We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good points and bad points” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Casa del Camino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Casa del Camino
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good points and bad points”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Good: yes, it has character-it's not just another motel. About 50 yards from great beach access.
Comfortable beds and proper tub ( except in the suites, which strangely only have showers).Majority of staff friendly and keen to help.
Bad: Mexican theme means rooms are decorated in a sepia-type finish, and with dim lights, are dark, especially smaller rooms ( most of the rooms are small)..can be very noisy..recommend do not have rooms 105,106,107 at weekend because staff have to go past constantly to serve food in the courtyard...and would expect rooms on PCH side to be noisy.
Restaurant- tried once, has complicated half-price offer on Tuesdays, food was OK but you can do better in LB. No pool, spa, etc.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greenhey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaResortsInc, Guest Relations Manager at La Casa del Camino, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the unique character of La Casa del Camino, and that you slept comfortably.

It's regrettable that our newly renovated Deluxe rooms were not pleasing to you. Our vision for the renovation of our Deluxe guest rooms was to maintain the Spanish style in which our hotel was originally built, in 1927, while updating the rooms with the modern amenities of a boutique hotel.
I'd like to let you know that we have 10 additional guest rooms which were each uniquely designed by 10 different surf companies. These are our Casa Surf Suites, and based on your feedback, I think you would enjoy one of these rooms more than our Deluxe rooms. You can see pictures of our various guest rooms on our website.

To clarify our Tuesday Bonus Happy Hour - When you buy any cocktail, beer or wine, you receive half off any food item on the dinner menu. Tuesday Happy Hour is offered 5:30-close in K'ya Bistro.

Your candid comments are appreciated, and we hope to have the opportunity to host you again, perhaps in one of our Surf Suites :)

Warm Regards,
Charlotte, Guest Services
La Casa del Camino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    136
    49
    33
    26
See reviews for
48
235
20
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

I had the chance to stay at Casa del Camino again and it was the best experience imaginable. This was my second visit. I arrived late and James greeted me warmly and assisted in getting the perfect room with an ocean view. Norma manages the place smoothly, and thanks to Belen, Veronica, and Meghan, the guests have a wonderful experience. The ambiance of this 1929 resort can't be found in today's structures. The rooftop deck is worth the trip alone! Not the fanciest place, but the best value for your money. Very dog friendly too. For relaxation and reflection, it's just steps from the beach. Efficiently located at the south end if town so the business traveler isn't caught up in the traffic. I found all that I needed within a short walking distance. Do your research, look around at the other hotels and resorts. You'll find everything you need here at a very reasonable price. I will definitely stay at the Casa del Camino again!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnhoran2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

If you are heading to Laguna, la casa del camino is the place to stay! Everything was awesome starting from booking (Amy rocks)! The whole staff is very friendly and they absolutely want you to enjoy your stay. La casa del Camino has very cozy rooms which10 are decorated by different surfing companies, very unique, I stayed at the Quiksilver room. The restaurant downstairs, K'ya Bistro is one of the best in town and at the same time is very casual. The roof bar is very popular and the local crowd is always there. The beach is a one minute walk and you are close to everything! I don't even want to try other hotels when I´m in the area, I already know how to get the best experience in Laguna Beach!

Room Tip: Get a surfing room, very unique. You cannot get the same room anywhere in the world.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rafael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaResortsInc, Guest Relations Manager at La Casa del Camino, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you so much for your comments! We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay at our hotel, and we look forward to hosting you again in the future. Your business is very much appreciated.

Kind Regards,
Charlotte, Guest Services
La Casa del Camino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We loved this hotel. The view from the hotel bar was amazing, and during the early evening it was a great vibe! Short walk to other restaurants, bars and shopping! Our bed was comfortable and our room was clean, will definitely be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jared K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Best kept secret in Laguna. Staff is wonderful including Norma at the front desk. Hotel is well located at the south end of town, just 1 mile from downtown but in the middle of great galleries, restaurants, bars, etc. Majestic views of the Pacific. Rooms all unique, some bigger and better than others. Ask questions about room. Surf Suites worth the extra $. Mix with locals as they all converge on the rooftop bar to watch the incredible sunset. Lobby restaurant is one of the best in Laguna. Lively, reasonably priced, excellent food all make this a destination spot. If you are looking for uniformity, blandness, quite lobby bars, road - worn business people, this place is not for you. If you want to be close to the beach, in the middle of a lively local spot, call now. Value conscience travelers get to bar in time for happy hour.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TPL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaResortsInc, Guest Relations Manager at La Casa del Camino, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear TPL1,

Thank you for your review! Your compliments have been passed on, and Norma is stoked on your shout-out to her exemplary customer service :)
Your recommendations and description of our hotel are on point and much appreciated. We look forward to the opportunity to host you again soon!

Happy Travels,
Charlotte, Guest Services
La Casa del Camino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed in 12 hotels on my recent 3 week USA trip with my girlfriend. This was our favourite by far (including staying in 5 star and paying 400 a night).

Staff were great, very friendly and welcoming. The rooftop bar is awesome. Get there when happy hour is on though. We saw people waiting for tables from around 6pm. Great view to watch the sunset over the sea.

Rooms are great, very clean and have that boutique look (which I love).

Also noticed I think it was the manager downstairs at breakfast commenting to the staff on changing the cups that we being used at breakfast. I'm guessing that this attention to detail is what makes this place so good.

Will be staying here again when I'm down in Laguna. Just go there and see it for yourself. You won't be let down.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaResortsInc, Guest Relations Manager at La Casa del Camino, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay. We are thrilled to hear that La Casa del Camino was your favorite hotel during your 3 week trip to the states! Your recommendations and suggestions are appreciated, and we look forward to hosting you again :)

Warm Regards,
Charlotte Gulley
Guest Services, La Casa del Camino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed here last minute and loved it , great atmosphere and roof top bar over looking the pacific ocean wow, our room was very cozy I would go back for sure! The staff was very helpful also. Lacuna beach is always fun to visit and this place is at the heart of it all. You should stay here for sure.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tuttie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
1.0 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 616 reviews
0.9 mi away
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#8 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 250 reviews
1.2 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#6 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 205 reviews
1.9 mi away
Crescent Bay Inn
Crescent Bay Inn
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa del Camino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa del Camino

Property: La Casa del Camino
Address: 1289 S. Coast Highway, Laguna Beach, CA 92651
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Casa del Camino 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel La Casa del Camino quickly became the cat's meow for the former Hollywood elite when it opened in 1929, making it a perfect coastal destination. This historic, Mediterranean-style boutique hotel features the beach in its backyard and is located in the heart of the Laguna Beach Hip District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your La Casa del Camino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa Del Camino Hotel Laguna Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing