We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Redux” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Surf & Sand Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Surf & Sand Resort
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
183 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Redux”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

We came here again after our visit one year ago. Must say it still has a very high standard and pleased we made the choice. Ocean front rooms are pricy but we knew that before we came. Compared some other high end hotels but wanted to stay close to the beach.
By the way, if you like the sound of water crashing this is the place to be. If this keeps you up at night, might want to reconsider. The ocean sounds like you are about to be blasted but then I like that. Our room was on the top floor in the corner which is what I wanted. Quiet and without any noisy parties going on near us. All the services we had were first rate from dining, maid , gym and concierge . Staff was attentive, know how to do their jobs without you asking.
Gym was a bit small but fine for most. No AC but most of the time would not be a problem.
I would suggest you will like this place.

Room Tip: top floor ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    975
    268
    126
    77
    59
See reviews for
363
673
36
193
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (488)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mission Viejo, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

We decided to stay at the Surf and Sand Resort to escape the heat. We beach front room was incredible. We spent the day at the beach, then sat on on balcony sipping wine and enjoying the incredible sunset. We had a wonderful dinner at Splashes. The staff is friendly and efficient. We will definitely stay at the Surf and Sand Resort again. It was a great experience!

Room Tip: All of the rooms have a great ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho San Diego
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

What a perfect way to end our summer! It was absolutely wonderful! Our balcony view looked right over the ocean just like on a cruise ship, almost as though you could just dive right in. The food at Splashes restaurant was amazing and we loved our waiter Alfredo! The kids enjoyed the pool and the beach immensely and could not have been more content being served lunch right at the waters edge. I had a wonderful massage by Beth and enjoyed the steam room. I loved being addressed by Name from the staff and was greeted warmly always. We felt special and well taken care of! Well worth the price for a little piece of heaven!

Room Tip: 3rd floor main tower center! Amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

We were walk-in guests and checked in on a holiday when the majority of guests were checking out so we got a fantastic rate on a suite overlooking the ocean. The staff was very friendly and extremely helpful. The room was clean and spacious. There was no air conditioning but we were not affected at all as we had the ocean breeze. We would definitely stay here again and, in fact, can't wait to return!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NikkosPaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

TERRIBLE EXPERIENCE FOOD WAS HORRIBLE

We checked into the Surf and Sand looking for peace and tranquility as we have found in the past and this hotel. Upon arrival the front desk person was snappy and rude to my fiance we let it slide. That night we went to dinner and our dogs barked so we got a call from the security. When we arrived a group of over zealous security guards surrounded our room like the Gestapo. We informed security the dogs would not bark again and they were quiet the rest of the trip. The dinner that night was around 450.00 that only included three cocktails the rest was food charges. The food was HORRIBLE we were served dry fish and some green rice menagerie that tasted like paste each entree was 45.00 dollars. The appetizers were oysters that tasted rancid and were surrounded by a black goo around the outside of they oyster. Being from New Orleans we know what isn't acceptable regarding the appearance of an oyster. We ordered the chicken entrees the next night that described mashed potatoes the mashed potatoes were non existent and the entree had four little slices of raw potatoes on the side, very strange concoction that we were told was the chef's "vision" The rooms were very hot and we slept poorly. Victor who is on staff at the hotel called our room several times uninvited asking when we would be checking out he stated dogs of this size were not allowed they both are standard size dogs. Victor stated only twenty lb dogs were allowed and made us feel unwelcome. I am an animal rescuer and head of a protection agency for animals. Promoting dogs twenty lbs or under is a promotion of "puppymill" dogs which are now illegal to sell in the state of California. The dinner we were told would be removed from our credit card but we had to go back and forth with the hotel over this charge even after the food and beverage director offered the charge to be removed. The garbage piled outside our room was there all day until we complained over and over for the removal of the debris we had to look at all day. I would never go back to this hotel until the staff is changed including the chef which is simply laughable. I am not sure what vision' he has for the food but my vision is he head over to a Holiday Inn or low grade hotel where he can serve food to people not of discerning taste. For 50.00 an entree I expect to be blown away by the taste and appearance of the entree. Don't waste your money. For the same price head over to a Ritz Carlton where everything is always perfection at it's best.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank USAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surf_and_Sand_Resort, General Manager at Surf & Sand Resort, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
To our TripAdvisor Family:

It's rare that we speak in this fashion, as we tried to discuss these issues with this guest.

Please know that our goal is to exceed our guests' expectations with both our service and product.

Sincerely,

Joanna Bear
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
61 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed for three nights. The sound of the waves was incredible. Soothing, but loud. Wore earplugs for two nights and slept very well. Room was nicely decorated and light and airy in feel. Didn't know about the no a/c prior. I like my a/c, but we did get used to it after a time. The wind is always moving with the windows open. The staff was very accommodating and food at Splashes was good. I booked a Swedish massage on last morning with Rebecca. Have to say it was the "best" one I have ever had.

If you don't like salt water, the pool is nice and near enough to almost be in the ocean with the sounds and wind. Great way to spend the day.

I noticed a lot of dogs running by the ocean and made me wish for mine to be there. They were welcome on the beach and seemed to be enjoying it as much as their "humans".

Location great for hotel, the name says it all.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view, the higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Klawonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

The hotel has no air conditioning in most of the guest rooms which causes both temperature and noise problems. There are large floor fans in the closets, which might be adequate during the winter months. They also have ceiling fans. Otherwise the guest rooms are well appointed and clean. The bathrooms are large with separate tubs and showers and two lavatories. Everything was in good repair. The lack of air conditioning, combined with the noise from the beach, made sleep impossible, however.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grace C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
1.2 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#6 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
1.4 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#8 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf & Sand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf & Sand Resort

Property: Surf & Sand Resort
Address: 1555 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-3299
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Laguna Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Surf & Sand Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surf & Sand Resort, a member of Preferred Hotels and Resorts Worldwide and holder of AAA’s Four-Diamond Award, lies on California's Laguna Beach shoreline where the waves of the Pacific meet 500 feet of pristine sand.All 151 guest rooms and 16 suites at Surf & Sand command spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean. The resort also houses Splashes Restaurant, featuring a Mediterranean-inspired coastal menu by Executive Chef David Fune; the intimate Aquaterra Spa; 10,000-square-feet of meeting space and wedding venues with stunning ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Surf & Sand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Surf And Sand Hotel Laguna Beach
Surf And Sand Hotel
Surf Sand Hotel
Surf And Sand Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing