We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Tides Laguna Beach CA” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Tides Laguna Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Tides Laguna Beach
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Glendora
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Tides Laguna Beach CA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This was our 3rd stay at The Tides and it won't be our last. Each time we've stayed there we are always made to feel welcome by the staff who will go out of their way to make sure our stay is a good one. It's a small hotel but the rooms are comfortable and clean. There is a bbq island in the pool area as well as a fireplace which is great for cool evenings. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TidesLagunaBeach, Owner at The Tides Laguna Beach, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to write about your visit. Now we are looking forward to your 4th time at The Tides. Our fabulous art festivals and the Pageant of the Masters begin June 28th and continue through July and August. Also, the weather and sunsets are perfect in September and October.
See you soon.
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    118
    28
    10
    10
See reviews for
102
165
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fairway, Kansas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

If you are looking for lux, go someplace else. This place is old and a bit musty, but very comfortable and clean. I loved being able to walk to the boardwalk along the ocean, walk to shops and restaurants, and being a bit out of the traffic too. Great location. Bedding was good and I like the clean tile floors. The comfy chairs around the outdoor fire pit were great. It is pretty small so there is not much privacy and the bath needed some updates. Overall, an affordable nice place to stay

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelKC66205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TidesLagunaBeach, Owner at The Tides Laguna Beach, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Such a delightful and truthful review. Thank you. That is exactly what we want to be--affordable (for Laguna Beach) and clean. We enjoy our guests very much. We are working on the baths which is not easy as The Tides was built in 1949--were people smaller then?
We look forward to your return visit.
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

We got married in Laguna, and reserved the Tides for our out-of-town guests. All of our guests could not say enough wonderful things about the hotel, the owners, and their ability to make all of us feel like we were family. We booked the last weekend in March, and the weather was perfect. The owners allowed us to use their pool area to host a get-together, and repeatedly went above and beyond to accommodate us in every way. If you are in need of a safe, cute, clean and welcoming place to host those you love the most, please consider the Tides Inn.

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TidesLagunaBeach, Owner at The Tides Laguna Beach, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Congratulations again. We are so happy everyone was pleased. It is a perfect party place and we love parties. Hoping you can join us for our annual "Elvis" party in August and please celebrate all your special occasions at The Tides.

Thanks so much for sharing your comments.
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

The hotel staff were superbly helpful and they even had beach chairs, towels, and an umbrella for us to borrow for the beach. Since our flight wasn't until late in the day, after check out, They were kind enough to let us park there after check out while we enjoyed the beach and tidepools. We loved that the Hotel is conveniently located across the the street from Heisler Park and the beach, and close to, but away from, the downtown area.

Room Tip: With windows open we could hear street noise, but with them closed it wasn't a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KathleenD444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TidesLagunaBeach, Owner at The Tides Laguna Beach, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
We aim to please and thanks so much for appreciating us. It means alot. We try hard.
It will be our pleasure to welcome you back.
Thanks again,
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
307 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Very friendly, nice little pool, close to beach. But some rooms are right on the road, traffic noise not good! If you are staying for a few days then make sure you get a room at the back. The location is great for beach, bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bobtdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TidesLagunaBeach, Owner at The Tides Laguna Beach, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
We also love our location. We love not charging to park your car also. We do have 3 rooms on the street side of our property and always make a point to let our guests know that when they make their reservations. There is traffic noise on Coast Highway-no doubt about it-and all the hotels are on the coast. We do have double-paned windows which helps.
Thanks so much for your good traveler advice. Hoping to see you again soon.
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
84 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Nothing really much to add to all of the other reviews. The owners are very nice, the road noise is not really an issue but the walls are a little thin. The rooms are clean and they provide you with a nice beach towel for your excursions there. Good pool area and plenty of parking. The place is larger then it appears from the outside along the PCH. It is also an easy walk to town and close to several beaches. Has to be the best place to stay in Laguna Beach for the money. I would return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Copperdesk63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TidesLagunaBeach, Owner at The Tides Laguna Beach, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
You made our day. So happy you will return. We think we are a great affordable secret in Laguna Beach and try hard to be exactly that--the affordable part.....We hope you return soon to shop and dine and relax at The Tides.
Thanks so much for taking the time to review.
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Myself and 3 friends stayed at The Tides last night for our annual friends retreat. The staff couldn't be more friendly. Parking was free and they are within walking distance of a few shops, galleries, Starbucks and Main Beach. Our room was very nice but small with 2 queen beds. The shower was tiny but lots of water pressure and hot water. The room had a coffee maker and a small fridge. The sheets were great if you care about that. The staff set up a fire in the fireplace in the beautiful pool area we could light after dinner. There is comfy furniture to enjoy the fire and sound of the pool fountain. Free wifi. I didn't give a 5 star rating because there is always room for improvement and there is street noise. They do have earplugs in the room in case you need them. Thanks for a great stay. I would come back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TidesLagunaBeach, Owner at The Tides Laguna Beach, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Well, we are looking forward to getting your 5-stars some day! We are all for improvements which is why we love our reviews. Our guests give us their best ideas and solutions. Thanks for all the positives and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
0.8 mi away
Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#6 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 621 reviews
1.3 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#8 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Crescent Bay Inn
Crescent Bay Inn
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 349 reviews
0.0 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 208 reviews
2.1 mi away
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tides Laguna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tides Laguna Beach

Property: The Tides Laguna Beach
Address: 460 N Coast Hwy, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-1630
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Tides Laguna Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your The Tides Laguna Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tides Hotel Laguna Beach
Tides Hotel Laguna Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing