 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-3299
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Laguna Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Surf & Sand Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surf & Sand Resort, a member of Preferred Hotels and Resorts Worldwide and holder of AAA’s Four-Diamond Award, lies on California's Laguna Beach shoreline where the waves of the Pacific meet 500 feet of pristine sand.All 151 guest rooms and 16 suites at Surf & Sand command spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean. The resort also houses Splashes Restaurant, featuring a Mediterranean-inspired coastal menu by Executive Chef Ron Fougeray; the intimate Aquaterra Spa; 10,000-square-feet of meeting space and wedding venues with stunning ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Preferred Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, TravelUp, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Surf & Sand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Surf And Sand Hotel Laguna Beach
Surf And Sand Hotel
Surf Sand Hotel
Surf And Sand Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing