We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Couples Getaway!”
Review of Surf & Sand Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Surf & Sand Resort
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Temecula, California
1 review
“Great Couples Getaway!”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Just stayed at Surf & Sand this past weekend. We only had time for a quick one night getaway, but it was just what my "travel doctor" prescribed! The beach walk, then wine and sunset on our patio, then a very tasty dinner ( I recommend the Halibut) at Splashes was just the thing for my wife and I after a long week at work.......

Guest Service, Resort Amenities, everything was spot on. What a treat!

This place will earn a permanent spot in our roster of places to return to!

Room Tip: We loved the Catalina Suite. Worthwhile to upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,061
    280
    131
    80
    62
See reviews for
393
714
41
212
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (528)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2013

You can stand on you balcony and the waves will crash under you at high tide. You can't get closer to the sea without getting wet. Love Great service, great location, friendly staff and. Great food!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Primeval1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
210 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We loved staying right on Laguna Beach. We found the Surf & Sand Resort to be small and expensive, but you are paying for the beach front access.

LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION
I booked this hotel for its prime location: right on the beach. The views of the ocean are breathtaking and you can fall asleep to the sound of ocean waves crashing. (The hotel does provide ear plugs, in case you find the ocean waves to be too loud). The hotel is walking distance from lots of small shops and restaurants. The hotel provides chairs on the beach, as well as chairs by the pool.

ACCOMMODATIONS: A BIT OF A DISAPPOINTMENT
We booked the Catalina Jr Suite-Lower. For nearly $800/night, I was a bit disappointed. The "Lower" part means you overlook a roof before you see the ocean. The bedroom and bathroom felt small and cramped. We traveled with our two kids and they slept on the pull-out sofa bed. The rooms were clean and have a modern, beachy decor.

When I reserved the room, I requested the add-on amenity "S'mores and Snores" for the kids. I was so excited for them to walk into the room and see a tent and sleeping bags arranged and cookies and milk set out. When we checked in, they said it hadn't been set up yet, but they would call someone to do it later that evening. We went directly to the room to drop our bags off and walked in on the guy trying to set up the tent. The surprise was ruined :( My husband and kids walked around for 15 minutes or so to allow the guy to finish. He was having problems setting it up and said he had to leave to get something. At this point, I went to the front desk and cancelled it. The surprise had been spoiled and my family and I were tired after a day at Sea World and just wanted to get into our room. They took the charge off our bill without any problems and the guy came and collected the remnants of the tent. Still, it was disappointing the hotel didn't have it ready since we checked in after 5pm. The kids did enjoy the milk and cookies welcome amenity, however, which was a nice touch.

The pool was nice, although it was a bit cold and small. The lounge chairs around the pool are comfortable, although if you don't go early you won't get a chair.

A plus for the hotel is that the hotel staff was helpful and welcoming.

GOOD FOOD
We ordered room service and service by the pool and were pleased with the food. There are also many good restaurants within walking or driving distance.

As the hotel materials say, the ocean is their best asset. Given the steep price tag, I left feeling a bit disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nyctraveljunkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mirada, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

RIGHT on the beach, wonderful service, walking distance to wonderful restaurants and Laguna Beach sights, this is the best place in Laguna! We love to leave the sliding glass doors open and hear the waves as we fall asleep and wake up. Fitness center, wonderful, relaxing spa, great restaurants and fabulous grounds. You MUST stay here ONCE just to experience it! Don't miss out.

Room Tip: we love to stay in the northernmost building, since it's the closest to the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiannaDianna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

An amazing hotel built on the beach and it seems like you could dive into the ocean from your balcony in fact during high tide the waves were lashing right under my room.
The town is great with a huge variety of restaurants which are located to offer great views of the beach and the food is great almost everywhere,it is very visitor friendly and has a lot to offer for people who love the beach.
The hotel has great rooms and a really nice bar which i felt was a bit too small for the number of rooms so they have really cramped everyone.It is a hotel which leaves a mark and makes you want to keep going back and is also extremely convenient specially from los angeles, it is one of the best hotel on the beach that i have been to.

Room Tip: The lower floors are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ranjeev M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here over the Labor Day weekend and had a really nice experience. The service was phenomenal, the rooms were modern and the views beautiful. However, for the price paid we were extremely surprised to find out that there was no air conditioning in the rooms. They did provide fans and the rooms cooled down at night, but if you stay here on a hot weekend be prepared for the heat. The service more than made up for it, but be aware of no A/C!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EPKSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Friendly and helpful staff. Enjoyed this smaller hotel feel. Very personal service. Great location for walking around Laguna Beach and doing some shopping in the small stores. Amazing sunset views from the bar. We traveled with our three young children and felt very welcomed. Heated pool was nice since it was a little cool the days we were there (even in July). Would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kkampe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
1.2 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
0.1 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#8 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf & Sand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf & Sand Resort

Property: Surf & Sand Resort
Address: 1555 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-3299
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Laguna Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Surf & Sand Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surf & Sand Resort, a member of Preferred Hotels and Resorts Worldwide and holder of AAA’s Four-Diamond Award, lies on California's Laguna Beach shoreline where the waves of the Pacific meet 500 feet of pristine sand.All 151 guest rooms and 16 suites at Surf & Sand command spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean. The resort also houses Splashes Restaurant, featuring a Mediterranean-inspired coastal menu by Executive Chef David Fune; the intimate Aquaterra Spa; 10,000-square-feet of meeting space and wedding venues with stunning ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, TravelUp, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Surf & Sand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Surf And Sand Hotel Laguna Beach
Surf And Sand Hotel
Surf Sand Hotel
Surf And Sand Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing