We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Surf & Sand Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Surf & Sand Resort
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Pacific Northwest
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed at the surf and sand for a girls weekend and it could not have been better. We had originally looked at the Ritz Carlton but it was fairly booked, so glad it was because the surf and sand is better. It is right on the beach, every room has an amazing view and its easy to walk to the town of laguna. The other nice aspect is that isn't overwhelmingly large and industrial like the Ritz can feel sometimes. I would recommend this as the best place to stay if you want to be right on the ocean!

Room Tip: all of the rooms are great as they all have views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpknw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,024
    274
    126
    79
    60
See reviews for
375
695
40
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (511)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
los angeles
Level Contributor
133 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

This was always one of my favorite places. You are right on the beach, and through the open doors the balcony you hear the waves. What a wonderful sound to lull you to sleep!
During our recent stay I found the housekeeping to be outstanding. Our toiletries, bedside items etc. were arranged and organized without misplacing anything. All in all, a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mayasl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

By far, this has been one of the best places I have ever stayed while vacationing. The service here is outstanding and everything is elegant and beautiful. It's in a great location and everything was just perfect. You will pay more here than you would any where else in Laguna, but it is SO worth it. Turn down service everynight is amazing. I was a bit nervous being from Texas that there was no air conditioning in any of the rooms! BUT, none was needed. We just cracked the balcony doors open a bit and listened to the waves at night while the breeze blew in. I would highly recommend this resort! AND they have an amazing spa too!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lclosner8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

this hotel is gorgeous the pics on trip advisor don't do it justice I need upload some, the beach and views, the pool and resteraunt, bar are gorgeous, really friendly staff and rooms were spacious imaculatley clean and really nice loved our stay here, it is very expensive but I loved it.:)

Room Tip: we stayed on floor 9 top of the surf and our room was gorgeous, quiet and light/airy I would def ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unknown
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Amazing! The Surf and Sand is a beautiful hotel. It is a bit pricey, however, we had an ocean view room and it was just amazing to hear the ocean waves throughout the day and wake up to them in the morning. The service was excellent and the staff were very courteous.

I would definitely go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travellingnome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

We were placed on the bottom floor of one of the buildings, with our terrace opening out onto the pool area, and immediately asked to change rooms as it was noisy with the kids at the pool. Also, our door opened out onto a corridor that was essentially the service hallway - ice was thrown onto the floor and left to melt, dirty stains, etc. Not a pretty sight.

The rooms were comfortable and clean but not memorable in any way. Service was ok but we didn't feel that the staff were that genuine. Also, it was annoying to only have valet as we went in and out quite often.

Room Tip: Get a higher floor to avoid the service corridor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank countingstars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

We live in Laguna Beach, California, in a great ocean view home. Recently we replaced our lower level floors with wood flooring. We moved to the Surf and Sand for just over a week.

While there are wonderful hotels in Laguna, including the famous Montage, we find that the Surf and Sand has the best views, rooms, restaurants and location.

This property is in the heart of town, yet it seems like you are isolated. The hotel sits right on the ocean wall, and all rooms face the Pacific. The decor is light, wide shuttered windows, marble baths. Leave the shutters open at night and feel the breeze and listen to the waves hit the beach.

Service is great. Had room service quite a few times. Varied menu, loved everything. The pool has a glass fence around it to cut the breeze, but allow the view of the ocean. Always warm, regardless of the season.

One of the highlights of the property is that you walk out the front of the hotel, and can immediately enjoy the village. Restaurants abound, shopping, and strolling. Art galleries aplenty.

Come visit. You will enjoy!

Room Tip: All rooms face the Pacific. There isn't a bad one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darleneaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
1.2 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
0.1 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#8 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf & Sand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf & Sand Resort

Property: Surf & Sand Resort
Address: 1555 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-3299
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Laguna Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Surf & Sand Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surf & Sand Resort, a member of Preferred Hotels and Resorts Worldwide and holder of AAA’s Four-Diamond Award, lies on California's Laguna Beach shoreline where the waves of the Pacific meet 500 feet of pristine sand.All 151 guest rooms and 16 suites at Surf & Sand command spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean. The resort also houses Splashes Restaurant, featuring a Mediterranean-inspired coastal menu by Executive Chef David Fune; the intimate Aquaterra Spa; 10,000-square-feet of meeting space and wedding venues with stunning ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Surf & Sand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Surf And Sand Hotel Laguna Beach
Surf And Sand Hotel
Surf Sand Hotel
Surf And Sand Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing