We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of La Casa del Camino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Casa del Camino
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel numerous times while visiting CA and I am never disappointed. The rooms are small but very clean and up to date. Great roof bar and Resturant, the view is the best in Laguna! The staff are always more than willing to accomodate every need or want and are courteous and friendly. Location is vey covienient to all major locations and great Resturants.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank David d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaResortsInc, Guest Relations Manager at La Casa del Camino, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear David d,
We are so appreciative of your loyalty to our hotel! Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Warm Regards,
Charlotte, Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    184
    63
    40
    33
See reviews for
67
327
27
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
PALM SPRINGS, CA
Level Contributor
274 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel is perhaps one of the seediest in Laguna, although you would not expect it from their website nor the exterior of the building/lobby. Once you check in, you will wander through dark, musty hallways. The room we got was the most awful in the building. We bought this stay as an auction item at an event. When we complained that the room was so tight, you could not even walk around both sides of the bed and that the window a/c unit sounded like a 747 getting ready to taxi, the curse woman at the counter said "well this was a gift certificate"--I explained to her that yes it was but we paid $300.00 for it and got a $149.00 room...they would not move us and didn't care--we checked out as fast as lighting and went elsewhere. The bar on the roof was noisy until about 1:00 a.m. and children and teenagers ran amuck as though it was a frat house. WILL NEVER GO HERE OR RECCOMEND.

Room Tip: Surf and Sand, Inn at Laguna Beach or anywhere BUT HERE!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaResortsInc, Guest Relations Manager at La Casa del Camino, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear meanton,
We are quite surprised to hear our hotel referred to as "seedy"... this is certainly not an opinion we have heard before about our property. Regardless, we would like to let you know that since your stay last year we have repainted our lobby, hallways, staircases and restrooms. We have also remodeled our Rooftop Lounge and continue a rigorous maintenance schedule for all guest rooms and public spaces. I am sorry we could not remedy your complaints during your stay last October, We wish you happy future travels.
Sincerely,
Charlotte, Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Mirage, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We just spent three nights at this hotel to escape the heat of Rancho Mirage in August, and we couldn't be more pleased with our choice. The room was spacious, and beautifully appointed. The bathroom was "designer" quality with a walk-in shower and very stylish pebble and slate wall and floor finishes. The staff, from the front desk, to the housekeepers, to the restaurant folks, were all very accommodating and professional. The hot breakfast was much more varied and plentiful than we expected, and the setting reminded us of many hotel courtyards we have experienced in Europe. We stayed in the ocean view "Billabong Suite" this time, but plan to try out another of their ten surf suites on our next visit. The only downside to our room was that the Laguna trash collection trucks arrived way too early each morning. As we were sleeping with the windows open to enjoy both the cool ocean breezes and the sound of the surf, this early morning intrusion was not welcomed! Another major plus is that we were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go. With parking in Laguna being a bit of a problem in August, this was a major benefit.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for the ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirk P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Just back from a wonderful weekend stay. Everyone from the front desk folks, breakfast staff, and rooftop servers were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was delicious, plentiful, and the setting in the courtyard very charming. The location was perfect for beach going and shopping. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kellyfaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
so cal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

From the beautiful view of the rooftop lounge to the wonderful staff at La Casa del Camino, we felt spoiled and special for our girls' weekend. Our needs were met with professional and friendly attentiveness. The complimentary hot breakfast was quite delicious and plentiful, and sitting in the quaint courtyard to eat was very pleasant. It felt like we'd been transported a world away.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank funfollower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaResortsInc, Guest Relations Manager at La Casa del Camino, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear funfollower,
Thank you for your kind review of your recent girls get away! We hope you think of us again next time you visit this beautiful city :)
Warm Regards,
Charlotte, Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Wonderful location and services provided at this adorable and romantic hotel. Great escape for those coming from afar or for those who live close by. My husband and I live in Orange County but we wanted a romantic escape for our 8 year wedding anniversary. We came here and couldn't have asked for a better weekend. Great food at the hotel and when we wanted to get out, because of the perfect location we were able to walk everywhere. I highly recommend this beautiful boutique hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Momimijake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaResortsInc, Guest Relations Manager at La Casa del Camino, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Momimijake,
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed celebrating your anniversary with us! Thank you for your review and recommendation. We look forward to hearing from you next time you want to get away!
Warm Regards,
Charlotte, Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Studio City
1 review
Reviewed August 15, 2013

La Casa del Camino...where do I start? I was looking for a nice break from LA and saw the reviews on TripAdvisor. What a gem. If you're looking for any other place to stay, stop now. This is the ultimate beach resort. I feel like I am family here! Everyone was so nice and the service is impeccable. Beach chairs, towels, and water brought to you on a very private beach. Steps away and you are among amazing shops and boutiques. Just a quick jaunt to main beach, but why would you venture there with your own beach right here!? Excellent dining in the area. The rooftop lounge is amazing. Take your breakfast upstairs and witness a panoramic view of Laguna Beach. Oh, and best mojitos at the main bar. I checked out the other resorts too. And, have to say, this was the best decision. Clean...spotlessly so, for a clean freak. And so close to everything. Heck, jump on the city's free shuttle to anywhere in Laguna Beach.

Three words: I'll be back!

And Ivan, if you're reading this - you rock! The staff is great but Ivan deserves some kudos for being so great.

Best!
Ben

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Newbies11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaResortsInc, Guest Relations Manager at La Casa del Camino, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Ben,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay - We are so happy to hear about how much you enjoyed your time with us. Your compliments are greatly appreciated, and Ivan is thrilled to receive your public kudos :)
We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Warm Regards,
Charlotte, Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
388 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
729 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#7 of 22 in Laguna Beach
298 reviews
0.9 mi away
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
1,068 reviews
1.9 mi away
Crescent Bay Inn
Crescent Bay Inn
#8 of 22 in Laguna Beach
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa del Camino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa del Camino

Property: La Casa del Camino
Address: 1289 S Coast Hwy, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-3115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Casa del Camino 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a relaxing journey to the historic La Casa del Camino hotel located in fabulous, Laguna Beach! Walk along the surf as you explore the pristine beaches just outside of our hotel. Join us for hand crafted cocktails and a diverse menu at K'ya Bistro Bar and The Rooftop. You'll rest easy in eclectic and beautifully decorated guest rooms, join us for a lively happy hour, and take a swim in the marvelous Pacific Ocean. Included in a $16 resort fee, you'll have access to on-site parking, wireless internet, a daily breakfast buffet, and the nearby Art of Fitness Gym! Check-in is at 4:00 p.m. and check-out is at 11:30 a.m. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your La Casa del Camino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa Del Camino Hotel Laguna Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing