We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room, good view and great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Laguna Brisas Hotel
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed here due to its location, which is right on PCH. The hotel has an undercover parking which is convenient and the staff was helpful. We booked a deluxe queen room (which was on the 2nd floor) and it was very spacious with a spa bath in the bedroom, with a balcony and great view. However, it is right on the busy highway so it was a little noisy when the windows/door were open.

Room Tip: If you are not interested in the view, ask for a room on the back side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rankinml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsg92651, Director of Sales at Laguna Brisas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Your comments are very much appreciated! Additionally, some guest upgrade to a Premium room on the third floor which removes them further from any traffic noise and still provides a balcony and a partial ocean view as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (747)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

509 - 515 of 747 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2013

We stayed there on our way down the coast and found it very easily as it is located along the PCH. The hotel had an undercover parking which was convenient and the staff was helpful.
We booked a deluxe queen room (which was on the 2nd floor) and although it was very spacious with a spa bath in the lounge room (!!!) the balcony and outlook was right on the busy highway making it quite impossible to open the window door as it was too noisy. Breakfast was very average in a dark room, the only highlight was a waffle maker apart from that the food was below average. The pool and common terrace/sun deck area was nice though.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back or at least not on the highway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lomo78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsg92651, Director of Sales at Laguna Brisas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Thank you for your comments! For those who prefer not to people watch from their private balconies, we suggest one of our rooms on the other side of the hotel. While they do not offer a private balcony, yu will not be on the highway /beach side. Your breakfast comments are alos appreciated. We are currently trying a variety of combinations to ensure we are serving up to our guest's expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I had to book this hotel at the last minute. The place looked inviting from the outside and it caught our eye from the beginning. However the intrigue was soon over. The front desk staff was not outwardly rude, but cold and impersonal. Te first thing that put us off was having to sign for extra keys(there were three of us) and told there was a replacement fee of $3 for lost keys. I do not think that has ever happened at a hotel and it seemed odd in such a nice town like Laguna Beach. So we had booked a room with two queens and the room was very small and very awkward. One of the things I thought was nice was the jetted tub in every room. It is in the room itself and not in the bathroom. It is huge and they squeeze it I to a corner of the room with walls all around it. It was treacherous to get in and out and I am relatively young and healthy. The tub did not relax me much as I had hoped. The road noise was very loud, it is located directly on the PCH so it is important to know to ask for a room off the street as we did not know that. The breakfast was free and only okay. Great to have the convenient parking, but I would have given it up for a better hotel.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank Lora M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsg92651, Director of Sales at Laguna Brisas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

It saddens us to hear of your recent stay at our beautiful Best Western property. Our rooms come in all shapes and sizes with any difference in price attributed to the amount of ocen view you will receive. Thank you for the mention of the complimenatry parking space, too. It really can save our guests $50 + per night compared to other hotels in the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I only checked in an hour ago, and already I'm baffled. Please keep in mind, I do have a disability and use a walker and/or cane to get around, so that's my perspective. The free underground parking was a nice thing to see when I first arrived. When I checked in, I got a free upgrade to a king suite with an ocean view. Sweet! I imagined it was because the room they were originally going to give me involved taking stairs to get to. Well, when I took the elevator to the second floor (with my walker) and turned to go to my room, I saw I had to go down five stairs to get there. Went back to the front desk to get another room. After a few minutes of getting settled in, I started to look for the thermostat but couldn't find it anywhere. Called the front desk feeling like an idiot. Apparently, the A/C unit is located UNDER THE ENORMOUS DESK placed in between it and the bed. While I can barely reach the knob, the warm and/or cool air is just hitting the bottom of the desk and taking a while to circulate throughout the room. And let me tell you how thrilled I am about the very loud noise coming from the street. I'm just praying the white noise app on my cell phone helps drown it out. Right now, the only positives to this room are the location and the price for that location.

Room Tip: Try to get an interior room on the 2nd floor to help drown out the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Spook55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsg92651, Director of Sales at Laguna Brisas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write regarding your recent experience. It is indeed a good idea to be specific on any request you may have prior to your arrival. Being a smaller, more intimate hotel, we do not always have many options to offer upon arrival but we do try to accommodate everyone as much as possible with any remaining rooms.

Please note that interior rooms are only available on the THIRD and fourth floor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Convenient to everything worth visiting in Laguna Beach but just outside of the congested traffic spots on PCH. Clean immaculate rooms decorated with a beachy feel, nice touch! Staff is friendly and knowledgeable which is more than I can say for most hotels in this area. Top floor outside of our suite had tables overlooking the water where we were able to watch an orange sunset over the Pacific. We've been here a few times for a romantic getaway and can't imagine going anywhere else.

Room Tip: Top floor suites overlook the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bbiststeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsg92651, Director of Sales at Laguna Brisas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Thank you so much for your beautiful review. We're so happy to hear you have found your special niche in paradise! The sunsets off the top floor Terrace Deck really are romantic, aren't they?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The rooms are nice size - the spa tub was great. The carpet in the hallways was bad and the artwork doesn't match. Some is old style and some is contemporary. Very odd. Nice free parking and wifi. The front lobby is so boring! The staff was great tho.
The pillows are wonderful but the bed was anything but wonderful.

Room Tip: ask for high room and ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nyegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsg92651, Director of Sales at Laguna Brisas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel. And thank you for your comments on our artwork. Yes, we do have an eclectic mix ensuring all of our guest have a taste of something pleasant to admire. We hope you found something interesting, too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

I recently stayed at the Best Western Plus Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel in Laguna Beach for work. It's a fantastic hotel and I would stay there again.

PROS:
Newly renovated rooms
Some rooms offer views of the Pacific (but with traffic noise)
Spa tubs in the rooms with free bath salts
Free underground parking (a rarity in Laguna Beach!)
Free breakfast with hot items such as waffles and eggs
Nice staff
Great toiletries, including a free mini bottle of Scope mouthwash
Close to downtown shops, galleries, and restaurants

CONS:
Finding your room can be a challenge, even with the map.
Thin walls (I combated that by leaving the fan on all night, which drowned out any noise)
I requested a "quiet room" on the 4th floor, which involved dragging my suitcase up a flight of about 15 stairs
There's no "spa" at the hotel, apart from the spa tubs

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank brezi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsg92651, Director of Sales at Laguna Brisas Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Thank yu for staying with us during your recent business trip to the Laguna Beach area. We appreciate you sharing your comments.And you are correct. The "Spa" in the hotel name is for the rooms having their very own private, oversized whirlpool spa for two!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
0.8 mi away
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
0.2 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
460 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#6 of 22 in Laguna Beach
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
346 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Laguna Beach
Holiday Inn Laguna Beach
#12 of 22 in Laguna Beach
524 reviews
2.1 mi away
Crescent Bay Inn
Crescent Bay Inn
#8 of 22 in Laguna Beach
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Brisas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Brisas Hotel

Address: 1600 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-3262 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range: $133 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Laguna Brisas Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"99 Steps to the Beach..." The alluring tranquility of the infinite Pacific will envelope your senses as you relax and rejuvenate in one of our fully air-conditioned rooms featuring beautifully appointed furnishings and 32-inch flat screen LCD Televisions. Immerse yourself in the warmth of the sun while gazing towards Catalina Island and the ocean's expanse from our scenic rooftop terrace followed by a soothing swim in the sparkling outdoor pool. Let your mind drift while your dreams soar. Complimentary high-speed Internet! Complimentary hot buffet breakfast! From a romantic getaway to a family vacation to the refined services for the business traveler, the Laguna Brisas Hotel is your perfect destination. From the moment you enter the lobby, you will be greeted with friendly smiles and the superior service one would expect from such a special location. Laguna Brisas is located above the crystal waters of the blue Pacific at the corner of Bluebird Canyon and South Coast Highway. Parking fee $20 USD per night; one parking spot allowed per room. Enjoy your moment at the Laguna Brisas Hotel today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Laguna Brisas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Laguna Brisas Hotel Laguna Beach
Best Western Laguna Beach
Laguna Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing