We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lousy service”
Review of Laguna Beach Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Laguna Beach Lodge
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
“lousy service”
Reviewed September 15, 2009

i stayed at this hotel because it was one of the cheapest hotels i could find in Laguna Beach.

i made my reservation through their web site, with a quoted rate of $144.00. my e-mail confirmation from their reservation system said "The designated amount includes all service charges and the statutory value added tax."

upon checkout, they charged my card over $160, which included tax on top of the $144. i noticed this after the front desk person ran my card and i looked up my e-mail confirmation on my phone and showed it to her. she said she'd "look into it" and i told her i'd discuss it with them when i returned later that day. i returned later in the evening and the front desk person had no idea what i was talking about (nobody checked into anything, left a note, or anything of the sort). he gave me the manager's number and i called the next day to talk to the front desk person again. she refunded my card the difference, but was resistant and told me she'd do it "this one time only," as if i was asking her for a favor.

both desk people acknowledged that this was a problem on their site and both treated me like it was my fault and i was asking them to do something special for me.

on top of everything else, upon check-in, i was met with a stare-down, along with a "what is up with your hair?" comment as my greeting to their hotel by the same desk person who processed my checkout. this is because my hair was dyed a couple of different colors. Orange County is conservative, but customer service people should reserve their judgments.

in summary, this is a good value compared to most hotels in the area, but the service is lousy. and the rooms are very run down. nothing says "class" like art work that is nailed to the wall, a crappy goose bowl glued to the bathroom counter and a broken sign on the bathroom mirror that indicates that they "account for their towels" (like i was going to steal one).

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laswfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    233
    121
    48
    40
See reviews for
207
187
38
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
LONDON
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2009

This was by far the most expensive hotel we stayed at during our recent road trip (including 4 star hotels) and the most disapointing. The courtyards looked very alluring at first and the room seemed ok - , but the bathroom was particularly tired with mucky old grouting and fixtures, and a very noisy fridge hummed all night. The breakfast was disgusting SO lazy and low quality. Plastic packed everything - v. cheap quality muffins and croissants, and nasty orange juice. Even the kids couldn't stomach it, which is very unusual. They wanted to use the pool but when they saw how full of insects and leaves it was, they changed their mind. We also had to eat by the pool, which is directly next to highway 1 and very noisy. When we checked out, the receptionist carried on with her very personal telephone call, and in front of the children said ' I told him [--] you and he said [--] you' etc. The hotel requests customer reviews on trip advisor - so here it is!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FAMILYUKLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Laguna Beach hotels

California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2009

I thought the rooms very spacious and elegant feeling, with beautiful grounds. BUT the best part is the direct access to the beautiful grounds at the Montage without paying the big bucks. I've never spent any time in South Laguna, as I prefer to be closer in, but the free shuttle running often and the quiet area, and beauty made it fantastic! THe generous continental breakfast was very helpful, for not having to dash out to buy breakfast first thing, and the nearby restaurants were tasty and very reasonable.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingmary53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London/Worcs
Level 6 Contributor
491 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2009

The Inn is situationed around a lovely tropical garden with a swimming pool in the middle. Room with two double beds was spacious. Plenty of towels in the bathroom though the shower was a disappointment. Water literally tricked out. Ended up having to rinse my hair in sink! Car parking and internet is free and the free trolley bus into downtown was much appreciated. Continental breakfast was adequate. Didn't have time to use the pool but it did look inviting.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TraLonW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, CA
1 review
Reviewed August 22, 2009

We recently enjoyed several relaxing days at the Inn. The grounds are very lush, lending a tropical air to the surroundings. The rooms were adequate in size and clean - with very comfy beds. Best two things - price and location. Just across the street from a lovely protected beach cove and easy access to the rest of Laguna by using the free summertime shuttle. I would recommend it to others on a budget.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank t18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, England
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2009

a more affordable option a little way out of the main part of town, fine if you have a car. We liked it here as it was quieter than the main area and easy to park your car. The hotel is opposite the Montage Resort and the walk through the resort down to the beach is lovely. The beach there is also nice, again not as busy as the beach on the main street.
Albertsons is nearly next door which is useful.
We had an issue with our shower not working and we got moved to a nicer bigger room straight away with no problem. Breakfast was included and was fine for us, ate this outside and enjoyed the weather.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fsba20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ca
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed June 20, 2009

The lady at the front desk at first came off as though she was brash but as time went by it really wasn't the case. Her knowledge of local restaurants though seemed weak, maybe she isn't from the area or has only been there a short time. We stayed there last year too and she wasn't working there then so maybe thats the case.

The hotel is very nice and very reasonable considering you are in Laguna Beach. Across the street there is the Montage Resort which provides and maintains a beautiful park like area that is perfect for a morning walk. There is also a nice ramp leading down to the beach so you don't have to worry about alot of stairs.

The room we had was a deluxe oceanview room that was very comfortable and cozy, the perfect place to go after a day on the beach. They have a cozy pool area that is surrounded by lush landscaping and has a very tropical feel to it, they also have a jacuzzi.
Yes the beakfast was a bit weak, nothing more than a "carb fest" with pre-packaged bagels and pastries and oatmeal along with orange juice bottles and coffee. I'd suggest bringing some milk, a box of cereal and some fruit which is something that they had last year as an option.
The internet as noted by someone else was slow, it was much better though if you use an ethernet cable directly to the wall instead of wireless.

I would recomend this place to just about anyone of any level of wealth. But if you are rich you are likely staying across the street at the Montage anyways at a minimum of $600 per night for their most basic room to $6,000 a night for a 4 BR suite.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bensdad5150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
1.5 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
421 reviews
2.0 mi away
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
2.5 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Crescent Bay Inn
Crescent Bay Inn
#8 of 22 in Laguna Beach
438 reviews
1.3 mi away
Seaside Laguna Inn & Suites
Seaside Laguna Inn & Suites
#17 of 22 in Laguna Beach
140 reviews
2.8 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#7 of 22 in Laguna Beach
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Beach Lodge

Property: Laguna Beach Lodge
Address: 30806 Coast Hwy, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-4222 (Formerly Travelodge Laguna Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Laguna Beach Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against the stunning backdrop of Laguna Beach, a classic 1950s Southern California Motor Lodge is reborn as a comfortable boutique hotel.The Laguna Beach Lodge offers outstanding value: free parking, complimentary breakfast and attractive rates.Ideally situated and perfect for families, we capture the spirit of Laguna and make it all affordable, convenient, and fun.•A short walk to Treasure Island Beach.•Summertime trolley service from our front door to Laguna's village.•Free Wifi.•Bright, cheerful, and fresh Laguna Beach hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Laguna Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Laguna Beach Hotel Laguna Beach
Laguna Reef Hotel
Laguna Reef Motel
Best Western Laguna Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing