We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very dog friendly older hotel with gorgeous roof deck”
Review of La Casa del Camino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Casa del Camino
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2014

We got married at La Casa del Camino 15 years ago and came back for our anniversary this year. We brought our dog, so we had to have a first floor room which unfortunately has no view and was VERY NOISY due to an in room air conditioner. The hotel knew it was our anniversary and gave us a bottle of wine upon check-in..... very nice indeed. Despite this, we love the hotel for it's gorgeous roof top deck and the delicious breakfast. The people were very friendly and they provide chairs and an umbrella for the beach. The hotel is pricey for the small room, but everything in Laguna Beach is. All in all, we love this hotel and would come back.

Room Tip: Get a room on the higher floors if at all possible.
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JenRodes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaResortsInc, General Manager at La Casa del Camino, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all, congratulations on your 15 year anniversary again! It’s always a great pleasure to see guests who return to our hotel for their special day! We appreciate your feedback on the A/C unit and have since then resolved the issue with the noise. Thank you for celebrating your special day with us! We look forward to your next visit to La Casa del Camino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (613)
There are newer reviews for La Casa del Camino
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

306 - 312 of 613 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I love this hotel! It's dog friendly and so cute and clean! It's old, but clean and so cute! The restaurant is amazing so delish! We already have our next reservation scheduled!

They have access to a gym down the street free parking and they will bring a lounge chair down to the beach for you!!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Tiffany B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaResortsInc, General Manager at La Casa del Camino, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your most recent stay! We’re extremely delighted that you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to seeing you and your dog again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2014

Positive: they gave us a bottle of Chilean wine to celebrate our anniversary. Negative, smallest room ever, and i have travelled all over the world. Four stories down stairs to the beach. No wifi. Posting from my phone. Cannot work. Must leave. Sucks.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank QueenVictoria11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaResortsInc, General Manager at La Casa del Camino, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay. It’s disappointing that you were unable to fully enjoy your stay due to the size of the room and the issues you had with the wireless internet. We have looked into our wireless network since your stay and have enhanced the connectivity. We really hope that you choose to stay with us again on a future visit to Laguna Beach. We would love to have a second opportunity to impress you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2014

I've stayed here many times in the hotel and in the "Casita" which is the free standing house. The staff is super friendly.

I do only stay in the off season because it is very pricy in the summer. The rooms are cool though they are starting to show some signs of age. The beds are comfy the linens could be better.

The restaurant "Kai" is delicious and has a great happy hour. It's walking distance to everything AND right at the beach.

The lobby is very dark and cozy with a huge fireplace which is extra cool at Christmas.

Our family stayed several years in a row at Christmas, in the Casita which was super fun. It's big, has a full kitchen, two beds and baths. But the prices have gone up so we opted for another location this year.

All in all, it's perfect for a couple. Three could be tight in the rooms.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jennifer p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaResortsInc, General Manager at La Casa del Camino, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, it is always a pleasure to hear that our repeat guest enjoyed their time with us. I am sorry to hear that you are unable to stay with us in La Casita again for the holidays, we did recently completed a total remodel of the entire house and added a third bedroom. Next time you are in town please contact us so that you may stop in a see it, I think you will be pleasantly surprised!
Again thank you for your input we hope to see you again for the holidays this year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2014

Stayed a couple weeks ago, and although the room was small, we weren't in it long enough to matter. I just wish the lighting in it was better, it was too dim. A tasty breakfast in included. The beach is right there, and they provide towels, chairs and an umbrella. Perfect place to relax, not overcrowded. We'd stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leslie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaResortsInc, General Manager at La Casa del Camino, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us back in August. We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and you were able to enjoy some of our amenities such our wonderful breakfast. We look forward and appreciate all our guest feedback, so thank you for your input regarding the lighting.
It is great to hear that you plan on returning to our property for another visit in the future! Please do not hesitate to contact us directly so that we may help to personalize your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Stayed here for a friend's wedding and the rooms were small but the location and service were great. Rooftop bar is really nice and you can actually go up there and hang out after they have closed it down. If you want to go to the beach just tell the front desk and they will setup chairs and umbrellas.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David55711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaResortsInc, General Manager at La Casa del Camino, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your most recent stay for your friends wedding. We are truly pleased to hear that you had a great experience at our hotel and were able to enjoy some of our great amenities such as our Rooftop Lounge. We appreciate your kind words, and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2014

We go here every year. The rooms are small but the accommodations are nice. Your stay includes breakfast which is nice, eggs, meat, fruit, bread items, juice The beach is close and the hotel has a service that gives you chairs, towels and an umbrella. The free trolley stops across the street and it takes you all the way to the festival. It is a nice walk too. The resturant on the roof has a great view and the food is good.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaResortsInc, General Manager at La Casa del Camino, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2014

Thank you for your most recent post! Its' always a pleasure to hear that our repeat guest continue to enjoy all the amenities of our hotel and Laguna. We look forward to welcoming you back to our Casa in beautiful Laguna Beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
443 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
1.0 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#6 of 22 in Laguna Beach
327 reviews
0.9 mi away
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
1,092 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Laguna Beach
Holiday Inn Laguna Beach
#12 of 22 in Laguna Beach
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa del Camino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa del Camino

Address: 1289 S Coast Hwy, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-3115
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range: $194 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Casa del Camino 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a relaxing journey to the historic La Casa del Camino hotel located in fabulous, Laguna Beach! Walk along the surf as you explore the pristine beaches just outside of our hotel. Join us for hand crafted cocktails and a diverse menu at K'ya Bistro Bar and The Rooftop. You'll rest easy in eclectic and beautifully decorated guest rooms, join us for a lively happy hour, and take a swim in the marvelous Pacific Ocean. Included in a $16 resort fee, you'll have access to on-site parking, wireless internet, a daily breakfast buffet, and the nearby Art of Fitness Gym! Check-in is at 4:00 p.m. and check-out is at 11:30 a.m. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your La Casa del Camino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa Del Camino Hotel Laguna Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing