We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast and lunch only. Great setting”
Review of Madison Square

Madison Square
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Irvine, California
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Breakfast and lunch only. Great setting”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

I have a monthly breakfast at Madison with a dear friend. We select this restaurant because of the setting which is all outside seating and the delicious food. The restaurant is an old 'Laguna Charmer' house that has been turned into a shop and restaurant. So many of the restaurants in Laguna Beach neglect to keep the old work charm and historical values to the properties but John (owner) has maintained the rustic wooden floors, windows and esthetics. You will have to order before you sit down and they bring your meal to your table. I never fail to buy something unique from the store so often a breakfast can cost you hundreds of $$$. Not open for dinner. Closes at 3pm and closed on Tuesdays (please check).

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank My_Lady_of_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    43
    12
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“quaint garden atmosphere - but come early on weekend”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

discover this place from rooftop conversation, the day before and we were surprise that we enjoyed the food - order the vegetable omelet , packed FULL OF VEGGIE and delicious, ricotta pancakes plenty and ok [ could use more lemon zest ], not as good as hotel front desk rave, yet tasty - self-serve coffee cart..

but it's the setting among trees ! shade and sun and larger that you think area for sitting, but very crowded around 11:00 am on Sat am ! line going out door to order, and line to 1 toilet BR .

and everything for sale if you're looking for gardens accessories - ponds, gnomes, kick-knacks, windchimes, etc

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Roxanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfect Sunday Morning Breakfast”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We came to this restaurant for breakfast since it had such a great atmosphere. It has whimsical garden art for sale which was fun to look at while waiting for our food. You order in advance and then the food is delivered. I had the eggs benedict which was good, but the fries with it were not that great. Not quite sure why fries are on the breakfast menu. I would check to see if I could get fruit instead. People enjoyed sitting outdoors with their pets.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2012Hotelsnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Charming”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Madison Square and Garden Cafe is just a short walk from The Tides Inn where we were staying. It is a cafe set in gardens around a converted house. The gardens and house are full of yard art and the surrounding gardens with trees. orders are placed at the counter, they give you a number and you find a table. Self serve coffee and tea. The food is fresh, local and plentiful. We were there on a Sunday morning so it was very busy, with tables hard to come by, and the service slow. But the wait was pleasant with so much to look at, sun shinning through the trees, and other diners to talk to, it didn't matter. We will definitely go back again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bettysbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food horrible experience”
Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

This place has great food but you have to wait up to an hour to ger your food. They give you your beverage before they deliver your food and due to the endless waiting time you cannot enjoy your deink with your food.

Helpful?
1 Thank Juan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Madison Square also viewed

Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 
Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 
Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 

Been to Madison Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing