We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the hassle”
Review of K'ya Bistro

K'ya Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
K'ya Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #22 of 168 Restaurants in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Cress Street
Description: K'ya Bistro Bar is located in the historic, coastal La Casa del Camino hotel in the heart of Laguna Beach. With small plates and an emphasis on sharing, K'ya Bistro Bar offers a diverse menu with flavors from the Mediterranean and a local bistro appeal. This bustling bistro is a stone's throw from the beach and reflects a lively San Francisco-esque atmosphere. Guests can enjoy a private table, or have a drink by the fireplace before or after dinner in the comfortable lobby lounge featuring live entertainment.
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worth the hassle”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

What we like: the atmosphere, the food concept, small plates, decent wines by the glass, people watching, location.

What we don't like: depending on who is manning the hostess stand, the service level can suffer. While I know it can be a thankless job at times, it's not hard to be nice to people.

All of this being said, we return every time we are in the area. Just make a reservation and enjoy the eclectic and noisy atmosphere.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mulliganville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    78
    28
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Don't miss the rooftop bar!”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Technically the rooftop bar is separate from the restaurant but it is totally a "don't miss" place to have a cocktail... Or two.. Before dinning downstairs at K'ya. A great restaurant for a group of friends or, as in our case, the kids. Great place, cool surroundings and good tapas plates.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Place!”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We were on vacation in Laguna Beach in June and trying to find good food on a budget. I came across this place on Tripadvisor and I am so happy we gave it a try. We were a litle dissapointed that we couldn't walk there from downtown, but were so glad we made the trip. The food was great. My 7 year old son even decided to be adventurous that night and he scarfed down the bacon wrapped scallops. That was by far my favorite dish. We also tried garlic rosemary chicken which was soooooo good. Nobody gave us a second glance for dragging our 2 small children to happy hour, which made it even nicer!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ILoveTheMountains79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa Bay, Florida
Level Contributor
293 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

I enjoyed my meal at the K'ya Bistro. The salmon was delicious, as were the appetizers of ahi tuna on chips, red wine meatballs and a mushroom and cheese puff. The flourless chocolate cake for desert was outstanding. The service was very friendly and efficient. I would return.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank texigator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“BEST Happy Hour”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Get there by 4:30 or get reservation. If you go later tends to get loud in restaurant due to happy chatter!!! Food is amazing. My favorite restaurant by far.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dynamo2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed K'ya Bistro also viewed

Laguna Beach, Orange County
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 
Laguna Beach, Orange County
 

Been to K'ya Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing