We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location superb,rates exhorbitant!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Inn At Laguna Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Inn At Laguna Beach
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Location superb,rates exhorbitant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

A really lovely Inn, at the perfect spot in Laguna beach. Parking conveniently available in the garage under the hotel. If staying in Laguna, most everything is withing walking distance. No need to drive. If possible, go in July or August and spend an evening at the outdoor theatre on Laguna Canyon Road seeing the Pageant of the Masters. It is a spectacular theatre production of living art. Using a different theme each year, masters paintings are reproduced using live people. What a show!!! We have travelled on four different occasions from New York specifically to see this UNBELIEVABLE production. Each time we stayed at the Inn at Laguna Beach, although only for 2 evenings considering their rates. We have stayed at all their room levels including the small rooms overlooking the main street - I thought they were very cosy and the least expensive. Recommend early reservations as the summer months are sold out early. DON'T MISS LAGUNA BEACH AND ALL IT'S OFFERINGS DURING JULY AND AUGUST!

Room Tip: Rooms at pool level can be noisy. Small, but considerably less expensive, are the rooms located on...
See more room tips
Green Features: I am sure that by virtue of cost-saving, this hotel does the same as most others which is to ask you to use same sheets and towels as long as possible. They call this 'going green'. I am not opposed to maintaining the same sheets, but we enjoy changing towels daily.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meisie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peggy T, General Manager at The Inn At Laguna Beach, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Meisei2013

Thank you for your comments after your recent visit to The Inn at Laguna Beach. We agree with you that based on our location there is no need to get into a car, you can walk every where or take the Trolley. Whether it is the Pageant of the Masters or any of our other fine festivals there is much to do in the Summer.

Thank you so much for staying with us we truly appreciate your business, the next time you are in Laguna Beach please look me up so I can give you a warm welcome back.

Thank you
Peggy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    443
    172
    58
    18
    7
See reviews for
189
327
19
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

The Inn at Laguna Beach is just wonderful. I had the pleasure of staying at the Inn on July 3rd, and the experience exceeded my expectations. It's a boutique hotel perfectly located on the beach and within walking distance to shops and restaurants. So park your car in the basement and leave it there -- you won't need it. The staff is so friendly and accommodating, and the room I had was on the 4th floor with a balcony and an incredible view of the ocean. Really, I couldn't ask for anything more. If you are planning a stay in the Orange County area, look no further than this wonderful hotel!

Room Tip: Choose a high room with a balcony facing the ocean. Ask if room 424 or 306 is available. More expe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaraHKNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peggy T, General Manager at The Inn At Laguna Beach, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Sara HKNYC

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit to The Inn at Laguna Beach. You touched on one of our best attributes our location, with a 98 walk score we have one of the best locations in Laguna Beach. We are steps from the Ocean and a couple of blocks to the Village of Laguna, we are also within walking distance to many of the summer festivals.

We hope you return soon and you plan to stay longer than overnight. The next time you are visiting Laguna please look me up so I can give you a warm Laguna Beach welcome back.

Thank you
Peggy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

The rooms are small but manageable.
Our room had a very odd smell. Upon arrival I thought it was smoke, but it never went away so I think it was musty or mild. Our room was right outside the pool, so I'm not sure if that had anything to do with it. Not sure, but it was a big turn off. We asked for another room but, nothing was available. We would have left but it was July fourth weekend and most other places were sold out which is how we ended up at this hotel in the first place.
The pool is quite small and it didn't seem that clean, it had quite a bit of sand.in the bottom.
This place is dog friendly which is fine, we love dogs, but the two yappy dogs next door to us were a pain. They barked every time someone passed their door morning and night.
I wanted to like this place, but it was not cute or quaint as I had expected or hoped for it to be.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank P H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peggy T, General Manager at The Inn At Laguna Beach, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear P H

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit to The Inn at Laguna Beach, we learn from all comments both positive and negative as it is our hope to continuously improve our products and service. Please know if we would have had another room we would have moved you as we want to make sure everyone enjoys their stay.

I have reached out to you directly and I hope to hear from you. It is my hope you will return to Laguna Beach and specifically The Inn at Laguna Beach giving us the opportunity to create positive memories.

Thank you
Peggy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hailey, Idaho
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

The location made this vacation one of my favorites. We didn't drive for two days as we could easily walk everywhere, even with three children. Listening to the sounds of the waves every night as we went to bed was priceless. The rooms could use a touch-up (chunks out of the wall), but the beds were cozy and the bathroom was clean and spacious (appreciated the large shower).

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SVMom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peggy T, General Manager at The Inn At Laguna Beach, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear SVMom3

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit to The Inn at Laguna Beach. You touched on one of our greatest attributes, our location!! With our 98 walk score, one of the best for Laguna Beach hotels, we believe you can do so much without getting in your car. We are steps to Main Beach and a couple of blocks to the Village. We hope you and your family return and when you do please look me up so I can give you a warm Laguna Beach welcome back.

Thank you
Peggy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

Inn at Laguna Beach exceeds my expectations every time I visit. I return expecting the wonderful previous experience only to be delighted with new surprises.

By far the most noticeable of the improvements this year was the completion of the Heisler Park pathway and the new Life Guard Station at the lower edge of the hotel - WOW! It truly captivates the essence of artistic beachfront Laguna in design and functionality.

The Inn location, service, special touches - like the new iconic surfboard shower by the pool and the complimentary afternoon wine tasting on the rooftop bluff at the breath of the ocean - are just a few surprises that delighted my senses on this visit.

This is my 10 year old son's favorite place. We park the car and have direct access to the beach and do some REAL boogie boarding, stand up paddle board, play smash ball and run to the pool and hot tub. There is so much to do - every year we try something new.

This year we drove to Dana Point and took the Dolphin Safari boat ride and saw a hump back whale, dolphins and sea lions - must do! Take your Dramamine! That was a fun morning event. There was so much more to discover but we just truly never want to go anywhere else and get back as soon as we can.

Give Inn at Laguna Beach a try and stay at least 3 days or you will be disappointed to leave too soon!

Room Tip: Every room is different. Each time I've stayed I've had a different room. Village views ar...
See more room tips
Green Features: It is evident that this is part of the hotel's mission.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pkyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peggy T, General Manager at The Inn At Laguna Beach, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear pkyan

Thank you for your kind remarks regarding your last visit to The Inn. We certainly appreciate all comments as it helps us to continuously improve our service. i am so happy you liked the great work the City did on Heisler Path and the Lifeguard station, they truly were a great partner through the process of Construction.

It sounds like you were able to enjoy various water sports as well as Captain Dave's Dolphin Safari. We are so happy you had a great trip as this is one of the attractions we recommend.

Thank you again for your comments we look forward to your next visit

Peggy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

Last week my husband and I had the pleasure of staying at the Inn at Laguna Beach. If you are looking for somewhere with a fabulous location, beautiful, clean, comfortable and well-appointed rooms with air-conditioning and a ceiling fan and a most helpful and courteous staff, this is the place. The linens and bathrobes were quite lush and comfortable. Additional touches including afternoon wine and cookies, the morning newspaper with coffee and tea as well as a coffee maker in the room were quite enjoyable, and the terrace with the sight and sound of the ocean were a treat. All this allowed for a wonderful stay and I recommend this property without hesitation.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a terrace. If you would like one make sure to ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 957JoyceW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peggy T, General Manager at The Inn At Laguna Beach, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear 957JoyceW

Thank you for your kind remarks regarding your stay at The Inn. We are happy to see you and your husband had a "GREAT STAY" as that is what we strive for. You touched on many of our great attributes including our staff and our location. I am truly blessed to work with such a great team, everyone here really cares about each guest interaction and ensuring positive memories. Our location is one of the best in town, once you arrive there is no need to get back in a car as we are steps to Main Beach and a couple of blocks from the heart of the Village of Laguna.

We do hope you return soon, please look me up so I can give you a warm Laguna Beach welcome back.

Thank you
Peggy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

This hotel is excellent. It is right at the central beach. The rooms are clean and the staff very accommodating. A continental breakfast is included, served in the room or on the rooftop bar. A bonus is the famous Las Brisas high end restaurant right next door. They will also deliver to your room or to the rooftop bar. The pool is delightful. They close it early so there are no late night disturbances. Any room is delightful, but those poolside are not as private as those on higher floors. The area has tons of high end shops, and a variety of delicious restaurants, some quite affordable. We are returning in the fall.

Room Tip: The village facing rooms are less expensive, but there is nothing like having a room overlooking the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lagunaone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peggy T, General Manager at The Inn At Laguna Beach, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Lagunaone

Thank you for your kind remarks regarding your recent visit to The Inn. You touched on many of our great amenities and we could not agree with you more regarding our location. We believe we have one of the best in town as we are steps to Main Beach and a couple of blocks from the Village. I am happy that you were able to enjoy our breakfast, however, it is not included in the price of the room, there is an additional charge, but well worth it.

Thank you again for your comments we look forward to seeing you in the Fall.

Peggy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
1.1 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#8 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.3 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
0.9 mi away
Crescent Bay Inn
Crescent Bay Inn
#6 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn At Laguna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn At Laguna Beach

Property: The Inn At Laguna Beach
Address: 211 North Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-1820
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Laguna Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn At Laguna Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Top 5 rated Laguna Beach hotel on Tripadvisor / Top 10 Gayot rated boutique hotel in Orange County, CA. The Inn at Laguna Beach is located in the heart of Laguna Beach, perched on a bluff overlooking the Pacific Ocean. The Inn just completed an extensive renovation in 2012 and features brand new guest rooms, pool area, and meeting rooms. Some of the in room amenities are Pillow Top Mattresses, iPod/iPhone docks, 32 inch HDTVs, Central A/C, Starbucks In-Room Coffee, COMPLIMENTARY WIRELESS INTERNET AND NIGHTLY WINE RECEPTION WITH FRESHLY BAKED COOKIES IN THE LOBBY. Our outdoor pool and Jacuzzi is open and heated year round, and we provide complimentary beach amenities. The Inn at Laguna Beach is a beachfront property and features direct beach access. The Inn is centrally located within short walking distance to downtown Laguna Beach with over 100 boutique shops and restaurants. Heisler Park, along with many World class art galleries and the Laguna Art Museum are just steps from the hotel. For day trip options, Los Angeles and San Diego are 1 hour away, 30 minutes to theme parks such as Disneyland, Knotts Berry Farm, and Legoland. One hour to theme parks such as Universal Studios and SeaWorld. Newport Beach to the North and Dana Point to the South are 10 minutes away and from there you can catch a ferry to Catalina Island. LAX is 40 miles, and John Wayne is 15 miles away from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your The Inn At Laguna Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Laguna Beach Hotel Laguna Beach
Hotel Laguna Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing