We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A Word of Warning” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Word of Warning”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

We had a nice stay here. The employees were helpful and friendly. The room, while nothing exceptional, was comfortable. The complimentary breakfast and free parking were a plus.

However, if you are of an age where arthritis is an issue, getting in and out of the shower in the large, raised spa tub could be challenging and perilous. We inquired at check-out and were told the only rooms with walk-in showers are the premium rooms and one room with only one queen size bed. If we stay here again, we'll be requesting one of those.

Room Tip: We liked our room on the third floor. It was convenient for the swimming pool and breakfast. Some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dvlvnv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsg92651, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for staying at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel! It is true that SOME of our Deluxe rooms have the combination spa tub/shower in the bath area, however the Deluxe rooms on the FRONT of the hotel on the 1st and 2nd floor actually have the spa tub SEPARATE in the bedroom area with a regular size tub with shower in the bathroom itself. You may want to request one of those next time. Premium rooms ALL have the separate spa tub. Addtionally, we do have accessible rooms as well that have a walk/roll in shower without the tub all together. We hope this helps!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    248
    102
    55
    45
See reviews for
175
304
42
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomfield Hills, MI
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Nice hotel. Not extravagant, but rooms were good size. I had a partial ocean view. A bit of street noice, but not bad. The only thing was that there was no fitness facility. Free breakfast everyday was nice. Overall, the hotel was nice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsg92651, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for staying with us, Michael. While we await the addition of a fitness room, discount tickets to a local gym are available at the front desk. We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mirada, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

My husband and I booked this hotel for an overnight get-away. We had a relaxing stay here. They have a really nice terrace with plenty of tables and chairs and lounge chairs with a view of the ocean. The pool was nice and refreshing. There is a short walk to the beach and the hotel provides towels, umbrellas and beach chairs. The in-room spa (very large) is an extra nice bonus. We had a nice corner room. Even though the hotel is on a very busy street, we didn't hear any traffic noise inside our room and were able to get an excellent night sleep. The breakfast was very nice with made-to-order waffles, scrambled eggs, fruit, pastries, cereals, and even my favorite Yoplait yougart. We will definately return here, but would like to stay two nights the next time we visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phyllis369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsg92651, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
How wonderful you were able to take advantage of some of the amenities offerred here at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas. It sounds like you had a marvelous time! We look forwardto your return for your two night stay. Did you know you can save eben more by staying THREE nights? Just a suggestion.......... : )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

Going to Laguna Beach to see The Pageant of the Masters and staying at the Best Western Plus was ideal. Once we got there, we were able to park our car and utilize the free summer shuttle for the entire visit. The rooms were very comfortable, except for the bathroom, which had no privacy. I went with a lady friend and it was a little strange not having a door to the shower area.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ksfry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsg92651, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank yo for selecting the BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas. Isn't the FREE parking great? For a more comfortable room situation, may I suggest our Deluxe or Premium accommodations in the front building? All will have a regular door closure unlike the swinging doors in the other deluxe units. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

We booked this hotel for 1 night during the Laguna Beach Pageant of the Masters. The hotel was full. We were given a parking tag for the garage when we checked in. The day manager told us there was a shuttle to the festival, but we drove. When we returned after the event, the parking garage was full! The hotel is right on t he coast highway. The night manager was very hostile, having just heard a complaint from another couple with no place to park. He told me that the $300. I had paid for one night did not guarantee me a parking spot, since some people "cheated" and brought more than one car. He told me I needed to park my car on the street (Coast Highway), and be sure to get up before 8 am and go out and feed the parking meters regularly. Later on, some people would leave and I could get a spot. His other suggestion was to walk the neighborhood and search for a spot, but watch out for no parking signs there. When I told him that was unacceptable, he finally went to the garage, moved some laundry carts and a wooden box, and told me to park in that no parking area. This experience ruined our stay and took over half an hour (by then it was midnight).Other than no parking, it was an okay place to stay, expecially for families since there was a breakfast in the am. The location was good, but for the price (high due to the event), the no parking hassle was not worth staying again!

Room Tip: Rooms right on the Coast Highway can be noisy! Don't bring a car unless you intend to leave it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roxygypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsg92651, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for your comments! It is truely unfortunate when someone uses more than the one space we offer with each room. While we do issue parking permits, locating the cars without them can sometimes lead to a dead end as we cannot traceit with only the one car registered. Charging for the parking spaces as most hotels do in Laguna Beach is one option to deter this kind of behavior, however we have thus far decided to keep it free as we see no reason to nickle and dime our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

Good location, great restaurant across the street "Mozambique" - quite reasonable. Good location. Comfortable room but ours had a bathroom with huge vanity but only one sink. Limited space for clothing storage. Loved the refrigerator for snacks and drinks. It was very comfortable, friendly, and we experienced good service. Our room had a whirlpool bath and it was SO worth it - very fun, refreshing and relaxing! All in all it was a great stay and we had a blast!

Room Tip: Bring your pillow if you don't like jumbo size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holdon3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsg92651, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
How wonderful you were able to break away from your beautiful Sedona and visit our lovely Laguna Beach. they are BOTH very special places, indeed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

stayed here just for 1 night while touring up hwy 1 hotel was very good, nice food close to road but didn't hear traffic! Nice little breakfast in the morning with hot bacon n egg (included). Close to beach which is fantastic and worth visiting.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tony l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsg92651, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Thank you for staying with us, Tony. We're glad you enjoyed our new complimentary hot breakfast buffet, too. We hope to see you back soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
0.7 mi away
Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
1.3 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#6 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
0.2 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#8 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
2.1 mi away
Crescent Bay Inn
Crescent Bay Inn
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Laguna Beach
Holiday Inn Laguna Beach
#12 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel
Address: 1600 S Coast Hwy, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-3262
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"99 Steps to the Beach..." The alluring tranquility of the infinite Pacific will envelope your senses as you relax and rejuvenate in one of our newly remodeled, fully air-conditioned rooms featuring large, oversized whirlpool spas for two, beautifully appointed new furnishings and new 32-inch flat screen LCD Televisions. Immerse yourself in the warmth of the sun while gazing towards Catalina Island and the ocean's expanse from our scenic rooftop terrace followed by a soothing swim in the sparkling outdoor pool. Let your mind drift while your dreams soar.Complimentary high-speed Internet! Complimentary buffet breakfast! From a romantic getaway to a family vacation to the refined services for the business traveler, the BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel is your perfect destination. From the moment you enter the lobby, you will be greeted with friendly smiles and the superior service one would expect from such a special location. Located above the crystal waters of the blue Pacific at the corner of Bluebird Canyon and South Coast Highway, each fully air conditioned room features a refrigerator, coffee/coffeemaker, iron/board, hair dryer, complimentary local and toll free calls and newspaper. Parking fee $10 USD per night. One parking spot allowed per room. Rooftop Terrace with panoramic views of the coastline, Catalina Island and the breathtaking colors of the sunset beyond. For the sun worshipper, the quiet and serene courtyard area features an outdoor heated swimming pool and spa. Enjoy your moment at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Laguna Brisas Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Laguna Brisas Hotel Laguna Beach
Best Western Laguna Beach
Laguna Beach Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing