We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“10th Wedding Anniversary” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Casa del Camino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Casa del Camino
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“10th Wedding Anniversary”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

My husband and I traveled to Laguna from Colorado to enjoy a 10th Wedding Anniversary get away. Having read a number of rave reviews on trip advisor we were very excited for our stay at this hotel. We arrived on a Sunday. Fortunately we were dropped off and did not have to deal with parking. Upon checking in the staff was friendly. We even had a bottle of wine waiting for us in our room for our anniversary....very nice. Our room was located on the bottom level and was the last room at the end of the hall (next to the outdoor access to Cress Street). With that our room was extremely dark. We had a window overlooking Cress St, howevere it was covered up with tall bushes. This allowed for privacy but made the Room feel dungeon like. Being on a Budget we did request the cheapest room so we were not too surprised however it was a bit disappointing. The room also had a AC unit that was extremely loud. It made sleeping difficult, however it did drown out the street noise and the noise from the kitchen early in the am as the staff prepared breakfast. The mattress on the bed was fair.
Luckily being in Laguna one does not need to remain in their room. I will say that the location of this hotel is amazing. The beach was accessible, and private. The hotel staff even offered an umbrella and chairs (both of which were set up for us....very nice). The breakfast was amazing and you have the option of taking your meal to the rooftop. What a way to start the day. All in all we really enjoyed our stay. We thought the service was spectacular, the location was excellent and were not disappointed one bit with our lazy days at the beach. I would recommend this hotel and if you can afford one of the more expensive rooms I would imagine you would not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Opt for a more expensive room with an ocean view as the cheaper room we stayed in was dark and a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaResortsInc, Guest Relations Manager at La Casa del Camino, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Karen B,
Thank you for posting a review of your stay. Your compliments to our friendly staff have been passed along and are very much appreciated :)
We value your candid comments and recommendations. Thank you for choosing to stay with us as you celebrated your 10th Anniversary!
Warm Regards,
Charlotte, Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    161
    54
    37
    33
See reviews for
58
274
25
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Everything at this hotel was amazing. From the first moment we stepped into the lobby the staff at Casa del Camino went above and beyond any expectations of hospitality. The front desk was so very helpful. They fulfilled every request and answered all our questions. They never made it feel like we were inconveniencing them. Saran the bartender was so nice and was happy to serve us even though it was near closing time. Lucian, one of the managers took us up to the rooftop to see the sights after we checked in. The rooms were rustic, quaint, and spotlessly clean. One of our favorites part of the stay was eating the complimentary breakfast in the courtyard. We will definitely be returning soon. Just be sure to make reservations in advance. They fill up fast!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emiliemily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

We spent our 44th wedding anniversary at the Casa Del Camino Laguna Beach, Ca
What a great and romantic place from check in to check out, e were treated very special.
It almost seemed like everyone there was hired to make our stay special as it was for us.

From our reserved table at the corner of the roof top deck over looking the beautiful Pacific
ocean and the magnificent sun set, to the fantastic and fun dinning experience at" Kaya" restaurant in the Hotel.Topped off with the Resturant manager toasting us with a very good glass of Champagne.
Truly a special place with special people, thank you for making us feel so special on our that day.
Can't wait for next year
Best
Ken And Lynda Fischbeck

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cayden705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaResortsInc, Guest Relations Manager at La Casa del Camino, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Ken & Lynda,

Thank you for choosing to celebrate such a special occasion with us! It was really a pleasure to host you, and we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay. We are looking forward to celebrating with you again next year!
Your review and feedback is very much appreciated... thanks again :)

Warm Regards,
The Staff and Management at La Casa del Camino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed only one night for the Pageant of the Masters. The hotel does not allow you to check in before 3pm - which is OK since they offered free chairs, towels and an umbrella for use at the beach. They held our luggage and allowed us to park in their parking lot which was a short walk away. Once we got our room (no.309) it was TINY - so small in fact two pieces of luggage would not fit around the bed. What a JOKE after spending OVER $220 and asking for a room that would "impress" my husband...this was NOT it! So I returned to the front desk and were told that ALL their rooms were "European" size...no they weren't because the rooms on LEVEL 1 were much bigger standard rooms....having seen in a room on that level. So we were told that there were only SUITES left - so for an EXTRA $50.00 we could have a MUCH larger room. Since the front desk was not accommodating to find us a larger standard room I felt FORCED to pay the EXTRA $50 so I could turn around in the room. (Seriously the bed was shoved to the wall and there was barely room to walk around the bed). And the air conditioning unit was sat in front of the refrigerator and safe - so you couldn't even open the cupboard to use them without having to move the large air-conditioning unit that was sat right in front of the sink (which also was in the room) because the bathroom only fit a small shower and toilet in it. So BEWARE when booking this hotel is all I would say.....even the "suite" we got looked rather tired. Paint chipping off the bathroom floor tiles - because they were painted tiles....the toilet was one you would get in an airport - and there was no safe in the suite either.

Saying that the breakfast was good and the bell boy was very nice and friendly. He brought chairs down to the beach and delivered our luggage to our room - we wish the front desk was more accommodating!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JRyan520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaResortsInc, Guest Relations Manager at La Casa del Camino, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear JRyan520,

Thank you for taking the time to post your experience. I am so sorry to hear that you felt forced to pay for an upgrade, as this was not our intention! In looking back on your reservation, I found you had booked a Deluxe Queen Non-View room, which is the same room size as any of our Deluxe Queen rooms, at about 175 sq ft. Unfortunately, we did not have a Deluxe King Non-View room available during your stay (which is the room you saw on the first floor) or we would have happily offered you the Deluxe King room first (we have only 2 of these rooms, both located on the first floor). Being peak season, and since we are a very small boutique hotel of only 36 guest rooms, we fill up quickly. We simply did not have a larger standard room available on the night you stayed, which is why we offered the upgrade to a Casa Surf Suite.

The Lost Surf Suite (#322) is one of our most requested Surf Suites, with a King bed and a full ocean view. The cost of this room is typically $100 more than our Deluxe Queen rooms, as it offers so much more space, a beautiful ocean view, and a larger bed. We offered the upgrade to you at only half the cost, and we regret to hear it was not a worthwhile upgrade for you.

While we wish the circumstances could have been different, please be assured the front desk staff was as accommodating as they could have been, considering the hotel was nearly sold out, and there were no larger standard rooms to offer without a cost.
Thank you again for your feedback.

Warm Regards,
Charlotte, Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Our recent stay at this hotel was average. Here is my feedback:
Pros: location, location !!, decent customer service, easy beach access, free parking - $12 resort fee that covers this charge, decent cleanliness of the rooms, ok breakfast included in the room price.
Cons: noisy & dark rooms - not a lot of natural light, very pungent smell in the room and along the hallway, the exit door was open at all times leaving questionable safety, probably to help with odor from the hallway, bad maid service, cramped room, portable AC very noisy, no central AC, poor quality on bedding and linens, etc.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cameliaele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaResortsInc, Guest Relations Manager at La Casa del Camino, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for your review. Your compliments to our staff, location, parking, cleanliness and breakfast are very much appreciated.

I would like to note that we are currently addressing the room lighting issue you noted, and are presently installing new lighting solutions in the guest rooms that lack good natural light. I would also like to note that we have recently ordered the same bed linens as used in the Four Seasons hotels!

We take great pride in our heritage as a historic hotel in Laguna Beach, but unfortunately, as with all other historic buildings in the city, our hotel was not built with air conditioning. So far, the portable air conditioner is the best solution we have come to in providing temperature controlled guest rooms.

We thank you again for your comments and feedback, and we'd love to invite you back to enjoy our new amenities, or perhaps one of our larger Surf Suites!

Warm Regards,
Charlotte, Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

We went the other night to meet friends who live in Laguna Beach . this place was wonderful, the views from the Roof top deck were some of the best I have seen and the appetizer's were amazing. went down stairs for dinner and the staff and food was also amazing. can not wait to return here the next time we visit So Cal.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shaun0063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Casa del Camina is a rustic hotel with different decor in each room, strangely each "designed" (ie sponsored) but different surf brands. I would have preferred not to have been bombarded with tacky advertising in the room. The one we had was morrocan style, which was cute. We asked for the sea view, but the morning was very noisy with the garbage disposal clanking bottles around at 7:30am (not worth the upgrade). The service was good, nice strong hot showers. Unfortunately no light switches by the bed. The lobby / bar / restaurant are in the same vicinity so it was rather noisy and too buzzy for us as we preferred to be quiet, and people moved up and down the stairs to get to the rooftop bar, so it wasn't very private.

Room Tip: Don't bother to get the sea view as it can be noisy outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank countingstars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
1.0 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#6 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
0.1 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#8 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.9 mi away
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
1.9 mi away
Crescent Bay Inn
Crescent Bay Inn
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa del Camino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa del Camino

Property: La Casa del Camino
Address: 1289 S Coast Hwy, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-3115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Casa del Camino 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel La Casa del Camino quickly became the cat's meow for the former Hollywood elite when it opened in 1929, making it a perfect coastal destination. This historic, Mediterranean-style boutique hotel features the beach in its backyard and is located in the heart of the Laguna Beach Hip District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your La Casa del Camino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa Del Camino Hotel Laguna Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing