We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Laguna Brisas Hotel
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great location and friendly staff”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

I stayed at the Best Western in Laguna Beach for work and was very surprised and pleased with my accommodations. The hotel was an excellent value. My room had a huge spa-bathtub which was a delightful surprise. The continental breakfast was very well-stocked including a waffles you could pour yourself! There was a pool and hot tub for unwinding and you really are just steps from the ocean! Free wi-fi and parking is a major bonus. I was also able to extend my stay for a late check-out without any issues. It's also within walking distance to a wide variety of restaurants, art galleries, and shops.

My room was a little noisy (it's located on Pacific Coast Highway...and I could hear people in the hall - I was just down the way from the lobby) but overall, was really happy with my stay and would recommend to other travelers.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elliottd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsg92651, Director of Sales at Laguna Brisas Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for your kind and descriptive words! And we are glad you found our new breakfast enjoyable. I addition to the make your own waffles, we now offer hot eggs, sausage and other various items throughout the week. And of course there are always the bagels, yogart, fresh fruit and so much more!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    257
    107
    60
    46
See reviews for
184
316
42
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Discovery Bay, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Excellent location! We had nice walks to downtown and the main beach. Breakfast every morning was awesome and the deck was so relaxing with a view of the Ocean. Loved the huge Jacuzzi bath tub big enough for two! We also enjoyed the outside poolside Jacuzzi. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank koranges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsg92651, Director of Sales at Laguna Brisas Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us at our lovely property. It sounds like yuo found just what you were looking for...... Please come and stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Great location and excellent value. The breakfast was delicious and the wifi was quite reliable. Room was large and spacious. Bed was a little hard but mostly comfortable. Overall a great experience !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank LESLEY W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsg92651, Director of Sales at Laguna Brisas Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for taking a moment of your valuable time to comment on your great experience. Visit us again soon and spread the word! Thank you again, Lesley!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We paid a ridiculously low internet rate for our room, so we weren't surprised when we got the only room on our floor that didn't face the ocean and the people checking in immediately after us got a "free upgrade". The room was clean, spacious, and we loved the Jacuzzi tub. Staff was very friendly and breakfast was adequate. If we return, I will definitely inquire about a room on the 3rd or 4th floor--nice views of the ocean and more of a "resort" feel. The rooftop deck looked fabulous, but it was raining during our visit, so we didn't take advantage of it. If you're looking for a location close to downtown, there are hotels that are closer, but it is a pleasant 20-min. walk to the heart of Laguna Beach from this one. The only complaint is that we didn't sleep very well because of the hotel's proximity to Pacific Coast Highway. More than once during the night, we were awakened by loud vehicles, trucks, etc. If you want a great ocean view from this hotel, be prepared with earplugs!

Room Tip: Rooms on the 3rd and 4th floor have a "resort" feel with doors that open to the outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaliCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsg92651, Director of Sales at Laguna Brisas Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Yes, the rain can put a damper on relaxing moment on the beach, but with your very own in-room, oversized whirlpool spa for two, it can help ease away the stress as well! I am unsure why the guests next to you received a free upgrade, but it was most likely due to them being a valued Best Western Rewards member. We do everything we can to reward our loyal clientelle. I hope you will join in (for FREE) if you are are not already a member. Please give us a call today if we can assist. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vista, Ca
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel, at a great location, at an amazing price for Laguna Beach. Just walk across the street and a room will cost you around $500 a night. So this hotel is a great deal. Plus, the beach across the street is beautiful with wonderful tidepools. We had a king bed with a spa. The room was nice, the spa was great, the bed was very comfortable. The rooftop deck was pleasant with a pool, lots of tables, and lounge chairs. The only thing that could be improved are the linens, both the bedding and towels. Plus, the walls are a little thin. Nevertheless, we had a great experience here.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Paua60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsg92651, Director of Sales at Laguna Brisas Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you, Paul, for staying with us. And thank you for pointing ot some of the many wonderful amenities available at our beautiful hotel! Aren't the tidepools fascinating? And with the extremely low "King's Tide" going on right now, you can experience them even more. Please stay with us again soon and thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

The Best Western Las Brisas Spa is a basically Best Western with the added perk of having a whirlpool tub (which we did not use). We paid well over $200 for the night which was excessive given the level of accommodations.

When we arrived at our room, it reeked of marijuana. I felt like I was in a college dorm. Someone in an adjacent room was obviously smoking it and it seeped through our vent into our room. We called reception and they were very responsive and moved us immediately.

The room itself is well equipped but small. The unit has a circa 1980's motel wall heating and cooling system. Breakfast was not very good. There were powdered eggs and cereals, etc. I think I have just been spoiled by The Homewood and Ayers inns, and I need to remember that it is a Best Western. Overall, it was okay but I don't see myself returning unless I could scoop the room up on Hotwire for less than $75.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleBingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsg92651, Director of Sales at Laguna Brisas Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. It must have been a surprise to walk into a non-smoking hotel and smell marijuana! Because ther State of California does allow marijuana for medical usage, we cannot restrict those individuals from their medications but we DO ask that they step outside to do so. Thank you for bringing this particular matter do our attention during your stay as some people may not be so underatnding of other's health issues. As for the heating/AC unit, rather than have one temperature control for ALL rooms we do still opt for induividual thermostats in each room as we feel each person is unique in their temperature comfort. I am sorry you were unable to find something to your liking for breakfast. With the assortment of eggs, ham, sausage, fresh fruit, yogarts, toasts, bagels, make your own waffles, cerals and more, most folks are quite satisfied (and I assure you the eggs are not "powdered"...).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
403 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
1.3 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Crescent Bay Inn
Crescent Bay Inn
#8 of 22 in Laguna Beach
433 reviews
1.5 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#7 of 22 in Laguna Beach
306 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Tides Laguna Beach
The Tides Laguna Beach
#9 of 22 in Laguna Beach
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Brisas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Brisas Hotel

Property: Laguna Brisas Hotel
Address: 1600 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-3262 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Laguna Brisas Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"99 Steps to the Beach..." The alluring tranquility of the infinite Pacific will envelope your senses as you relax and rejuvenate in one of our fully air-conditioned rooms featuring beautifully appointed furnishings and 32-inch flat screen LCD Televisions. Immerse yourself in the warmth of the sun while gazing towards Catalina Island and the ocean's expanse from our scenic rooftop terrace followed by a soothing swim in the sparkling outdoor pool. Let your mind drift while your dreams soar. Complimentary high-speed Internet! Complimentary hot buffet breakfast! From a romantic getaway to a family vacation to the refined services for the business traveler, the Laguna Brisas Hotel is your perfect destination. From the moment you enter the lobby, you will be greeted with friendly smiles and the superior service one would expect from such a special location. Laguna Brisas is located above the crystal waters of the blue Pacific at the corner of Bluebird Canyon and South Coast Highway. Parking fee $20 USD per night; one parking spot allowed per room. Enjoy your moment at the Laguna Brisas Hotel today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Laguna Brisas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Laguna Brisas Hotel Laguna Beach
Best Western Laguna Beach
Laguna Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing