We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding venue/overall review”
Review of La Casa del Camino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Casa del Camino
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Wedding venue/overall review”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We recently had our wedding here and I have nothing but good things to say about the place itself and the staff. We had been to the roof deck and K'Ya a number of times, but had never stayed there until the event itself.

Location of the hotel is great. Easy walk down into town, plus plenty of shopping/eating options right outside the front door. Beach access is also right out the back door.

Rooms are a little on the small side, but this is an older hotel. If you're expecting something shiny and modern like the W, this is the not the place for you. If you're looking for something with some charm and some uniqueness, you're in the right place. We actually blocked off the entire hotel (36 rooms) for our quests, which was great to have everyone is one location.

Roofdeck is a blast. Good drinks, good food. View is awesome. For those who care, we did the ceremony up here.

Restaurant is also very good. We did our reception in K'Ya. We had eaten here a few times before to test out the food and I got nothing but compliments during the reception.

Staff was great. Lots of help heading into the event and always responsive to all the random questions that lead up to it. We blocked off part of the roof deck on Friday night for our out of town guests, had the ceremony on the roof deck, and then had the reception downstairs as mentioned above. Servers were fantastic. Organization was fantastic. We weren't bothered either time by random people at the bar upstairs. Everything went off without a hitch. Major props to everyone for helping us pull off everything so smoothly.

Nothing but good things to say about the place. Highly recommended!

G

Room Tip: Try out one of the suites. Each one is unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaResortsInc, Guest Relations Manager at La Casa del Camino, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Greg K,

It was truly a pleasure to host you and your beautiful bride, along with your entire wedding group! Thank you for choosing La Casa del Camino for your special weekend. Your comments and compliments are very much appreciated, and we have passed your kind words along to all departments who contributed to your wedding party.
We hope to have the opportunity to host you again .. perhaps for your anniversary! ;)

Sincerely,
La Casa del Camino staff and management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    186
    65
    40
    35
See reviews for
67
334
27
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

A last minute amazing deal brought us here! The extras are a nice touch and although there is a $12 resort fee it comes with more than a five star; gourmet breakfast, free gym use, free wifi, free parking, beach chairs! We were so impressed by the customer service and one on one attention. One note ask for a tray and take breakfast to the rooftop, it has stunning views and don't miss it's happy hour! We have stayed at many 5 stars and this place beat them out! We will be back! It is a little walk to downtown but walk the beach it's faster and romantic!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kickbutt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

La Casa del Camino is in a great spot, right on Laguna Beach. Well, not right on - there are Houses between the Hotel and the beach - but, you're a 2 min walk from the beach, so it's very very close.
Situated on the main drag through Laguna Beach (which makes it sound busier and noisier than it is) it's perfect for the beach as said, but also all the local Restaurants Bars & Shops.
The Hotel's common parts are attractive, and the Bar/Restaurant seemed to attract locals - which is always a good sign.
Parking is just across the road in a Car Park which the Hotel gives you a voucher for.
The Staff were friendly and helpful.
Only downside was the Room.
It was VERY dark, very pokey, had a TV from the jurassic period that had an abominibal picture.
The Shower was spacious and very nice however. Basically it felt like the property had been chopped up by an idiot architect into too many small rooms.
There was renovation work going on whilst I was there too and the noise was not good.
overall it felt like the place could do with some money spending on it in terms of decor and interior design.
BUT.
If you're stopping off for the night and you're going to spend hardly any time in your room - then it's fine.
One last thing - if you go to Laguna Beach do check out (a) dawn as it rises over the beach as it's truly breathtaking and (b) Sound Spectrum - literally opposite the Hotel - for CD's if you're driving and want some great Music. A totally amazing dude called 'Wave' - who landed in Laguna Beach when it really was a prototypical go-to Californian beachside hippy destination in the 60's & 70's, will serve you and possibly sell you some of his own utterly insane and completely brilliant mix-CD's of classic tunes from almost every genre. The guy is just class!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PercipientDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaResortsInc, Guest Relations Manager at La Casa del Camino, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay last year. Your compliments to our friendly staff and convenient location are very much appreciated!

We are a little disheartened to hear that you didn't enjoy our newly renovated guest room style.. we were going for an old-world Spanish/Moroccan interior, and we typically get good feedback on our renovation. I'm unsure what television you had in your room, as we had new flat screen HDTV's installed in all guest rooms in March of 2012.

La Casa del Camino is a historic hotel, built in 1929. We have not changed the hotel's original floor plan too dramatically, and the guest rooms are typical of a historic hotel from that era. We take great pride in our unique and nostalgic architecture, and have striven to keep this hotel's great history alive.

We appreciate your feedback, and have noted your suggestions.
Warm Regards,
Charlotte, Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviewed May 27, 2013

La Casa is a unique property. The hotel staff was warm, inviting and very friendly. The food was amazing; the Mediterranean dips, the caprese appetizer and the Mediterranean flatbread,huevos ranchero... All great. The rooftop bar, for sunset and breakfast is as advertised and bartender Case was awesome. The lobby bar was hip and happening. Jaime took care of us down on the nerar private little beach just steps from the hotel. Overall, near perfect.

The only blemishes: I booked an oceanfront room but was non was available; Norma adjusted the rate and sent a bottle of wine to the room. The second blemish is the spa tub didn't work in our room.

Other than that, we'll be back next year.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sdwids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaResortsInc, Guest Relations Manager at La Casa del Camino, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay, and your compliments have been passed along to the staff.
I regret to hear that we were not able to assign the surf suite you had requested. Please know the jets in the tub have since been repaired, and function normally. Thank you for your feedback.
We hope to have the opportunity to host you again!
Warm Regards,
Charlotte, Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California
2 reviews
Reviewed May 23, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel for one night. We wished we stayed another night because of how lovely our stay was! The room served its' purpose which was to sleep! The service overall was great! They definitely know what they are doing. All staff were friendly and helpful. We also had dinner at the restaurant on the first floor. Wow! Was that delicious! The staff there were truly wonderful! Reservations are recommended there! We will be coming back and hopefully for more than one night!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NaYuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
1 review
Reviewed May 22, 2013

The property is located in a great spot in Laguna very close to the ocean. The attention to detail from a service perspective was refreshing. I was up early one morning and needed a cup of coffee. The front service manager found one for me before the restaurant opened which was nice. Also, I left a few things behind after my stay and received a call from the guest services manager asking where to send them. I appreciate the extra effort made by the staff. Overall, I had a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaneC333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaResortsInc, Guest Relations Manager at La Casa del Camino, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay! I'm thrilled to hear you appreciated the service from our staff, and we look forward to the opportunity to host you again.
Warm Regards,
Charlotte, Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

This is a great property. Thoroughly enjoyed it. The have access to a nice gym just down the street. The rooftop is excellent for lunch or drinks. The rooms are small but work just fine. Fantastic free breakfast downstairs. Great location for walking anywhere you'd like in laguna beach and you can hear the ocean waves from your room. fantastic.. very nice staff.. great price!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 826Tommyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
403 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
736 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pacific Edge Hotel on Laguna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
1,076 reviews
1.2 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#7 of 22 in Laguna Beach
306 reviews
1.9 mi away
Crescent Bay Inn
Crescent Bay Inn
#8 of 22 in Laguna Beach
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa del Camino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa del Camino

Property: La Casa del Camino
Address: 1289 S Coast Hwy, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-3115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Casa del Camino 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a relaxing journey to the historic La Casa del Camino hotel located in fabulous, Laguna Beach! Walk along the surf as you explore the pristine beaches just outside of our hotel. Join us for hand crafted cocktails and a diverse menu at K'ya Bistro Bar and The Rooftop. You'll rest easy in eclectic and beautifully decorated guest rooms, join us for a lively happy hour, and take a swim in the marvelous Pacific Ocean. Included in a $16 resort fee, you'll have access to on-site parking, wireless internet, a daily breakfast buffet, and the nearby Art of Fitness Gym! Check-in is at 4:00 p.m. and check-out is at 11:30 a.m. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your La Casa del Camino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa Del Camino Hotel Laguna Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing