We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel at a great price!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Laguna Brisas Hotel
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Vista, Ca
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great hotel at a great price!”
Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel, at a great location, at an amazing price for Laguna Beach. Just walk across the street and a room will cost you around $500 a night. So this hotel is a great deal. Plus, the beach across the street is beautiful with wonderful tidepools. We had a king bed with a spa. The room was nice, the spa was great, the bed was very comfortable. The rooftop deck was pleasant with a pool, lots of tables, and lounge chairs. The only thing that could be improved are the linens, both the bedding and towels. Plus, the walls are a little thin. Nevertheless, we had a great experience here.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Paua60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsg92651, Director of Sales at Laguna Brisas Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you, Paul, for staying with us. And thank you for pointing ot some of the many wonderful amenities available at our beautiful hotel! Aren't the tidepools fascinating? And with the extremely low "King's Tide" going on right now, you can experience them even more. Please stay with us again soon and thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    254
    107
    58
    45
See reviews for
180
311
42
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Camarillo, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

The Best Western Las Brisas Spa is a basically Best Western with the added perk of having a whirlpool tub (which we did not use). We paid well over $200 for the night which was excessive given the level of accommodations.

When we arrived at our room, it reeked of marijuana. I felt like I was in a college dorm. Someone in an adjacent room was obviously smoking it and it seeped through our vent into our room. We called reception and they were very responsive and moved us immediately.

The room itself is well equipped but small. The unit has a circa 1980's motel wall heating and cooling system. Breakfast was not very good. There were powdered eggs and cereals, etc. I think I have just been spoiled by The Homewood and Ayers inns, and I need to remember that it is a Best Western. Overall, it was okay but I don't see myself returning unless I could scoop the room up on Hotwire for less than $75.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleBingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsg92651, Director of Sales at Laguna Brisas Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. It must have been a surprise to walk into a non-smoking hotel and smell marijuana! Because ther State of California does allow marijuana for medical usage, we cannot restrict those individuals from their medications but we DO ask that they step outside to do so. Thank you for bringing this particular matter do our attention during your stay as some people may not be so underatnding of other's health issues. As for the heating/AC unit, rather than have one temperature control for ALL rooms we do still opt for induividual thermostats in each room as we feel each person is unique in their temperature comfort. I am sorry you were unable to find something to your liking for breakfast. With the assortment of eggs, ham, sausage, fresh fruit, yogarts, toasts, bagels, make your own waffles, cerals and more, most folks are quite satisfied (and I assure you the eggs are not "powdered"...).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

EXCELLENT service from Nick at the front desk........had a "situation" and he personally came to our room. Consideration that I was in Laguna Beach area for a medical situation and walking about was not high on my priority list this gesture was greatly appreciated. His thoughtfulness carried throughout the week we were there. The main service, while accomplished each day by a different member, was attended to with great kindness. Including the lady in the breakfast room. Yet Nick was the STAR!
The only reason I did mark a 5 for the noise as some of the spectacular rooms face the main roadway. Just upgrade to a room with a balcony, watch the sun set prior to a relaxing Jacuzzi tub....awww Laguna Beach.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank leila n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsg92651, Director of Sales at Laguna Brisas Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
What nice things you have to say! I will be sure and pass on your comments to Nick, too. He is definitely one of our stars! You can always tell when someone has a job in the hospitality business for the right reasons. We hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

We had the spa king bedroom. The room was great and the spa one of the best i have seen. Very large and spacious. The ocean view to the see was very limited, although we were on the third floor. The deck was very pleasant and relaxing, but again, if you go for the view, this may not be the best place, as there is a row of not so nice buildings in front, which block it. It is a bit far from downtown, a very short ride, but better not do it on foot. Staff was very friendly. The arrangement of rooms and the architecture of the whole building is also very nice. Not the usual block.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kleopatra N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsg92651, Director of Sales at Laguna Brisas Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel. You are correct in that most of the third floor rooms do provide a PARTIAL ocean view and are sold as such. Ocean front rooms are available across the street however you can expect to pay abouth $300-500 more per night. We find that most people do not stay in their room anyway and prefer to use their savings to enjoy the great meals and wonderful art that Laguna Beach has to offer. Our rooftop deck, however, does provide a panoramic view of the beautiful horizon. And while we are surrounded by many restaurants, art galleries and eclectic shops, the hustle and bustle of Main Beach and the city center are 1 mile north. Most people prefer to unwind and walk, but others can certainly hop in their cars and go much quicker.

Thank you again and we hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights in December (the off season) . the hotel was very nice, very clean rooms, spacious, and the room we had was very quiet area. The breakfast was very nice (but it did not start until around 730 am which we felt was quite late as we were ready to eat at about 4am due to the time difference!). But we enjoyed the hotel and the area The hotel itself is a bit far of a walk to the center of town, but that was not an issue as we had a car rental and this time of year it was fairly quiet, so parking was not a problem.
Overall we would recommend this Hotel and would not hesitate staying here again.

Room Tip: Some rooms have the nice Balconies, but are on the busy road, so we opted for a room more at the bac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsg92651, Director of Sales at Laguna Brisas Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for spending some holiday time with us Chris! You mention the "off season", but with the contrinued promotion of the Sawdust Winter fantasy and other events, Laguna Beach has much more of a year round draw anymore. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
388 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
1.3 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Crescent Bay Inn
Crescent Bay Inn
#8 of 22 in Laguna Beach
430 reviews
1.5 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#7 of 22 in Laguna Beach
298 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Tides Laguna Beach
The Tides Laguna Beach
#9 of 22 in Laguna Beach
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laguna Brisas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Brisas Hotel

Property: Laguna Brisas Hotel
Address: 1600 South Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-3262 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Laguna Brisas Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"99 Steps to the Beach..." The alluring tranquility of the infinite Pacific will envelope your senses as you relax and rejuvenate in one of our fully air-conditioned rooms featuring beautifully appointed furnishings and 32-inch flat screen LCD Televisions. Immerse yourself in the warmth of the sun while gazing towards Catalina Island and the ocean's expanse from our scenic rooftop terrace followed by a soothing swim in the sparkling outdoor pool. Let your mind drift while your dreams soar. Complimentary high-speed Internet! Complimentary hot buffet breakfast! From a romantic getaway to a family vacation to the refined services for the business traveler, the Laguna Brisas Hotel is your perfect destination. From the moment you enter the lobby, you will be greeted with friendly smiles and the superior service one would expect from such a special location. Laguna Brisas is located above the crystal waters of the blue Pacific at the corner of Bluebird Canyon and South Coast Highway. Parking fee $20 USD per night; one parking spot allowed per room. Enjoy your moment at the Laguna Brisas Hotel today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Laguna Brisas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Laguna Brisas Hotel Laguna Beach
Best Western Laguna Beach
Laguna Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing