We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved staying there”
Review of La Casa del Camino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Casa del Camino
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 21, 2009

My fiancé (32) and I (30) stayed at La Casa del Camino for two nights as part of our three-week California tour and we can definitely recommend it. The location is great - it's very close to a beatiful beach and close to shops and restaurants in Laguna. The rooftop lounge has a breathtaking view and we loved the small-dish menu in the hotel's own restaurant. The food was also excellent. However, it was really loud there - if you mind noise, you need to dine somewhere else.They had live music on the piano both nights in the lobby and the atmosphere was really fun and exciting. We chose a room in the basement which didn't have a view but was very spacious and had really beautiful, antique-looking furniture. Nicer than my own furniture at home, actually :-) I couldn't think of a better place to stay in Laguna and I'd come back any time.This review sounds almost too good to be true but it was really just like that.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanderlust4711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (665)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

593 - 599 of 665 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2009

I stayed at this hotel 9/6/09 to attend a wedding there. The employees @ front deskk were unorganized, didn't know anything about the wedding . The server in bar on top of bulding left with my cc card to "serve" at another part of the building. Bartender said to "go find her". Thats what I want to do is go look for my server. There's no ice machine , had to finad someone to get me ice.
The hotel & restaurant are seperate & don't communicate. Employees are very young & inexperienced with customer service issues. Owner isn't interested either.

Thank nimbski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2009

I arrived in Laguna on 08-28-09 for the Pageant of the Masters and was initially not intending to stay the night in Laguna. We called Casa Del Camino and the guy at the front desk said they had a king room available for $189.00 a night (that's cheap in Laguna). We walked into the lobby and were greeted by the person we talked with on the phone. He asked us if we wanted to see the room before we made our decision. He gave us the key and directed us to the room. The rooms are nothing fabulous, and this is an old hotel. But that's one of the wonderful experiences of this 1927 structure. You do get the feeling of an old Hollywood retreat here! After checking in, we went to the rooftop bar and had lunch and beers while sitting on the deck overlooking the ocean. The staff was great and attentive, and the patrons were friendly and laidback as well. Later in the evening we went to the bar located adjacent to the lobby for drinks. We ended up being the last two in the bar after awhile. The bartender was great and did not hurry us, even when it was closing time. The following mroning we decided to walk to the the beach. You literrally can walk out of the hotel and down the hill a few steps to the stairs leading to a beautiful beach. This was an overall great experience and the staff was awesome! We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlueSpartan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2009

Rent this expensive loft on pacific coast highway if you don't need: silverware for the kitchen, functioning ceiling lights, a phone, quiet from the blaring music in the business below you, a clean grill, a non-peeling deck and a responsive management. Never has so much been paid for so little.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lagunalover2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the La Casa to celebrate his birthday and Father's Day. I booked the Euro Suite for $200 a night. The couch was tattered, the refrigerator door had severe discoloring, no wash towels in room, ceiling fan did not work, and no covering on electrical outlet. The ironing board and iron are stored under the bed. How tacky is that? Lobby was crowded and very noisey.

One of the windows in our room would not stay up so one of the hotel employees came and propped the window up with a rolled up blanket. Tacky! On a previous review it was stated that the hotel had been upgraded. I would hate to have seen it before the upgrade. The only good thing about the hotel was the view and staff was friendly. I would never stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2009

Great location, lovely lobby with cozy fireplace and piano player, clean, clean, clean room! Nice matress, quality linens. Very pleasant staff. We were only there one night and hated to leave!! So much charm and so affordable. Our room was small but very comfortable and adequate. T'was a bit noisy at night, because that side of the hotel abuts a street that leads directly to the beach, but staff is so accomodating that they'll bend over backwards to make you happy! Appealing restaurant in-house (didn't try), and Internet access free in lobby. You truly can't go wrong with this one. A gem in the heart of the glorious Laguna Beach!

Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank RESTLESSAMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2009

Stayed here with 2 small kids plus extended family & friends
Breakfast good
Dinner very good - they have special deals early in the evening
Beware the piano playing entertainment - it was too loud

Alas our room had no info in it about what they offered eg beach towels, internet, food service times etc
They do offer a childrens' menu plus crayons etc but we only discovered this on the third day. Very annoying as we'd effectively been overcharged on the previous days plus the crayons kept the kids quiet.

Our room was nice and a reasonable size but the towel rails were in silly places eg not near the bath, over the loo etc

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fairmaiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#4 of 23 in Laguna Beach
526 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
1 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#6 of 23 in Laguna Beach
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#5 of 23 in Laguna Beach
399 reviews
0.9 mi away
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
#2 of 23 in Laguna Beach
1,138 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Tides Laguna Beach
The Tides Laguna Beach
#10 of 23 in Laguna Beach
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa del Camino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa del Camino

Address: 1289 S Coast Hwy, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-3115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range: $180 - $340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Casa del Camino 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a relaxing journey to the historic La Casa del Camino hotel located in fabulous, Laguna Beach! Walk along the surf as you explore the pristine beaches just outside of our hotel. Join us for hand crafted cocktails and a diverse menu at K'ya Bistro Bar and The Rooftop. You'll rest easy in eclectic and beautifully decorated guest rooms, join us for a lively happy hour, and take a swim in the marvelous Pacific Ocean. Included in a $16 resort fee, you'll have access to on-site parking, wireless internet, a daily breakfast buffet, and the nearby Art of Fitness Gym! Check-in is at 4:00 p.m. and check-out is at 11:30 a.m. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your La Casa del Camino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa Del Camino Hotel Laguna Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing