We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love, love love this place!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Surf & Sand Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Surf & Sand Resort
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Love, love love this place!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

A-Mazing!!!!!!! This is such a special place. I stayed in a room overlooking the ocean and the sound of the waves crashing on the beach was breathtaking! I can't wait to go back. You will not regret staying here.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view room. You won't regret it...earplugs are included!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,024
    274
    126
    79
    60
See reviews for
375
695
40
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (511)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Had a great stay here at this hotel. Service was excellent, and the restaurant was nice. Try and get the lowest beach front balcony room. Leave your balcony doors open all night and listen to the waves crash. They even supply ear plugs if the waves are too loud! Pool area is small, but nice. Awesome place.

Room Tip: Pick the lowest beach front balcony room and listen to the waves crash all day long.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

I wanted to take my best friend for a much needed getaway. We stayed in one of the rooms in the tower overlooking the Pacific. The view from the balcony is breathtaking and you really can't be any closer to the ocean. It was such a peaceful, relaxing stay and our spa services were truly outstanding. The restaurant on site (Splashes) has a wonderful menu with the same amazing views of the ocean. The staff at the restaurant and throughout the property make you feel so welcome. I live in Irvine less than 15 miles away and yet I felt like I was completely on vacation. Perfect little getaway to recharge and relax. Surf and Sand is truly gem!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston Upon Thames
Level Contributor
101 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Family of four staying in one of the ocean front tower rooms. We splurged in the hope that it would deliver the appropriate value and it more or less did.
Room was fab and the service throughout was very very good (special mention to concierge desk girls). Poolside food was perfect for what we needed, breakfast good too. At dinner there once and it was ok but at much better to be in town (particularly recommend Nick's and 230 Forrest).
Pool is small, full to the brim with kids, and sunloungers packed together like sardines so that you have no choice but to get very close to your fellow guests. Didn't actually bother me as much as I thought it would but might not suit everyone. The beach is lovely and the hotel has an 'on-beach' facility for towels, beach chairs (not loungers) and refreshments which works very well.
Prices for all drinks etc are top dollar but I guess when you've committed to staying here either a) prices don't matter too much or b) you've bitten the bullet and pretend the numbers refer to japanese Yen. We fall into the latter.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NicL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

My self, my Husband and our son age 14 years, had a great and lovely time in this resort. Although it is a little expensive but it was worth it. Breakfast, valeting services, room cleanses, staff and the Beach was fab. definitely go back again:).
My son has the pleasure to meet the actor David tennant ( Dr Who), so it definitely one of the places to meet a celebrity:))

May

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maydhia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Elsinore, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

My wife and I recently went here for a weekend getaway and we had a pleasant experience. The staff was very kind and knowledgeable of local reataraunts and stores. This hotel is located right in the center of town, perfect for walking local shops. And the beach.... perfect not to crowded and if you like the ocean you really can't get much closer. We had an ocean room with a balcony. If I had my fishing pole, I could have casted into the ocean from our balcony. We could actually see this fish swimming in the water. The seagulls were fun to watch as they would land on the balcony each morning. One even came into the room. Be sure if you have food in your room that you close the balcony doors.
My wife went to the spa on property and as usuall spent a few hours trying out the different treatments. She said it was just average and nothing special. But she would go back.

Pros: Breathtaking views, awesome beach, great for walking local shops, tons of close by good eats.

Cons: In house coffee/gift shop sold us a fruit cup with mold, room service food was average.

Overal experience: I would definitely recommend this hotel to people who love the beach and beach town atmosphere. More for couples then families. I loved it and I will be back (hopefully soon)

Room Tip: Get a corner suite. The have great views of the coastline and ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
73 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay at surf and sand. Very chill place, nice room overlooking ocean. Free coffee a.m., and a nice managers cocktail reception. negatives are small pool with many kids running around, and rather steep price....great choice in laguna if you don't mind the kids and cost!

Room Tip: if you go, upgrade to beach front - other rooms are not worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmsknyny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
1.2 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
0.1 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#8 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf & Sand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf & Sand Resort

Property: Surf & Sand Resort
Address: 1555 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-3299
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Laguna Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Surf & Sand Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surf & Sand Resort, a member of Preferred Hotels and Resorts Worldwide and holder of AAA’s Four-Diamond Award, lies on California's Laguna Beach shoreline where the waves of the Pacific meet 500 feet of pristine sand.All 151 guest rooms and 16 suites at Surf & Sand command spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean. The resort also houses Splashes Restaurant, featuring a Mediterranean-inspired coastal menu by Executive Chef David Fune; the intimate Aquaterra Spa; 10,000-square-feet of meeting space and wedding venues with stunning ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Surf & Sand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Surf And Sand Hotel Laguna Beach
Surf And Sand Hotel
Surf Sand Hotel
Surf And Sand Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing