We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good property for the location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Laguna Brisas Hotel
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
New York City
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good property for the location”
Reviewed March 1, 2007

I've actually stayed at the BW Laguna Brisas on several occasions. The staff is always pleasant and helpful if there are any issues.
The location of the Hotel is great, and the free underground parking is very helpful too. There are many shops and restaurants within 10 minutes walking distance.
I've only stayed in Partial Ocean View rooms - best are on the 3rd or 4th floors. The balcony is very nice to have - you can relax and watch the ocean.
Yes indeed, the Laguna Brisas faces PCH, and it can be busy and a bit noisy at times, but I've never found this to be an overwhelming problem, particularly later at night when there really is not a lot of traffic. I much prefer to have an Ocean View and Balcony than an interior room.
The Jacuzzi Tub in the Deluxe Rooms is very nice & the Hotel provides some nice bath beads, etc. All of the rooms I've stayed in have had mini fridges, which is extremely nice to have.
The rooms have always been very clean & maid service is very good. Management does a pretty good job of keeping the hotel in good condition.
The only problem I have had on each visit has been with the wireless internet connection. It has always been a problem on the higher floors. During my last stay, I had to eventually move down to a first floor room because the wireless internet just would not work on the 3rd or 4th floors. On another visit, I was forced to take a table down in the lobby near the coffee machine to work on my laptop because no other rooms were available. The Front Desk staff were extremely helpful and gracious and suggested I can work from the Lobby, so I did so.
Overall, the Laguna Brisas is a very good property - however, if you depend on your laptop and wireless internet to conduct business while you are away, then it is best to stay elsewhere.

  • Liked — nice clean, comfortable rooms, good location
  • Disliked — Internet access is a problem in many rooms
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank rickatnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    254
    107
    58
    44
See reviews for
180
311
42
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2007

We actually weren't expecting much because of the other reviews on trip advisor, however we were very happy with our stay. We were looking for a nice hotel for a getaway--we only live about 10 minutes from Laguna. The staff was very friendly-we had requested a quiet room on the fourth floor, with a king bed. They gave us a room with two queen beds, so we went down and asked for a different room. They said that the only room for the same price range would be on the first floor-facing the street. We were not happy with this, and asked to talk to the manager. The manager found us a room on the fourth floor-while it was facing the street-it was also facing the ocean (partial view). We loved it. The jacuzzi tub is absolutely AMAZING. The room was VERY clean, and all the rooms have flat screen tvs. We could not have asked for anything more. The room was facing the street, and we stayed on a Friday night, but we were not bothered at all by the noise. We also did not encounter any bad odors or anything, and the bed was reasonably comfortable. We are DEFINETELY GOING BACK!!!! The continental breakfast was alright. Not the greatest, but not the worst. Take food up to the fourth floor, where there is open seating on the balcony.

I would not stay here if:
1. you are looking for a full ocean view (b/c most rooms do not face the oceans, and the ones that do
2. a five star hotel with the amenities of one.
3. being next to the main laguna beach-the beach that is 99 steps away is very small (but pretty pleasant)

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
6 Thank IrvineCaligirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2006

We had a difficult time booking a weekend in Laguna (Beach) and we were thrilled to find "availability" at the Best Western Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel. The prices were very reasonable at this hotel and seeing that, I decided to upgrade our room to a "partial ocean view" for $10 more. This probably was the mistake that made the weekend a dismal failure. The Best Western Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel is across the street from the ocean. This translates a room with a partial ocean view being right above Pacific Coast Highway, the main road going through Laguna Beach. Don't be fooled, this is a very noisy road and it doesn't slow down until the wee hours of the morning. This made a sound and restful sleep impossible. Forget sleeping in! The rooms were spacious (yes), but the bathroom sink is located in the main bedroom chamber. I mention this because a ridiculous wall hairdryer is located next to a large bathroom mirror which reflects its illumination all night. There is no way to unplug the hairdryer or turn off the light. This makes the light, cast of the mirror, quite annoying... IT IS impossible for the room to get dark (like sleeping with a headlight on in your room!). I assume this hairdryer is in all rooms, even if you don't have the upgrade.
The staff was pleasant, the parking is decent. The walk to restaurants is fine. The morning free breakfast was worth skipping and paying for a breakfast down the street.
Knowing what I know now, I should have waited two more weekends and booked in the location I originally wanted to stay in.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank jdb44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2006

This was my second stay here, the location is great for me - as it is close to what nightlife there is in Laguna Beach on an easy drive to where my business meetings are located. It is a moderately priced spa hotel and the rooms are large and include a whirlpool tub. I was surprised to learn that the hotel charged my credit card (which was given as a guarantee, not a deposit) well before my arrival. As far as the facilities, on the PRO side, free parking in the hotel garage, 24 hour front desk, nice large deck with pool, hot tub and lots of lounge chairs on the roof for some great sun. Large rooms, with moderate size bathrooms, nice toiletries, plenty of towels. On the CON side, the wireless internet is spotty and not dependable, also my cell phone would only work on the roof of the hotel as it sets in a dip, the rooms do not have mini-refrigerators which is something I like as it's nice to have a place to chill a bottle of wine or some sodas. The thing that really bothered me was the nasty odor in the bathroom, it just did not smell clean. Other than that for the money this place is a good value. Oh, the upper floors are kind of a maze and it can be difficult to find your room as they are kind of set back in alcoves, there are lots of stairs but they also have an elevator. Upper floors may be difficult for wheelchair occupants to access. ($107 + tax for a queen).

  • Liked — Roof top terrace and pool
  • Disliked — Poor wireless and cell phone reception
  • Tips/Secrets — If you plan on using your cell phone get a room on the top floor
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank RandT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.f.
1 review
Reviewed September 23, 2006

The Jacuzzi tub in the room takes a bit of effort to get into, but is well worth it. The tubs may be difficult for elderly or less agile to access. If at all possible, try to book a room on the 4th level in order to get the best sunlight into your room and a view of the ocean. The rooms on the top level also get better air so the rooms smell fresher. I have tried rooms in 3 of the levels and the top floor is by far the best. The hotel has an intimate feel to it and doesnt feel overwhelming. This also gives you better access to the hotel features and staff. Most of the the staff are very willing to help you enjoy your stay, with the exception of one person that I had a bad experience with. You can always deal with management, and they are more accomodating.

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
Thank cali7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 17, 2006

Date September 11, 2006
Reviewer Corona, CA

My wife and I had a great time at this hotel stayed 2 nights. Just a perfect hotel/spot for a weekend getaway. Yes 99 steps to the beach, but the beach is small and if high tide is in and you do not mind getting wet go for it. Also close enough to walk down town plenty of shops- bars and good restaurants to choose from.
Rooms are nice stayed in 104 1st floor king non-smoking w/whirlpool. Rooms are clean and just remodeled. Nice pool area, also they have a large upper deck that goes around the hotel on the 3rd floor for sun tanning or just sitting and relaxing under the umbrella's. Already planning to go back.

  • Liked — Plasma tv
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank prdpol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2006

The price of the Best Western in Laguna Beach was about $350 per night. Since this is summer season we expected to pay a premium, but not for a standard Best Western room.

We were disappointed in the continental breakfast because the food was not fresh.

Helpful?
2 Thank Pat15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
1.3 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Crescent Bay Inn
Crescent Bay Inn
#7 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
1.5 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#8 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Casa del Camino
La Casa del Camino
#10 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Brisas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Brisas Hotel

Property: Laguna Brisas Hotel
Address: 1600 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-3262 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel)
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Laguna Brisas Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"99 Steps to the Beach..." The alluring tranquility of the infinite Pacific will envelope your senses as you relax and rejuvenate in one of our fully air-conditioned rooms featuring beautifully appointed furnishings and 32-inch flat screen LCD Televisions. Immerse yourself in the warmth of the sun while gazing towards Catalina Island and the ocean's expanse from our scenic rooftop terrace followed by a soothing swim in the sparkling outdoor pool. Let your mind drift while your dreams soar. Complimentary high-speed Internet! Complimentary hot buffet breakfast! From a romantic getaway to a family vacation to the refined services for the business traveler, the Laguna Brisas Hotel is your perfect destination. From the moment you enter the lobby, you will be greeted with friendly smiles and the superior service one would expect from such a special location. Laguna Brisas is located above the crystal waters of the blue Pacific at the corner of Bluebird Canyon and South Coast Highway. Parking fee $20 USD per night; one parking spot allowed per room. Enjoy your moment at the Laguna Brisas Hotel today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Best Western, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Laguna Brisas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Laguna Brisas Hotel Laguna Beach
Best Western Laguna Beach
Laguna Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing