We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bruce & Carol”
Review of Surf & Sand Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Surf & Sand Resort
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Reviewed January 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a "Fantastic" week and loved every minute of it. From the minute we arrived we received the best service possible from the friendly well trained staff. The room was superb and very comfortable. The view from the balcony with the surf crashing in below us was the best, and the gorgeous sunsets and beautiful clear water with seals and sea birds practically at our feet are something we wll always remember. The food and service at the restaurant was exceptional. We'll definately be back!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,821)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,331 - 1,337 of 1,821 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2013

If you are looking for something that has everything: luxury accommodations, supurb service, amazing cuisine and breathtaking views of the ocean...you have found the place! I frequently stay in high end hotels for business but this one takes the cake! From beginning to end, the valet and front desk staff were genuinely welcoming. Our oceanside room was fantastic with a balcony to sit and enjoy the sunset. It had super comfortable beds with nice, clean linens. We fell asleep to the sound of the waves. Even housekeeping went above and beyond! Not only did they clean the room meticulously, but they organized our things. (not evasively, but efficiently) When we returned to our room we found our beds were lit up underneath; a small detail for ambiance that went over in a big way. We hung poolside every day. It's a beautiful setting overlooking the ocean with comfy chairs and a saltwater pool. The restaurant, Splashes, has amazing food with tables for seating inside or out. Check out the bar on the level below. Ken was our bartender. He went out of his way and had me taste three different chardonnay's until I found the style I preferred. In addition, he gave us recommendations of things to do and places to go in town. Unfortunately, we never got to try any of them. As it turned out, we were so impresssed with the resort, we never felt like leaving.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MBGZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surf_and_Sand_Resort, General Manager at Surf & Sand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your valuable feedback! We strive for excellence and am thrilled we delivered it to you during your last visit.

I will be sharing your comments with our team and we look forward to your next stay with us at Surf & Sand Resort!

Sincerely,
Joanna Bear
Assistant General Manager
Surf & Sand Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

It's not hidden but it is definitely a gem. I hadn't been to this property in quite some time so I was ecstatic to see the the room renovations that had taken place and how they rival any other luxury hotel in Southern California.

First off, you can't get this close to the water at any other luxury, or otherwise, hotel in the area. In a matter of seconds you can get from your room to the beach which is heavenly. All the rooms offer an unrivaled view of the Pacific Ocean. The bathrooms are utterly fantastic, the beds are ultra comfortable and the decor is stunning.

Secondly, there's really no reason to leave the property. Even though you're in the heart of Laguna Beach which offers multiple attractions, you have a choice of multiple venues on site. Splashes Restaurant offers breakfast, lunch or dinner. Splashes bar allows for surf side cocktails. You can head upstairs for some people watching at 15 Fifty Five and sit around the fire pits enjoying cocktail or grab a quick bite and/or coffee at the quaint Pacific Perk. There's also an inviting pool/spa deck area to lounge around if your tired of playing in the ocean.

Also, the front desk staff and concierge are very friendly and helpful. The front drive staff is amazing and very prompt and the you can really see the quality training shine through the entire staff.

I surprised my wife with a stay here for her birthday and she keeps talking about it. We frequent the nearby resorts as well, due to living nearby but have found our new "go-to" spot for Southern California. We look forward to our next visit soon as well as becoming barflies at Splashes and 15 Fifty Five.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martinitime999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I was able to stay here over a long-working weekend in Laguna Beach. The hotel is gorgeous and the staff, from the moment I checked in, was courteous, friendly, but not over bearing. I watched the dolphins every morning during coffee on the front balcony! I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

What a place! The location of Surf and Sand is beyond sublime. Couple that with the beautiful rooms, warm and professional staff, and overall exquisite ambiance- one of the best spots on earth! I have been to many 5 star hotels in my lifetime - this place is the total package. Wait until you see the sunset from your balcony! If you are looking to stay in an environment where you feel relaxed, spoiled and in total awe of Mother Nature - this is it!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wgjecrjv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We took advantage of the Black Friday special and had a wonderful stay. We always enjoy the Surf and Sand. The view is amazing, the service is excellent and the sound of the waves can't be beat!
In the summer they provide chairs and umbrellas on the beach, as well as food service on the beach.

Room Tip: The view is best from the Towers but those rooms are sometimes more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Our company has held two conferences a year for the past 30 years. Our attendees are highly educated, discerning professionals who look forward to coming to the Surf & Sand each year. Many come back during the year and bring their families for a holiday. The ocean views from beautifully appointed rooms are picture perfect. You actually hear the ocean waves crashing on the beach. The sunsets are breath taking. The Surf & Sand is large enough to accommodate large groups and small enough to have friendly, helpful staff. Many of the staff members have been with the Surf & Sand for several years. They take personal pride in their service to each guest. The conference rooms are elegantly decorated while providing modern, technical setups for professional presentations and personal electronic devices. The conference meals are outstanding in presentation, freshness and taste. Atmosphere and service are definitely five star!!

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
1.2 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#6 of 23 in Laguna Beach
834 reviews
0.1 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#4 of 23 in Laguna Beach
526 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#3 of 23 in Laguna Beach
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
1.4 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#5 of 23 in Laguna Beach
399 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
#2 of 23 in Laguna Beach
1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf & Sand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf & Sand Resort

Address: 1555 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-3299
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Laguna Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range: $362 - $823 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Surf & Sand Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surf & Sand Resort, a member of Preferred Hotels and Resorts Worldwide and holder of AAA’s Four-Diamond Award, lies on California's Laguna Beach shoreline where the waves of the Pacific meet 500 feet of pristine sand.All 151 guest rooms and 16 suites at Surf & Sand command spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean. The resort also houses Splashes Restaurant, featuring a Mediterranean-inspired coastal menu by Executive Chef Ron Fougeray; the intimate Aquaterra Spa; 10,000-square-feet of meeting space and wedding venues with stunning ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Preferred Hotels, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your Surf & Sand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Surf And Sand Hotel Laguna Beach
Surf And Sand Hotel
Surf Sand Hotel
Surf And Sand Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing