We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of La Casa del Camino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Casa del Camino
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
105 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed September 28, 2008

The hotel was built in 1929 so the room was small AND that is the way rooms were in 1929. The hotel was also spotless, tastefully refurbished and totally charming. When built, it was an icon of Laguna Beach and has much of that same tone today. We understand that the new owner lives on the property so it is obvious he is very hands on. The manager had just joined the staff when we visited. He is from several generations of hotel and restaurant ownership in South Africa. His old world, professional touch is also apparent.

ALL of the staff were friendly, cheerful and seemed to genuinely care that we had a wonderful vacation. Jessica, at the front desk, helped us find sight-seeing attractions and great restaurants and went through their menus giving us suggestions. Others behind the desk assisted us with beach chairs and towels. Our breakfast waitress, Daniela, from Romania, was great fun. Our evening waiter, Al, walked us through the menu suggesting items and when he discovered one of us was a vegetarian brought the chef to the table and we talked about several choices not on the menu. They prepared a Tofu Steak that was out of this world. The dining room is lively at dinner. Not noisy, but certainly with an energy about it. It is right on the sidewalk and, especially at breakfast and lunch, a great place to people watch. On the roof-top are tables and chairs where you can have lunch and look out over the Pacific. An hour before sundown, it gets very busy because of the incredible vista of the sun dropping into the sea. Awesome. Our favorite cocktail, "Stuff In A Glass." Suggested by a charming waitress with a huge smile. Raspberry vodka, crushed raspberries, pineapple juice and a fruit garnish. After dinner, sip a brandy on leather couches in the lobby. Fireplace and a brand new grand piano (which should have a pianist). The steps down to the beach are about 100 yards from the door.

We understand there are larger rooms with different views and next time we may try one. If friendliness and attentiveness of the staff are important to you, this is the place. If you like the nostalgia of a hotel that was an icon of Laguna Beach and want to feel appreciated, you will love La Casa del Camino.

  • Liked — Staff friendliness and efficiency
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoviemakerLasVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmenageAnaheim, Owner at La Casa del Camino, responded to this review, November 23, 2008
MoviemakerLasVegas,

Thank you for your kind words for La Casa del Camino... I will ensure all your great words get passed onto the team and assure you that we will only continue getting better!

Thank you for the business and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Regards,

La Casa del Camino...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    184
    63
    40
    33
See reviews for
67
327
27
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 8, 2008

My husband,and I stayed at the La Casa Del Camino for a total of five days over labor day weekend.The website looked very nice,and we had a wedding to attend in the area.
When we checked in the staff was very friendly,and helpful,but when we got to our room it was clean,but very old and small.The ironing board,and iron were under the bed!!
There was a wedding going on one night,and it sounded like elephants running upstairs,just awful!We paid alot of $$$$ to stay here,and I never would recommend it.plus the locals hanging out in the front of the hotel at night is very scary!! The only plus was the restuarant in the hotel!!Never again.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank caeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmenageAnaheim, Owner at La Casa del Camino, responded to this review, November 23, 2008
caeley,

I am sorry that you experienced what you did. The hotel was built in the late 20's and we tried to keep the "historical" look and feel of the hotel. Some of our rooms are smaller, however all of them are charming. I do hope you will give us another opportunity to improve on your experiences...

Regards,

La Casa del Camino...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2008

After trying to find a room at several other Laguna hotels we struck lucky with this one. We negotiated a great price on a king beach front room which was beautifully and tastefully appointed. The reception staff were outstanding. There's a great restaurant on the roof where we had lunch overlooking the beach. Free parking was across the road and beach towels/chairs were supplied. After returning from dinner in the town the restaurant in the hotel was full with lots of people around the bar. However, there was absolutley no noise in our room apart from the sound of the waves hitting the shore. Breakfast was not included in the price but we ate at a reasonable price in the hotel restaurant. I would definately stay here again.

  • Liked — location & quality of room
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Wilson080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmenageAnaheim, Owner at La Casa del Camino, responded to this review, November 23, 2008
Wilson080,

Thank you for your compliments about La Casa del Camino! I assure you the team will be happy to hear of your experiences and look forward to seeing you back in Laguna soon!

Regards,

La Casa del Camino...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hermosa beach, ca
1 review
Reviewed August 6, 2008

We had our wedding reception on the rooftop deck last week, and the view up there is absolutely amazing!! What better way to enjoy dinner to the sun setting over the ocean.

The rooftop deck seems like the happening night spot, and was always jam packed with plenty of trendy people.

It is a very charming hotel that is beautifully decorated, and there are always fresh flowers in the lobby. There are several couches so you can just people watch too.

We stayed at the hotel for the weekend in a deluxe room (#107). There wasn't an ocean view because we were on the ground floor, but the room did have hardwood floors, so our dog could stay with us. It was also convenient because it was right next to an exit door so we could take the dog out to do his thing!

The room itself was nicely decorated, and was spacious enough with desk, dresser, and armoire, a bench at the end of the bed, and also an adjustable full length mirror. The worst part about the room would be the bed--my back was killing me after the first night. You could feel the springs in the bed poking you in the back!!!

The service was pretty good too. The front desk was always helpful, but considering how small laguna beach is, everytime we asked them for directions somewhere, no one knew where anything was.

  • Liked — roof top deck
  • Disliked — the bed
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank noonie04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmenageAnaheim, Owner at La Casa del Camino, responded to this review, November 23, 2008
noonie04,

Congratulations! Thank you for your great review for La Casa del Camino! We pride ourselves on the service and assure you that we will continue making this a great spot for locals and tourists alike...

We look forward to seeing you soon!

Regards,

La Casa del Camino...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2008

Laguna's Casa del Camino Hotel has beautiful architecture, and a romantic roof top bar, and lobby. These however, did NOT make up for the fact that several things in the room were either broken, or shabby. The carpets smelled of mold, and were dirty and stained. The toilet seat was broken. The security lock on the door was stuck and would not work, leading to a embarrassing encounter of being walked in on while naked. I left feeling that this cute hotel was MUCH less than charming.

  • Liked — The roof-top bar, the architecture, the lobby
  • Disliked — The room, the broken lock on the door, the dirty carpets, the broken toilet seat, off-site parking
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler72008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
105 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2008

After a LONG week of business in Anaheim, I stayed here over the weekend before heading to Oregon on more business. The location is fantastic - can walk to just about whatever I needed or wanted to see or do...great beaches, diners, cafes, spa, bookstore, etc. The room was very small, but adequate. I left the windows open and could see and hear the ocean all day and night. Perfect serenity...except for when the active crowd was going up and down the stairs and halls to the rooftop bar. A young, good looking crowd always in the lobby and around the hotel. Speaking of young, I don't think I saw anyone over 35 on staff. But, they seemed very professional and willing to serve. The room was adequate for me - traveling alone. It would be tight quarters for two people, but that might be just fine for traveling couples. The bathroom was very nice...bright white tiles and walls and fixtures. Perfect with the ocean as a backdrop. Only complaint was the noise out my window at times. Both evenings, I heard someone rummaging through the dumpster for glass bottles. Seems they took over 30 minutes each time. It was a bit noisy. Walls are a little thin, but that's what you're going to get with an old-style hotel like this. It's been updated nicely. I'd recommend it to Gen X folks, looking to hang out at a place near the beach and that is active.

  • Liked — The energy ... and location.
  • Disliked — Noise.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jkarennj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2008

Against my better judgement , I booked a 3 night stay here instead of at the Inn at Laguna Beach. I stayed here about 10 years ago and remembered it as a quaint and quiet getaway. I wish I had shelled out the extra money for The Inn, because this place was awful.
The lobby and restaurant are quite charming, but that doesn't make up for the tiny, shabby room we stayed in. The first problem was that our room was on the same floor as the lobby (on the "2nd" floor--DO NOT take a room on the 2nd floor if they offer it to you) I asked for a different room but nothing else was available. We heard every noise from the lobby and even heard kitchen noise from the restaurant. At night when people want to go up to the rooftop deck, they congregate in the lobby. Combine that with people waiting to be seated at the restaurant, and you have Grand Central Station. We literally had drunk people yelling outside of our door late at night. I will say thank you to the front desk for clearing the people away from our doorway.
We had a "partial" ocean view, which consisted of a slice of water toward the horizon and a row of dumpsters underneath us.
The carpet was so disgustingly dirty, it looked as though it had never been cleaned. And the room smelled bad and musty to top it off.
If you are looking for a relaxing stay, do not stay here. If you want to party all night and not get any sleep, and you don't care about looking at dumpsters and walking on moldy carpet, then go for it.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank sistergoldenhair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
388 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
729 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#7 of 22 in Laguna Beach
298 reviews
0.9 mi away
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
1,068 reviews
1.9 mi away
Crescent Bay Inn
Crescent Bay Inn
#8 of 22 in Laguna Beach
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa del Camino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa del Camino

Property: La Casa del Camino
Address: 1289 S Coast Hwy, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-3115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Casa del Camino 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a relaxing journey to the historic La Casa del Camino hotel located in fabulous, Laguna Beach! Walk along the surf as you explore the pristine beaches just outside of our hotel. Join us for hand crafted cocktails and a diverse menu at K'ya Bistro Bar and The Rooftop. You'll rest easy in eclectic and beautifully decorated guest rooms, join us for a lively happy hour, and take a swim in the marvelous Pacific Ocean. Included in a $16 resort fee, you'll have access to on-site parking, wireless internet, a daily breakfast buffet, and the nearby Art of Fitness Gym! Check-in is at 4:00 p.m. and check-out is at 11:30 a.m. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your La Casa del Camino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa Del Camino Hotel Laguna Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing