We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Ocean Front Hotel!!”
Review of Surf & Sand Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Surf & Sand Resort
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Reviewed July 21, 2012

The Surf and Sand is one of the best hotels if you are looking to stay right on the water! The waves break right outside your room. It is is the closest you can get to the water in OC. The beach is beautiful and there is a good chance you will see whales and dolphins! Make sure to stay in the water front towers versus the pool view rooms. There is a huge difference. What a great place to stay!!

Room Tip: Choose the water front tower rooms versus the pool view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnG011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,731)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,316 - 1,322 of 1,731 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2012

The Surf And Sand Resort has been providing me with consistently great holidays for 25 years. This past visit was an opportunity to pull myself together after five major cancer surgeries in the past four years. No one bothered me, needed anything from me, just rest and relaxation. Perfectly comfotable for the solo traveler. Superb food and service. Despite all the plethora of nearby restaurants, it was challenging to not dine onsite every evening!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tradewind66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We (family of 4, 2 teenage kids) chose Laguna Beach as a place to rest up after a holiday on the east coast. We really liked the vibe of the area, relaxing, friendly people etc and were really pleased we'd stayed out of LA. We had a 2 bed suite for 4 nights. The in-room facilities were very good and being on the top floor, we had a great view over the ocean We enjoyed the noise of the surf and instead of using the kindly provided ear plugs, we opened the balcony doors and let the crashing sounds in. We all slept like babies. This is a good resort. It's well located so that you can walk out the door to the village (unlike Montage and Ritz Carlton) and its position right on the beach is enviable. We didn't make much use of the facilities, but the restaurant which we used once for both breakfast and dinner was very expensive. There are much better options outside the resort a short walk away. The staff were very good - our request for a day room on our last day due to a midnight flight was handled well and the valet car park was very efficient. We stayed monday through friday and so it wasn't very busy but on friday evening as the weekend started we got the impression that some facilities (pool, bar, restaurant) might struggle when the resort was full. Overall, we thought it was a bit expensive.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blah1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We moved from the Hotel Laguna to the Surf and sand, it was amazing and so were the staff. They took the time to show us a room and then when we booked they gave us rooms together!! All in all a Great experience and I would definately stay again!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LE52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed here for a conference, then extended our stay for the weekend. Our room was literally just above the waves crashing on the beach. It was a spectacular view, albiet a bit noisy. If I go again, I would ask for a room higher up. The staff was helpful and the food with the conference was excellent. There was a nice manager reception on Friday evening. Splashes Bar and Restaurant also have spectacular views, but a bit pricey. Paid $23 for a glass of champagne and a white wine at the bar. I'll submit a separate review for the restaurant. Our room was nicely appointed, but they are aging a bit. There is no air conditioning in the room. The bathroom was very small and the shower awkward. So, all in all, it was a nice stay.

Room Tip: Higher Floors will help reduce surf noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Another great visit for our family at Surf & Sand where we have come many times over the last ten years. We love the place: fantastic location right on the beach; you can hear the waves pounding, disconcerting sometimes in the middle of the night, yet oddly soothing as well. There are many families in July/August and our kids always found friends with whom to hang out in the waves or the great pool.
The rooms are reasonably priced considering the amazing ocean view; the service is friendly, pleasant and efficient. Cocktail hours at Sunset is priceless. Splashes offers a great range of healthy interesting food which pleases everyone. There is another ocean view from every table; the only drawback is that you may need to speak a bit louder to cover the sound of he waves.

Room Tip: Every room has an ocean view; we like the lower floors as they are closer to the waves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gaby P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

The hotel was wonderful and tasteful. Everyone was especially attentive and pleasant. The food and service was wonderful in the resort restaurant Splashes where we had dinner and breakfast twice overlooking the beach. Our room was right over the beach (surfview) on the 2nd floor in the Towers, which we prefered to the slightly larger and set back and above the beach in the "oceanview" rooms. The rooms bed faced the patio and we could see the ocean as soon as we opened our eyes. The pool area and bar is nice, though since we did not bring kids, the jacuzzi seemed too crowded and loud most of the day. This was my only complaint. Other than that, the resort was wonderful. The only vacation where there were no complaints at all.

Room Tip: oceanview and surfview....surfview is just above the beach and can be loud. oceanview is higher up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank muffinjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
1.2 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
801 reviews
0.1 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
459 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
821 reviews
1.4 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
339 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
#6 of 22 in Laguna Beach
1,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf & Sand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf & Sand Resort

Address: 1555 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-3299
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Laguna Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#8 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range: $407 - $771 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Surf & Sand Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surf & Sand Resort, a member of Preferred Hotels and Resorts Worldwide and holder of AAA’s Four-Diamond Award, lies on California's Laguna Beach shoreline where the waves of the Pacific meet 500 feet of pristine sand.All 151 guest rooms and 16 suites at Surf & Sand command spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean. The resort also houses Splashes Restaurant, featuring a Mediterranean-inspired coastal menu by Executive Chef Ron Fougeray; the intimate Aquaterra Spa; 10,000-square-feet of meeting space and wedding venues with stunning ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Surf & Sand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Surf And Sand Hotel Laguna Beach
Surf And Sand Hotel
Surf Sand Hotel
Surf And Sand Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing