We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sounds of the Surf”
Review of Surf & Sand Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Surf & Sand Resort
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
La Jolla, California
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Sounds of the Surf”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

You are right there ... over the breaking waves on the beach. How amazing! And if the sound of the breaking waves is too loud ... they have ear plugs in each room. WOW! It doesn't get any better than this. I love seeing the wild birds, the dolphins, the seals and other ocean animals from our balcony. We have been making trips to the Surf 'n Sand since the 1990's.
The customer service is exceptional. Our requests were expediently fulfilled. Everyone on the staff is so friendly. The morning brewed coffee is strong ... and free! The barrista shop is accommodating with such friendly people!
It's only a 15 minute walk into the Laguna Beach Village ... an easy walk ... or convenient free trolley ride away.
The outdoor fire pit is very enjoyable. The pool is remarkable with helpful attendants. During the summer the s'mores outside pit is popular ... and delicious.
We love the breakfast at Splashes, too.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,652 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,090
    287
    132
    80
    63
See reviews for
406
730
41
218
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (540)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
arizona
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We have been to Surf and Sand for the past 3 summers with our kids. We absolutely love it. It is pricey, but it is something we look forward to and plan for all year, despite the price. The pool area is wonderful, with the beach only steps away. Although we have always traveled with kids, I can see how there are areas around the pool just for adults, and would be very relaxing, facing the ocean. One of the best things for a busy mom like me is towels! :) I love that all the beach towels are right there at your fingertips, along with beach chairs, and even some sand toys for the kids. You are able to just tell one of the staff members how many chairs and umbrellas you want on the beach, and it's done. It is so convenient and saves me lots of time setting all that up for my big family. When we finish at the beach, we don't have to pack up our stuff, just walk back to our room to change for dinner. Lovely! It's the little things like that that are so helpful. It's a beautiful place, and our family slips into a nice routine of relaxation while there. Don't miss the spa. I had a couple of wonderful massages.

Room Tip: We prefer the rooms overlooking the beach, not the pool. One day we'd like to try the penthouse...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LanaDorazio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

If you like the sound of crashing waves a few feet from your room, this place is for you. It's a wonder the place hasn't been claimed by the sea, but it has been here for decades so who am I to guess! The food at Spashes restaurant is outstanding...especially the Brussel sprouts. Odd but true. The staff is attentive and very pleasant all around. The rooms in the north building are slightly cheaper and newer. Go for those.

Room Tip: The ocean front rooms are more expensive but worth the extra dough. Try the newer north building on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelguy002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, London
Level 4 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Stayed at the Surf and sand in August last year. We were still checked in at the Beverly Hilton and we paid for an extra night here because it was so gorgeous. The location is amazing. You won't find a better location. We had a King Surf side room which was lovely. Rooms are pricey but when you see the location you can see why. The only con would be the size of the swimming pool. The sounds of the waves from the room is out of this world!!

Room Tip: King Surf Side are literally on the beach, practically in the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yesh24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 4, 2013

As a local from OC, we are familiar with many of the resorts. My wife and i just stayed here over the weekend and could not have asked for a better time. This resort hotel has many things which can't be beat which include... Service, Location, Rooms, Spa, and restaurant/bar. The hotel staff and management were over the top nice. The resort not only sits directly on the water, it is also located in the heart of Laguna so you park your car for the entire weekend and simply walk the beach and streets. The hotel has been renovated so the rooms and common areas are superb--everything overlooks the ocean. We also were extremely pleased with the spa. It is tough to beat a sunset beverage in their bar called Splashes! Can't say enough great things about this hotel and we will go again soon! Tayt

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tayt2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We have been coming here for several years now, and are NEVER disappointed. Everything - from the moment you arrive - is always impeccable: Service, location, cleanliness, extraordinary spa, decor, food... We are native San Diegans, and pretty spoiled at our own hometown resorts; however, this is our favorite getaway when a stay-cation is in order! Their spa is first-rate, and the glorious icing on their cake. You will NOT be disappointed at your experience here - not a better location on this coastline!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ldinsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed a fantastic weekend getaway. The staff was excellent throughout the entire facility (so friendly). The room was beautiful and nothing beats the sounds of the waves to let the stress roll off and into the ocean. Enjoyed a nice night cap at splashes with the ocean as a backdrop. Then, back again for lunch with crystal clear blue skies. It was a perfect getaway.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Brent P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
1.2 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
736 reviews
0.1 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
402 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
692 reviews
1.4 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#7 of 22 in Laguna Beach
305 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf & Sand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf & Sand Resort

Property: Surf & Sand Resort
Address: 1555 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-3299
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Laguna Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Surf & Sand Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surf & Sand Resort, a member of Preferred Hotels and Resorts Worldwide and holder of AAA’s Four-Diamond Award, lies on California's Laguna Beach shoreline where the waves of the Pacific meet 500 feet of pristine sand.All 151 guest rooms and 16 suites at Surf & Sand command spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean. The resort also houses Splashes Restaurant, featuring a Mediterranean-inspired coastal menu by Executive Chef Ron Fougeray; the intimate Aquaterra Spa; 10,000-square-feet of meeting space and wedding venues with stunning ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TravelUp, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Surf & Sand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Surf And Sand Hotel Laguna Beach
Surf And Sand Hotel
Surf Sand Hotel
Surf And Sand Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing