We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding stay in Laguna Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn At Laguna Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Inn At Laguna Beach to your Saves list
The Inn At Laguna Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   211 North Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
GALentine's Day Package!
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Vernon, B.C.
Level Contributor
449 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Outstanding stay in Laguna Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I was in southern California for work and i brought my wife down for a little R&R. We have teenage boys so she deserves a break from them! Anyway, I chose the Inn at Laguna Beach and we were not disappointed.

The location of the Inn is second to none. It is located right on the Pacific Ocean - the Pacific Coast Highway is to the East of us. You are only 3 blocks away from "downtown" Laguna Beach - with all of its quaint shops and restaurants. Laguna Beach is a great get away place which i highly recommend to anyone.

The Inn itself is small and casual. The King sized bed was super comfy and the wireless worked perfectly. We had a balcony over looking the Pacific Ocean and we heard the crashing waves all day and night. The front lobby service was excellent and so was the free tea/coffee and wine tastings (between 5 and 6). However, my favourite thing was the rooftop terrace. We could sit out there, enjoy a meal and/or bevy or two - and watch all of the happenings on the beach. We watched the Superbowl from the rooftop terrace because they brought out a tv onto the deck. Amazing. THe price of our room was close to $300. If it was closer to $200, I would have given this a 5 star rating.

I would definitely recommend the Inn at Laguna Beach.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silverwoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peggy T, General Manager at The Inn At Laguna Beach, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Silverwoods

Thank you so much for your review, we welcome all comments as we want to improve our product and services. We like to boost that we have the best walking score in Laguna Beach, at 98, so I am pleased you highlighted our location.

We hope you will visit Laguna Beach again as it is a great year round destination with differennt things to offer depending on the time of year. The next time you are at the Inn please do look me up as I would love to give you a warm Laguna Beach welcome.

Thank you
Peggy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

First off - awesome location! Though we rented a car for our weekend in Laguna Beach, the location of the Inn was fantastic. It's near all kinds of shopping and restaurants and it's right on the beach. We had a very nice, spacious King room with Ocean View Deck. Terrific. Yes, this is an older property, but I think the owners have done a really good job updating the rooms. The front desk staff were very welcoming and helpful. And the pool water was literally like bath water! So nice :-) The only two things I think could be improved is (a) having some kind of drinks service available while laying by the pool and (b) I think the room corridors are about ready to have new carpeting and possibly new wallcovering. It's not terrible, but they don't look as good as the rooms. All in all, though, I would definitely recommend the Inn to friends.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KEinSF01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jacinto, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

The only good thing about this hotel was the view. When we checked out on Sunday and got home I realized that I had left my make up mirror behind. A very big make up mirror that spins and magnifys and lights up. I called and left a message the very next day, and didn't hear back from anyone. I called again a week later and finally talked to the man in charge of house keeping. Nothing was noted in their inventory, my mirror was just gone..... this mirror was big and bulky nothing you can just stick in your purse and walk away with. I called and left a message for the general manager, when I didn't hear from her after a week, I called back and her excuse was "Oh I thought that the head of house keeping had taken care of this problem".....Really??? My mirror cost over $60, I could handle if it got thrown away on accident, and I hate to accuse anyone of stealing but come on, there was NO communication. They kept calling me by the wrong name and when I asked for an itemized ledger it took days to get emailed to me. We spent 3 nights there, I expected better service than what I got. They ended up sending me another mirror from Bed Bath and Beyond. Its just unsettling to think that something so big went missing, what about something that could just be looked over and not caught right away. When its time to make your decision choose differently, even if you have to spend a little more, it will be worth it when your stuff doesn't go missing.

Room Tip: Ask about any construction, they were building a new lifeguard station right next door which made a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brandi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
183 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here, our room faced the beach, it was clean and fresh, recently updated and had a perfect balcony with the perfect view of the beach. We were within walking distance of art galleries, shops and many cafes, afew steps from the Laguna Art Museum, very close to everything the town has to offer. The hotel has no restaurant. No free breakfast. Prepare yourself for hotel parking, which costs an additional $30 per day and if you want their Express Breakfast which consists of coffee and cold baking for two (nothing gluten free for my celiac husband) it will set you back $15.00! Our room faced the ocean so we paid a premium price, there is a pedestrian walkway between the notel and the beach but it was far enough away that it wasn't invasive. I don't know what the noise is like for those facing the highway. We'll be saving our pennies to stay here next time we come to Laguna.

Room Tip: Ocean facing rooms are fantastic, at a premium price, be prepared to hear the crashing waves!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roadrunnergo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peggy T, General Manager at The Inn At Laguna Beach, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Roadrunnergo

Thank you for you review reagrading your recent stay. Feedback is very important to the Hotel as it is a positive way to assess our guests needs, I am sorry that we were not able to accomodate your husband who has celiac on this stay. The next time you visit please let the Front Desk or Reservations know about your husbands condition and we will purchase a gluetin free muffin so you and your husband can enjoy coffee and muffins on the balcony over looking the Pacific Ocean.

Thank you again for you review please look me up the next time you stay at the Inn at Laguna Beach as I would love to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
98 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I live in another part of California, 3 blocks from the beach and hear the surf every night. My room at the Inn was almost on the beach and the sound of the waves from that close was like a lullaby! My room (412) had a terrific view of the ocean, some rocks and the coast. Price was very reasonable (it was mid-week, January). The room was comfortable and bathroom spacious. I'd definitely go back.

Room Tip: Get a room on the 4th or 5th floor facing the ocean. I imagine that the street-facing rooms are a v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mblaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
122 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

A wonderfully updated hotel that has perhaps the ultimate location in Laguan Beach. While some of the other hotels in the area match some of the exceptional services, no one is right in the heart of Laguna Beach and city. Everything you need to see, every restaurant, all are just minutes away by walking. The room was very nice and the view...spectacular! The roof top bar with their free wine tasting at sunset was unbelievable. The hotel does not have a full service restaurant; however, there are literally 15 excellent choices from various price ranges within a 10 minute walk of the hotel. One is only 50 feet away. They gave us a nice surprise for our anniversary. The staff were great. We will definately stay here again. Almost didn't want to list this one because we want to save it for ourselves. You will love it.

Room Tip: Ocean view King is amazing. Starbucks coffee in the room...and if you do not want to make it, Starb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Melvmfa212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

From entry into the lobby to service, to parking and comfort all-around, this is an amazing value. I feel my entire stay was like a fine massage for my senses. A perfect location from the 'heart' of Laguna Beach to walk or bike. I loved that the hotel parking was entirely free. I was made to feel at home, only better our entire stay.

Room Tip: We did not have the oceanview room but really never missed it. The access from the third floor was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank myraleb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peggy T, General Manager at The Inn At Laguna Beach, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Myraleb

Thank you for your wonderful comments. I am very happy that your senses got a massage, that is something we all need from time to time. We want all of our guest to feel like this is there home away from home and in your case we accomplished our goal.

The next time you stay at the Inn at Laguna Beach, please look me up as I would love to give you a warm Laguna Beach welcome back.

Thank you again we look forward to seeing you in the future
Peggy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 148 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
1.8 mi away
Casa Laguna Inn & Spa
Casa Laguna Inn & Spa
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#9 of 22 in Laguna Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 398 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
The Ranch at Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 61 reviews
0.9 mi away
Crescent Bay Inn
Crescent Bay Inn
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn At Laguna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn At Laguna Beach

Address: 211 North Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Laguna Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Laguna Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn At Laguna Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Top 5 rated Laguna Beach hotel on Tripadvisor / Top 10 Gayot rated boutique hotel in Orange County, CA. The Inn at Laguna Beach is located in the heart of Laguna Beach, perched on a bluff overlooking the Pacific Ocean. The Inn just completed an extensive renovation in 2012 and features brand new guest rooms, pool area, and meeting rooms. Some of the in room amenities are Pillow Top Mattresses, iPod/iPhone docks, 32 inch HDTVs, Central A/C, Starbucks In-Room Coffee, COMPLIMENTARY WIRELESS INTERNET AND NIGHTLY WINE RECEPTION WITH FRESHLY BAKED COOKIES IN THE LOBBY. Our outdoor pool and Jacuzzi is open and heated year round, and we provide complimentary beach amenities. The Inn at Laguna Beach is a beachfront property and features direct beach access. The Inn is centrally located within short walking distance to downtown Laguna Beach with over 100 boutique shops and restaurants. Heisler Park, along with many World class art galleries and the Laguna Art Museum are just steps from the hotel. For day trip options, Los Angeles and San Diego are 1 hour away, 30 minutes to theme parks such as Disneyland, Knotts Berry Farm, and Legoland. One hour to theme parks such as Universal Studios and SeaWorld. Newport Beach to the North and Dana Point to the South are 10 minutes away and from there you can catch a ferry to Catalina Island. LAX is 40 miles, and John Wayne is 15 miles away from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Inn At Laguna Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Laguna Beach Hotel Laguna Beach
Hotel Laguna Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing