We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Tides Laguna Beach
Nearby Hotels
Art Hotel - Laguna Beach(Laguna Beach)(Great Value!)
$242
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Laguna Beach House(Laguna Beach)(Great Value!)
$359
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Inn At Laguna Beach(Laguna Beach)
$455
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Laguna Beach(Laguna Beach)(Great Value!)
$213
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Ranch at Laguna Beach(Laguna Beach)
$369
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Laguna Brisas Hotel(Laguna Beach)(Great Value!)
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $198/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa(Laguna Beach)(Great Value!)
$339
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$332
$174
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$579
$521
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Montage Laguna Beach(Laguna Beach)
$895
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (509)
Filter reviews
509 results
Traveler rating
298
148
35
16
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
298
148
35
16
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsheisler parkoutdoor fireplacepool areabbq areawithin walking distanceacross the streetcharming roomtwo blocksparking is tightshort walkroad noisebeautiful parkpageant of the mastersfelt like homeart museumfull kitchennice pool
Filter
Updating list...
259 - 264 of 509 reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2013

My husband and I spent one night here on our SoCal five-day road trip. It's a modest hotel, nothing fancy, but clean and well maintained inside and out (nice pool area). It's located directly on PCH within walking distance to the beach (the restaurants are a bit further south, a fair hike by foot). We stayed in room 205 and paid $133.28 (all taxes included). It's not a large room and the bathroom is a quite small. It does have a small room before you enter the bathroom where there is a vanity area and small frig and a place to hang clothes. They do supply earplugs and without the air conditioner on, you would definitely need them! Also, the walls are very thin - we got an X-rated ear-full from the couple next door. I've read all of the reviews and agree with most of what has been written - however, I wouldn't say it's FABULOUS as many others have written. Comparing this to the other 4 places I stayed on our journey, I would give it a healthy, solid 3+.

Room Tip: Ask management as they are very helpful with your wishes.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TidesLagunaBeach, Owner at The Tides Laguna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

We are happy with a solid 3+.
Thanks,
Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

The Tides Inn has a great location and I enjoyed my stay. It was my first time there and the staff was great; although the hotel itself is not flashy. It is situated right on PCH between Crystal Cove and the main Laguna Beach area so it is central to a lot of things. They have a nice pool area set up to have your own BBQ with friends or just relax on a floatie. They also have an outdoor fireplace area that is pretty cool. I enjoyed my stay there and would definitely come back.

Room Tip: Tell the receptionist that you want to be as far away from PCH as possible to limit noise . My reservation was last minute so I was in a room out front on PCH which they warned me was a bit noisy.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HerCane86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TidesLagunaBeach, Owner at The Tides Laguna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

We very much appreciate your taking the time to review The Tides. It is a great place for a single visitor as well as a family. We have some darling small rooms and yes, our location is fabulous. Parking for free and being able to walk all over town are wonderful perks.
Please return soon--winters are also quite gorgeous.
Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We couldn't have been treated more warmly or courteously. No wonder this modest motel gets such high ratings from guests! We chose the Tides Inn because our daughter was getting married in Laguna Beach at Heisler Park across the street. The Tides management bent over backward to accommodate our requests and make our stay hassle-free. My husband says, "It was like staying with family -- the kind of family we all wish we had."

Room Tip: The Tides Inn website gives photos of each unique room; very helpful.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TidesLagunaBeach, Owner at The Tides Laguna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

We feel like we have the nicest and most courteous guests. We all thank you for the nice comments. Wedding and reunions are our favorite groups. Hoping to see you visit more often and most of all for the "anniversaries-to-be."
Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

What a great place to stay in Laguna. Convient to everything. Beach is a block away, shops down the street, trolley stop right outside the Inn. I stayed at The Tides with my two kids and Fred and Denise made us feel like family. We arrived after the office closed, well Fred put our room key under our mat in case we were really late arrivals. The second day they upgraded us to the 1 bedroom apartment with a full kitchen. Very spacious and comfortable. With the kids we just went to the market and picked up dinner and ate in our "apartment". We enjoyed the fireplace that evening too. . We really wanted to take advantage of the barbeque but since we were only there for the 2 nights we didn't want leftovers.
The pool was a little chilly but that didn't stop my kids. They liked the water fountains in the pool. The beach was a nice 5 min walk. They even had beach chairs and toys for your day at the beach. This was a nice start to our week in So. Ca and our 4 days at Disneyland. We will definitely stay here again !!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colleen4646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TidesLagunaBeach, Owner at The Tides Laguna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Thanks so much for the wonderful Tides review. You didn't miss a thing! We are so glad you enjoyed every minute. It is great to have a kitchenette, especially with children.
Please return soon. There is always so much to do and see in this town. Very much like paradise.
Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

What a delight to find a hidden gem in beautiful Laguna Beach! Cute, quaint, and homey! We were taking a trip down the coastline and were only staying 1 night, but would have loved staying longer. We thoroughly enjoyed our room 102 for our family of 4. We loved the large table, which was perfect for board games and elbow room for the kids. The room had a cabinet with puzzles and Legos that the kids really enjoyed using. Kitchenette and bathroom were a decent size and had all the amenities we needed. From previous written posts, some had mentioned the noise of the highway...we didn't notice it. Maybe it depends if you are a light or heavy sleeper...but our family didn't find it a problem, nor did we find it really that noisy. The air conditioner worked like a charm, although, we preferred opening our windows for fresh air. The hotel has lots of sand toys and beach accessories to use, which we thought was awesome! We didn't get to use the pool due to cooler temperatures and rain the day we stayed : ( But, it looked inviting! Our room had two full beds, so if that's a tight squeeze, the, consider another room. We'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: Room 102 has two full beds and "cozy", and doesn't allow for lots of luggage, unless you utilize the large table.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1julieg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TidesLagunaBeach, Owner at The Tides Laguna Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Thanks so much for taking the time to write such a great review of The Tides. Room 102 is a great family room because of the full kitchen and dining area. We adore our place and love catering to happy families. We strive to be clean and affordable so families can enjoy Laguna Beach--the community has so much to offer.
Keep traveling and hope you return soon.
Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews