We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Best thing is close to excellent beaches” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Laguna Beach Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Laguna Beach Lodge
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
spain
Level Contributor
90 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Best thing is close to excellent beaches”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

The rooms a little dated and its about a 10 minute drive south from the main laguna beach centre and nothing much in terms of restaurants within walking distance. Heated small pool. Just over the main highway is a very nice walk down to the beach which is very well looked after, just 5 mins from hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank markr27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher W, General Manager at Laguna Beach Lodge, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your recent visit. We are happy to know that you enjoyed our location. We do have several restaurants within walking distance; La Sirena, Starfish, and O Fine Japanese Cuisine are all within a 5 minute walk of us. The beaches just across the road are regarded as some of Laguna's most beautiful beaches so we are pleased you were able to experience them. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon!!

Sincerely,
Christopher Wylie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    200
    115
    48
    40
See reviews for
178
158
32
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ventura, CA
Level Contributor
244 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This used to be the Laguna Reef Inn. They cut back a lot of the greenery and maybe dabbed a little paint but otherwise it has not changed much. This motel is just off the coast highway near a small shopping center. It is across the street from the Montage so the location is pretty good. The lobby is clean bright, stark. The staff semi friendly. The walkway to the second floor room shows the age of the hotel with broken or cracked steps and an undulating sidewalk from multiple layers of concrete. Don't get me wrong. It is safe and quirky. The room is a large King bed, through the wall air, ancient TV in a wicker cabinet, nice microwave and small fridge int heir own area and a small but tidy bathroom. The carpet is clean save a few spots. The bed is clean with velour blankets but lots of pillows. The shower is a bit cramped but workable with nice pressure. The TV is aweful. Fuzzy and very poor reception. But then we came for the beach not TV and the beach is just steps away.

I like this place. It is not the Hyatt and not for everyone. It is big and roomy and clean with a comfortable bed. Go for it.

Room Tip: The front room have a view but get the sun and are hot in the afternoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CWS55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher W, General Manager at Laguna Beach Lodge, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thanks you for taking the time to review your visit with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit with us. You are correct in saying that we are an older property and are actively working on replacing some of the older furniture and items in the rooms. We do have a great housekeeping and maintenance teams that make sure you are able to enjoy your stay to the fullest. Thank you again for the feedback!

Sincerely,
Christopher Wylie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This place is clean and upgraded with a beautiful view of the ocean from the patio/pool area. It has been updated very tastefully, with lots of character. Personnel were friendly and helpful during the day - HOWEVER - the Sunday night we stayed there were some loud, noisy revelers outside their rooms but inside the courtyard area, from approximately 11:30 pm until 4:30 am. The night DESK MANAGER NEVER DID ANYTHING ABOUT IT. He should have called the police, at least. we talked with other guests across the courtyard in the morning and theywere kept awake during the night with doors slamming. It is unthinkable that a manager would let this sort of thing happen. It is an other wise nice place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkSchwartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher W, General Manager at Laguna Beach Lodge, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience here with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations while staying with us. Furthermore, on behalf of all of the staff here I do want to apologize that you were not able to get a restful night of sleep due to other guest's actions. It is inexcusable that this was not dealt with and I will follow up with staff to use this as a training opportunity to prevent this from happening in the future. Thank you again for providing your very valuable feedback and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,

Christopher Wylie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
2.0 mi away
Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
2.5 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 653 reviews
1.4 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#8 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,017 reviews
1.3 mi away
Seaside Laguna Inn & Suites
Seaside Laguna Inn & Suites
#19 of 22 in Laguna Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 114 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Tides Laguna Beach
The Tides Laguna Beach
#10 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Beach Lodge

Property: Laguna Beach Lodge
Address: 30806 Coast Hwy, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-4222 (Formerly Travelodge Laguna Beach)
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Laguna Beach
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Laguna Beach Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set against the stunning backdrop of Laguna Beach, a classic 1950s Southern California Motor Lodge is reborn as a comfortable boutique hotel.The Laguna Beach Lodge offers outstanding value: free parking, complimentary breakfast and attractive rates.Ideally situated and perfect for families, we capture the spirit of Laguna and make it all affordable, convenient, and fun.•A short walk to Treasure Island Beach.•Summertime trolley service from our front door to Laguna's village.•Free Wifi.•Bright, cheerful, and fresh Laguna Beach hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Laguna Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Laguna Beach Hotel Laguna Beach
Laguna Reef Hotel
Laguna Reef Motel
Best Western Laguna Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing