We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique and Charming” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Tides Laguna Beach

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Tides Laguna Beach
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Unique and Charming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

This is an old well maintained hotel on the North end of the commercial area of Laguna Beach. You can walk to the Main Beach.

There is a salt water pool is surrounded by comfortable chairs, a nice wood burning fireplace, two outdoor bars where guests can serve their own food and booze, and a Jenn Aire BBQ.

When we come next time, we will buy a nice steak at Whole Foods in downtown Laguna Beach and broil it on the BBQ.

They have an abundance of plastic pails and shovels that kids can take to the beach.

The beds are comfortable and the rooms are very efficiently laid out to make the most efficient use of space.

The Resident Managers are very cordial and helpful. For example, they made us a nice fire in the fireplace where we enjoyed the warmth on a cool evening.

We will definitely come back many times.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a kitchen sink and a microwave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walkman10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TidesLagunaBeach, Owner at The Tides Laguna Beach, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
We thank you very much for the nice comments. Joe and Judy and Dale and I are so proud of The Tides. We love every inch of the place and very much appreciate our guests. Please return soon to BBQ that steak. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    129
    30
    11
    12
See reviews for
117
186
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

The location of this motel is good with regards to shops, restaurants etc. However, I had no idea how noisy the road would be. Earplugs were provided in the room, which I thought was funny at first, but when I discovered why! The road noise is constant all day and night.

The next issue was smoking. I assumed that smoking laws where stringent in the US. Unfortunately a number of guest were smokers and it wafted through the vents into our room When we complained, they moved the waste can for cigarette ends to the pool area, so we had to endure them again when we went to swim.

Parking is tight, and the kitchenette in our room was under equipped for the number of people in the room. There is also a limited welcome pack on arrival, basic to the extreme.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dutchclog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TidesLagunaBeach, Owner at The Tides Laguna Beach, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
We are very aware of the traffic noise because of our location on Pacific Coast Hwy (as are most accomodations in Laguna Beach). Our windows are double paned which helps. We do not allow smoking in our rooms and in fact we enforce a $200 fine if our guests do. Smoking is allowed in our outdoor pool area. I remember the horrible smoking problem in the UK when I was there. We keep our kitchenettes well stocked--wish you had asked for whatever you needed. The Tides does not ever give out a welcome pack. We do have complimentary parking, wifi, beach towels, ice and fresh fruit and coffee in the morning.
We are sad to see when reading your other reviews that you are generally unhappy. It is unfortunate you did not enjoy your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

Second stay here,and we love it.
We stayed for 7nights from the 1st of January.Lovely room,big comfy bed.
All you need in kitchen area,and very clean.good location-close to everything.
We will be staying here on our next trip,when over from the uk.
Only spoke to Joe and his wife afew times,and they are lovely,and make you feel welcome.
Our little home from home.
Miss you Tides and Laguna-,hope to be Back soon.x

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mindyb71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
140 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

we had a room on the upper level; from the shared balcony/walk-way bright morning sun and evening sunset views in a near distance. Lovely bed and linens, renovated with wooden floor s and tiles in dressing/bathroom. Some building noise and noise from celebration at pool.
We were able to leave the car at the INN and walk everywhere. Lots of art galleries close by.
Los Brisas for dinner, Madison Market for a light lunch, C'est la Vie for breakfast on deck with beach view. heist Park a true gem with many benches, picnic areas, easy access to beaches with view of Catalina and coast.

Room Tip: for a bigger room get one with kitchenette? or save and spend extra on dinner?
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bess32355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TidesLagunaBeach, Owner at The Tides Laguna Beach, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thanks so much for taking time to review The Tides. We of course agree with you. Having Heisler Park directly across the street with such fabulous public art from our own local artists AND having some of the best galleries just walking distance in the next few blocks is such a plus for our guests. We look forward to your next visit--there are always so many interesting thing to do and see in Laguna Beach. See you soon.
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

My wife and son made a last-minute reservation at The Tides Inn yesterday to attend a family function and the experience was about what we expected. Not great, but not horrible either. Just average and a bit overpriced.

Pros:
The property is conveniently located close to the bluffs and a gorgeous park with amazing walking paths and remarkable scenery. We watched the sunset over Catalina Island, and the views, complete with spouting grey whales, were absolutely spectacular. The property is also close to the downtown area, the beach, many restaurants and tons of art galleries that Laguna Beach is known for. Super convenient.

The room itself was fairly spacious, quaint and decorated nicely. All of the features in the room worked as expected and nothing was obviously broken or in a state of disrepair. The heater worked well and was quiet, which is a huge plus in my book.

There is a nice swimming pool and BBQ area, although the weather was freezing so we opted to stay out of the pool.

Cons:
Although we were greeted with a warm welcome by the property owners and they seem like genuinely nice people, I do feel that we overpaid for the quality of the room we were given. Had I taken the time to do more research, we probably would have ended up in a much nicer and quieter spot for about the same amount of money, which was about $185 for a one-night stay, including tax.

The property itself is a small motel, not an "Inn" as advertised, right on Coast Highway, the busiest street in the area. We were given the choice of two rooms, one with two queen beds or one with two full beds. Naturally we took the queen, although this room was the closest room to the highway of all the rooms on the property. I don't know about you guys, but a husband and wife sleeping together on a full bed is a bit too cozy for our taste, so we opted for the queen, even though it was right on the highway. Fortunately, the property owners left us earplugs on the nightstand, along with a note that said "If by chance you don't find the hum of the passing traffic romantic during the night, we recommend that you use the earplugs provided." Classic! At least the owners have a sense of humor.

Along with being right on the main drag, the bathroom and shower were extremely small. Sitting on the toilet was very cramped and awkward and the shower was the smallest shower I've seen in many years. In the bathroom the paint was peeling in places and some of the fixtures, such as the toilet paper holder, were loose and needed tightening. Also, the soap and shampoo dispensers in the shower didn't work well and it was hard to get my cleaning products in hand. Although more wasteful, I prefer the little individual soap bars and shampoo bottles over the communal variety. Plus, I don't even want to think about who was using those products before me. Eeeew!

Anyway, I knew we were going to be staying for just one night and that we'd only be there for a few hours. That said, the visit was adequate and the people were nice, although the property seems a bit overpriced. If I were planning a romantic escape with my wife, or even planning to stay a couple of days, I would have spent more time researching options and I'm sure we would have ended up somewhere else.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ericwp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TidesLagunaBeach, Owner at The Tides Laguna Beach, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
We thank you for your review. We were wondering if you went through a 3rd party to book our motel as our prices are never that high during the winter season. We apologize for peeling paint which was taken care of immediately. The Tides was built in 1949--our goal was to be affordable and clean so families could enjoy Laguna Beach. Yes, we copied the earplugs from a hotel I stayed at in Montana next to a train (far worse than traffic) Just switched our soap and shampoo to wall hanging because it is so much cleaner and "green" with less waste. Finally, we wish we were on the ocean side of the highway too (roaring waves vs. traffic) May we suggest the Surf and Sand for your next Laguna Beach visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

I honestly cannot say enough good things about The Tides! My husband and I got married in Laguna Beach on December 28, 2012, and most of our guests stayed, along with us, at The Tides for a few nights. Everyone raved about how warm and kind Dale, Judy, and everyone else was during their stay. The rooms are beautiful and clean, and they have a wide variety of options depending on what you are looking for--full kitchen, kitchenette, etc. Throughout the entire wedding planning process, Judy and Dale were so flexible and sweet. When our guests booked their rooms, they would call or email us to tell us how nice and warm the people at The Tides were. That meant a lot to us because we wanted to have a special, intimate weekend with our family and friends. In addition to the rooms, the pool and fireplace area is fantastic! We all got to cozy up and enjoy quality time together. The location is perfect as well- right in the middle of downtown Laguna and in walking distance to pretty much anything you might need. Not to mention, a beautiful park and beach is just across the street. I definitely recommend staying here- either for a short stay or extended. You will be well taken care of and enjoy the personalized experience.

Room Tip: Look at their website for the different room layouts! They are very upfront about which rooms are qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TidesLagunaBeach, Owner at The Tides Laguna Beach, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful compliments.
We love having wedding parties stay at The Tides. It is so nice to have everyone in the same place--friends and family become better acquainted and such amazing memories are made. We just adore our Tides Brides. Hoping you celebrate here every year.
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

A fantastic place! Great service with a really friendly atmosphere!

Only a 5 min walk into the centre of Laguna.

The rooms are great, clean and individually decorated!

The pool area is a great area to relax with a beer or have a quiet swim.

Thanks very much!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The-Cadman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TidesLagunaBeach, Owner at The Tides Laguna Beach, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
You are so very welcome. Glad you found us and we look forward to your next visit.
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
1.3 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#8 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
0.6 mi away
Crescent Bay Inn
Crescent Bay Inn
#6 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
0.0 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
2.1 mi away
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tides Laguna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tides Laguna Beach

Property: The Tides Laguna Beach
Address: 460 N Coast Hwy, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-1630
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Tides Laguna Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Tides Laguna Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tides Hotel Laguna Beach
Tides Hotel Laguna Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing