We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Magnificent in every way!”
other travelers have booked this property
View from bed inside the Studio facing deck and sliding doors
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from bed inside the Studio facing deck and sliding doors
Bedroom/Studio interior
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
14 reviews
View from bed inside the Studio facing deck and sliding doors
Bedroom/Studio interior
couch/bench with lots of pillows
comfortable chair for reading or talking. swivels toward ocean view or room
Bathroom with natural limestone, mahogany cabinets, waterworks designer fixtures
Kitchenette with small fridge, gas stove top, micro/traditional oven, Keurig coffe maker etc..
Thalia Street Beach, 12 minute walk (3 minute drive) from rental
Fresh & Clean Bathroom has contemporary style. Cement type plaster around shower/tub
Queen pillow-top bed is very comfortable and always has oversized throw pillows
Large walk-in closet with hangers and huge dresser drawers
Entance to the studio - large tropical garden with Palms at entrance, very private
View of one of Laguna's beaches.  Downtown is a 12 minute walk from our rental
Dark chocolate colored wide plank solid walnut hard wood flooring. Sanded and restained July, 2015
Beautiful solid African Mahogany wood trim and doors, not typical in a vacation rental
View from the bed through the side window from inside the unit!! This poicture does it no justice..
Contemporary and stylish, yet warm and relaxing!  Its so nice, It's not easy to leave for the beach!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Laguna Beach, California

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
76BCampbe...
Dunfermline
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“3 star, let down by hassle factor of constantly trying to get hold of the Owner”
Reviewed September 15, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I would rate this accomodation as a 3 out of 5, this could easily have been a 5 star review but was let down by the Owner.

My husband and I found this after checking online for days and we were excited to be staying in an apartment in Laguna Beach after previously visiting Laguna on our honeymoon the previous year.

Good Points-
The apartment is a good size with nice furniture, quiet location which is close to the main street in Laguna. On site Parking. Booking was easy.

Bad Points-
Upon 'check in' as such the keys were left under the mat of the apartment. There was no one there to welcome or settle us in. There was no booklet or welcome guidelines in the apartment either. This would have been fine if everything was working properly but we had issues straight away with the AC and the TV.

The linen on the bed hadnt even been pressed/ironed and was all creased which I found odd and I had to go out and buy scented candles and air freshener as the apartment was hot and stuffy.
We switched on what we thought was the ac unit on the wall. There also seemed to be an additional unit on the kitchen wall which we switched on.
The heat was unbearable in the apartment, I was also 6 months pregnant at the time and we were both unable to sleep and emailed the Owner. My husband went in search of the Owner, as he stays above the apartment. But there was no sign of him so we sent another email and tried numerous times to call the phone number which had been left which constantly rang out.
It took the Owner 2 days to reply and provide a suggestion on the ac unit and explain that the wall unit was a heater/fan.We eventually got this sorted but the apartment was still hot and didnt hold the cold air - this was no doubt due to the fact that the side window was broken and wedged open constantly with no way of closing this which we did not see until out last night as we kept the blinds shut to try and keep the sun/ warmth out. So not only did the hot air come in and make the ac pointless during the stay, I also spent each day having to wipe down the surfaces and floor with antibacterial wipes as there was always a dust everywhere. I also do not enjoy sharing my room with spiders and bugs.

We also sent another email about the TV not working and spent the rest of the holiday playing email tennis with the Owner. This never got resolved, despite the fact the Owner stayed above us and could see when we were in or out by our hire car being parked in the drive. Luckily we had an ipad with us, but the constantly emails and trying to call the Owner was hassle we didnt need on our trip. We even stated twice that we were in the apartment and would wait a couple of hours but the Owner would then reply after we had left.

We requested clean linen mid stay yet had to email the Owner about this also as this was forgotten and clean sheets only arrived in a plastic bag for us to put on ourselves 2 nights before we were due to leave - which was pretty pointless.

We felt the Owner was useless at helping with any queries, 2 phone numbers which either didnt work or rang out, emails constantly rather than just coming down and knocking on the apartment door to sort out any issues and no phone call to us despite us sending our phone number also - just things we didnt need when trying to relax on holiday.

If we had stayed in a hotel we would have asked to speak to the manager and asked for compensation for our stay as we were not totally satisfied.
If you are going to rent out holiday accomodation then you should really be more involved or at least have someone else looking after the property when you are busy/away. The AC and TV could have easily been fixed on day one rather than the constant hassle and email tennis.

.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and size of apartment
Liked least: Issues with Owner not being available to resolve problems, window broken, Ac, bugs in room
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 6, 2016
I'm sorry that you felt that I was not responsive enough. I suspect you are right. Truth be told I returned from vacation in the Bahamas with a water damaged cell phone that delayed responses because communication was by e-mail. To be honest, it was hard to keep up with all your communication.and concerns while on my first day
back from vacation and working from my
home office. Please don't take this the wrong way, but some people are better suited for a hotel or resort where they can be easily in touch with a manger.
Here are a few responses: I disagree that most guests want to be held to a time table to have me greet them at the door and be put through an orientation on the studio, I suspect they would find that
awkward and prying. Next, If there is a large air conditioner in plain sight in the window, why not turn it on as all others have done in the last 4 years of renting? I have over 60 5 Star reviews and a rare
4.9 score on HomeAway/VRBO and excellent reviews on FlipKey & TripAdvisor.
I'm sorry however that you had a bad experience.

Kind regards,

Charlie Hawkins
Property Owner
Laguna Beach, CA
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDG115
Sunny Isles Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Magnificent in every way!”
Reviewed July 29, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Just came back from my visit to Laguna Beach, and I must say that the trip was enjoyable and my accommodations were first rate! Charlie's Ocean View Contemporary Designer studio is quiet, comfy, and centrally located. The place is gorgeous with floor to ceiling windows, rich dark wood floors, elegant wood beams, super fast WiFi, and all of the amenities you need to make this your home away from home.

Nestled in the hills just above the main boulevard, it's just a brief walk into the heart of the excitement, yet quiet and peaceful enough to feel as if you're worlds away. The sophisticated studio setting showcases the best of the Laguna Beach lifestyle... with breathtaking water, city and mountain views and a sunset that will bring tears to your eyes. So much so, that one evening we were lounging on the deck and got so lost in the moment that we skipped our dinner plans and simply enjoyed the gorgeous sunset, the colorful sky and then the twinkling lights of the city... perfection! I hope you enjoy it as much as we did... Many thanks to Charlie for the gracious hospitality!! We hope to visit again soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the views are mesmerizing
Liked least: that we had to leave
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Reviewed January 25, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view.
Liked least: Nothing.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
martindei...
Clearwater, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“California Dreamin'”
Reviewed November 23, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Experience the quintessential Californian life style by staying at this tastefully decorated and well appointed studio with sweeping views of the Pacific and Catalina Island - really, it's true. We felt like we were living the dream - strolling the beautiful iconic beaches, enjoying casual lunches in the heart of trendy Laguna Village, making day trips to Catalina Island and Dana Point, and then - making sure we were "home" for the most magical time of the day... The sunsets were to die for, right from our terrace. Thank you, Charlie, for the grill - we so enjoyed our leisurely prepared dinners that it was difficult to take advantage of the great night life just down the street - "The Deck" on the beach, and the music and people watching at the local hangout, the "Sandpiper Lounge," were great recommendations. Did we mention that even the Starbucks by Main Beach has a killer view? If you haven't spent time in Laguna Beach - it's a must and this rental was perfect... Inside and out. We can't wait to come back, and wouldn't stay anywhere else!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SkiAlbert...
Alberta
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“sweet oasis”
Reviewed November 9, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed for one week in mid October - the apartment looks and is every bit as good as it looks in the pictures. We had a a bit of a hiccup upon check out that was more than corrected by Charlie. Every owner should be this concerned with his clients good experience. The size was perfect for 2 people and the view from the apt and the Bed was spectacular. Location is 3-4 blocks from the downtown and beach. We would stay here again in a heartbeat !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyclones7
Macomb, Michigan
1 review
“Absolute perfect rental house!!!!”
Reviewed September 23, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Absolute perfect getaway spot! Beautiful views of the Ocean & hills. Charlie has all the appointments you could look for - Lovely bed, rain shower, coffee ready to go, boogie boards & books in the room. Amazing looking outside at the tranquil ocean on the deck! Very quiet private street. Best deal on the site! very RARE to have your own parking in front of the house and across the street. Typically $30-40 a day for a hotel/valet or you need to worry about a meter or parking blocks away.... not here! Absolutely loved it all Charlie! Way better than advertised! We will be back very soon.

Cheers,

-Scott

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View, property was amazing
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randy W
Franklin, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Better than we expected, will definitely stay again!”
Reviewed May 21, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We couldn't have been happier with Charlie's place. He was super-quick to respond and to accommodate our needs. We came in for a friend's wedding, but found ourselves wanting to just stay in the unit. It was incredibly quiet and peaceful and had a view that would've cost 2x as much at a resort or hotel. The bed was perfect and the linens were plush and luxurious. We couldn't recommend this place higher and will DEFINITELY be staying again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and the bed
Liked least: That we had to leave
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing