We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with gorgeous views!”
Review of Surf & Sand Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Surf & Sand Resort
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Reviewed October 3, 2012

If you're up for a splurge, invest it in an ocean front room. Stepping out on the balcony makes you feel like your steps away from the water. Also, I love being able to hear the lull of the ocean crashing when falling asleep.

As for desserts, wasn't very impressed.

Overall, this places earns four stars for location!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JosieJos6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,765)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,316 - 1,322 of 1,765 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2012

This place is disappointing more because it's so close to being a 5 star
hotel and given it's location it should be but for some reason someone in management
thinks the cool air breeze from the ocean is enough to warranty NOT having
air conditioning. The biggest disappointment is that you're paying for a
5 star hotel and getting 3 to 4 star accommodations. I couldn't imaging paying
$500 + and have no AC, this summer was hot and the waves crashing
can get pretty loud at night.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stregis_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surf_and_Sand_Resort, General Manager at Surf & Sand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. I appreciate your positive comments
and also extend my sincere apologies for the inconveniences you experienced during
your recent stay. I understand your displeasure and appreciate you as a valued guest.

We make every effort at all times to make our guests comfortable during their stay; however, we
experienced an unusually warm summer in Laguna which made it difficult to achieve that goal.

I would certainly enjoy having you back as our guest when the weather is more
suitable to ensure a pleasant stay. Please feel free to contact me personally at 949-793-8054 when you find the time to revisit Surf & Sand so that you are able to fully enjoy the beach
environment for which we are known, and that your expectations are met.

Sincerely,

Joanna Bear
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

My wife and I spent the weekend recently for the wedding of our son who was married on their Catalina Deck. The hotel and facilites are amazing. It sits literally right on the beach with many amenities but the feel of a small boutique hotel. Steps to the beach for a long walk on the sand, or lounge by the pool with a view of the Pacific Ocean. The rooms are very nice. The food in Splashes REstaurant is very good, but my favorite place was the Splashes Bar. It is set a few feet above the sand with the waves crashing below; windows open, breezes coming through...it is fantastic!!! I live in southern OC and this feels like you are in Hawaii.

Room Tip: Bldg 3 rooms can be a little noisey as it is set above the pool. But the views are still fantastic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChiefPark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We just spent a night at this resort to celebrate our wedding anniversary (Myself, husband + baby). When they say Ocean View suite, they are not lying!! Our room was literally on the water! The balconies are right above the small beach and very, very close to the water; so much so that from the balcony you have the impression to be immersed! We found the room to be quite nice, even though there was no A/C. Now, it's common for beach resorts not to have A/C, but I must say that when you pay more than $ 700.00/night, you expect A/C. The alternative is to leave the windows open and the ocean gets very, very loud!!! We ordered room service from the Splash restaurant and it was good. Not to dye for, but good for a room service order. Also, it was served very quickly. For breakfast though, we ordered a fruit bowl and it tasted like onions. Someone in the kitchen either did not wash his hands after handling onions or didn't wash the knife. Something to consider. One thing that left me disappointed was the "Happy Hour" at the beach-view patio. The bar is a little trolley on wheels and the bar tender didn't know even the most basic drinks neither did she have the ingredients for them. Also, I know they have an open kitchen for oers d' ouvres, but any respectable (and non) respectable place would serve at least a bowl of nuts with a $ 15.00 - $ 18.00 drink. If they manage to organize a respectable Happy Hour, this place would get he 5 stars. Even without the A/C.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Javasab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We have stayed at this resort several times over the last 20+ years and continue to enjoy the view, service and its overall quality. Recognize that the nightly stay is very expensive, but the location cannot be beat as the property is right on the beach. One recommendation for the staff would be to increase the bed size to double queen rather than two doubles as it appears since our last stay the bed size was reduced. We received several recommendations for breakfast and dinners, all turned out fine.

Room Tip: Rooms in the tower are best, chose a low floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rollin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

My wife and I just went here for our 10 year anniversary. Unbelieveable place with exceptional service and views. If you're willing to spend the money you will not be disappointed. You are in walking distance of everything in Laguna including shopping, food and activities. Splashes restaurant has exceptional food for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The only negative I have for the resort is that the bar area is small. Even though it's literally on the beach, it can get crowded on the weekends. Other than that, it's a fantastic place.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Wanted to surprise my ailing mother with a seaside celebration of her 76th birthday. Andrew in reservations saw to it that we were accommodated with a very nice ADA equipped suite on the Tower side of the property. Thank you, Andrew!
Our beautiful seaside room was perfect. Stunning views of the ocean and soothing waves have left her with a treasured memory.
A note of thanks to fitness instructor, Tommy Bensen who so graciously held his Boot camp workout dispite the fact that I was the sole boot camper, inspirational!!
Housekeeping was so incredible in regard to my mother's limited ability to leave her suite. Did not get the name of the man and woman that attended to her the afternoon of September 1, but thank you!
Splashes dinner birthday celebration for the 14 of us was incredible! Food-exquisite, as usual.
We shall return for our next celebration!
xxx, L. Stratford

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spahh!girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
1.2 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#6 of 23 in Laguna Beach
825 reviews
0.1 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#5 of 23 in Laguna Beach
492 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#2 of 23 in Laguna Beach
903 reviews
1.4 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#3 of 23 in Laguna Beach
370 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
#4 of 23 in Laguna Beach
1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf & Sand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf & Sand Resort

Address: 1555 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-3299
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Laguna Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range: $398 - $771 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Surf & Sand Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surf & Sand Resort, a member of Preferred Hotels and Resorts Worldwide and holder of AAA’s Four-Diamond Award, lies on California's Laguna Beach shoreline where the waves of the Pacific meet 500 feet of pristine sand.All 151 guest rooms and 16 suites at Surf & Sand command spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean. The resort also houses Splashes Restaurant, featuring a Mediterranean-inspired coastal menu by Executive Chef Ron Fougeray; the intimate Aquaterra Spa; 10,000-square-feet of meeting space and wedding venues with stunning ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Surf & Sand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Surf And Sand Hotel Laguna Beach
Surf And Sand Hotel
Surf Sand Hotel
Surf And Sand Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing