We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average at best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Laguna Brisas Hotel
Ranked #15 of 23 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 6, 2014

My family had just one night to spend in Laguna Beach, and we searched and searched for a beachside hotel that had decent reviews and that didn't cost $500 a night. We settled on the Best Western. The good things: its a "99 step" walk to a wonderful beach, they provide towels/chairs/beach toys, have free wi-fi, free breakfast and convenient free parking. The room was clean. We ate breakfast from a lovely sky deck with a nice view. The disappointments: the room is tiny, dark and very dated. The beds were low and saggy. Our "shower" was actually a 1980's sunken tub that was retrofitted as a shower! Very cheesy. I know it's a beach location, but there were constantly tiny ants in our bathroom. The front desk staff was not particularly friendly. Anywhere other than Laguna Beach, this "motel" would cost $69 a night!
The lowdown, if you have your heart set on a nice stay in Laguna Beach, bite the bullet and stay and Surf and Sand. If you are merely looking for a room to sleep in, you can stay at the Best Western for about $200 a night. Someone smart should buy this property and renovate and turn it into something special! It's a great location with plenty of potential.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room and they will put you away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hany K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose2244, Manager at Laguna Brisas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We will continue to offer affordable accommodations as compared to the competition. We will continue to strive for 100% guest satisfaction. Happy travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (751)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

371 - 377 of 751 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2014

This is an affordable version of a nice Laguna Beach hotel. It is well appointed with pool, jacuzzi, breakfast, in-room spa bath. I wouldn't call the room spacious, but it was a decent size. Everything was updated and clean. Although not exactly downtown, I liked the location. There were plenty of restaurants, galleries, and the beach all within walking distance. My only complaint, and it's not really the hotel's fault, is that we opted for the ocean-facing room, and we did have a bit of a view, but the noise was so loud coming off PCH that the balcony was almost unuseable. We would go up to the 4th floor deck to relax outside instead. So consider that before paying more for the oceanside. This breakfast, like many of these free hotel breakfasts now, was handy and serviceable, but not much more. The staff was attentive and helpful. I loved the decor of the property, it made the stay seem much more private and stylish than many mid-range hotel/motel locations. Also, parking was free and easily accessed which is no small thing in Laguna.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Coast Highway side are noisy, but may have an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArizonaDawna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose2244, Manager at Laguna Brisas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

I am ecstatic that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will continue to train our employees to give the best service possible to ensure an enjoyable stay for all our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Overall, hotel was cute, clean, spacious rooms, comfortable beds, convenient,/free parking, and nice & helpful staff. Walk to town was a little far from the main beach and downtown area, breakfast was somewhat lacking particularly in area of fresh fruit and pastries, and pool was a little small.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose2244, Owner at Laguna Brisas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

We will keep working on our shortcomings to ensure an enjoyable stay for our deserving guests. Travel safe and hope to see you in Laguna Beach again and again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Very comfortable room with a great spa to relax in after a day of walking about Laguna. Clean, perfect location, and the friendliest staff. Parking was steps from the lobby and convenient. I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank TeresaT T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose2244, Manager at Laguna Brisas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We will continue to train our employees and work on our shortcomings. After all the only reason we are here is to ensure a quality stay for you,,,, our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

At check in we could not use the bathroom until we verified we would be checking in as bathrooms are only for guests. The front desk staff were dressed like you would find at a truck stop hotel not a 300 dollar a night hotel. The staff acted is if it was a bother someone had come in, not as though they were welcoming a guest to relax. It seemed to me they did not like their job and it reflected in the way they treat you and make you feel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank 927jeffc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose2244, Manager at Laguna Brisas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Obviously this is not the way we would like to be remembered. We will surly look into your comments and take corrective action. We will continue to train our staff to be of service to all our guests and continue to work on our shortcomings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

I'm going to get the "bad" out of the way first:
This was my boyfriend and I's second stay in Laguna, and we booked this room from Expedia. Bad idea. The way the hotel is designed, there are rooms at the main level, and you work your way up to the rooftop. I believe there are 4 levels total. We had gotten a hotel right on the MAIN level. You walk into the lobby and you are three steps away from your room... There's not much privacy getting to your room OR in your room. Because we were on the main level (the hotel is right on the main highway) you can literally poke people's feet and have a conversation with them when you're on your patio and people are walking past you. You can't open up your blinds because of this. Our room was dark and didn't get much fresh air during our three days. Because our room faced the highway and was on the main street level, we lost privacy and the sound was very loud during the day and at night.
However...
Despite all of that, the hotel is clean and accommodating and there's a pool and in-room Jacuzzi tub that we enjoyed. The hotel offers a delicious complementary breakfast, and the parking is multi-level underground (safe and out of the sun). The hotel itself is located across the street from the beach, but that's something we already knew before hand. The room we had was large, but the room location was a very big downside to our stay, unfortunately.
My best advice is to call the hotel directly to inquire about a nicer room not facing the street.

Room Tip: This hotel is located on the Coast Highway. Get a room away from the street and NOT on the first lev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose2244, Manager at Laguna Brisas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

We will continue to improve incrementally. We appreciate your comments which will be shared with the staff. We will strive for 100% guest satisfaction because the only reason we are here is to ensure a pleasant stay for all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

The bad: Bed are horribly worn out. Toilets don't flush well. Hairdryer old and weak. THICK layer of dust under dresser cabinet. The good: Breakfast was really good. Property appearance is nice. Decor in room is nice. Near the beach.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Henry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose2244, Manager at Laguna Brisas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

We appreciate the good comments and certainly will look into the bad ones. We are a work in progress and constantly are looking at ways on how to improve. Thank you for pointing out some deficiencies. They will be addressed. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
0.8 mi away
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
0.2 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#5 of 23 in Laguna Beach
491 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#6 of 23 in Laguna Beach
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#3 of 23 in Laguna Beach
370 reviews
0 mi away
Seaside Laguna Inn & Suites
Seaside Laguna Inn & Suites
#18 of 23 in Laguna Beach
147 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Laguna Beach
Holiday Inn Laguna Beach
#12 of 23 in Laguna Beach
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Brisas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Brisas Hotel

Address: 1600 S Coast Hwy, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-3262 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range: $83 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Laguna Brisas Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"99 Steps to the Beach..." The alluring tranquility of the infinite Pacific will envelope your senses as you relax and rejuvenate in one of our fully air-conditioned rooms featuring beautifully appointed furnishings and 32-inch flat screen LCD Televisions. Immerse yourself in the warmth of the sun while gazing towards Catalina Island and the ocean's expanse from our scenic rooftop terrace followed by a soothing swim in the sparkling outdoor pool. Let your mind drift while your dreams soar. Complimentary high-speed Internet! Complimentary hot buffet breakfast! From a romantic getaway to a family vacation to the refined services for the business traveler, the Laguna Brisas Hotel is your perfect destination. From the moment you enter the lobby, you will be greeted with friendly smiles and the superior service one would expect from such a special location. Laguna Brisas is located above the crystal waters of the blue Pacific at the corner of Bluebird Canyon and South Coast Highway. Parking fee $20 USD per night; one parking spot allowed per room. Enjoy your moment at the Laguna Brisas Hotel today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Laguna Brisas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Laguna Brisas Hotel Laguna Beach
Best Western Laguna Beach
Laguna Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing