We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive and average”
Review of Tabu Grill - CLOSED

Tabu Grill
Price range: $25 - $60
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Nye's Place
Description: The word Tabu is from the Polynesian Tongan people's tongue and means, "Set Apart," which sets the tone for this unparalleled restaurant located in Laguna Beach. When you walk into Tabu Grill, you find yourself in a lush oceanic oasis of blues, exotic purples and aquamarines. More lush than its interior is the food, a highly-sought after "foodie" menu prepared by Executive Chef Kenny Raponi and his sous chefs in an open kitchen that allows you to watch the magic come together on every plate. A multiple award recipient, Tabu Grill received Zagat's coveted "Extraordinary to Perfection" score year after yea
Laguna Beach
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Expensive and average”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I have dined three times at this restaurant and each time I have been overwhelmed by the prices but not overwhelmed by the food. Most recently my wife and I joined a friend for dinner. My pork chop was perfectly cooked but accompanied by an overly sweet succotash. My wife's chicken was swimming in a soupy "risotto" that was overly cooked and dominated the chicken. Our friend just wanted the gnocchi appetizer as an entree...which the server said could be done...but the portion was tiny. His butternut squash soup was terrific...the best dish served. He bought a bottle of wine and we were charged a $25 corkage fee that the server said...in an argumentative manner...was the standard for Laguna Beach....NOT. Tabu seems to be trying to create some sort of mystical vibe but should be lowering their prices and increasing the quality of their dishes....

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank robert2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    20
    5
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cypress, California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good but pricey”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We had a nice dinner. Its a smaller place, kinda dark but we thought it was a bit pricey and could have done without

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank corycastro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Exceptional experience”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Small place right on the PCH. Food is exceptional, as is the service. We so enjoyed our Christmas Eve dinner and have since gone back for their tasking menu--3 course for $29.00 with the options to add wine pairings for only $10.00. Great deal.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aligns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Expected a lot, got less”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

I expected a lot. This place has a high Zagat rating and some nice reviews. They did not live up to what I expected. The place is ridiculously dark and it is weird to see everyone using their cell phone to illuminate their menus. The food was very good ... no better. My wife's miso fish was tasty but nothing I could not have cooked myself. My ribeye steak was properly done (med rare) but totally unseasoned. And it sat on a bed of black rice that was tempting to look at but nothing special in my mouth. As I said, I expected more from the reviews.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank happycamper690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
“Incredible Food!”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

This is a restaurant not to miss if you visit Laguna Beach. The decor and atmosphere is interesting and different, but what makes it is the food. Beautifully presented, and masterfully prepared, the Polynesian influenced dishes stimulate your taste buds and bring a smile to your face! The combinations of ingredients at first glance may seem odd, but do they ever work! These chefs are top notch, and not afraid to experiment. We will have to come back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gtm011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tabu Grill also viewed

Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 
Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing