We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Tides Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Tides Laguna Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Tides Laguna Beach
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Laguna Beach
Certificate of Excellence
SVaughn1
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Terrific Tides Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

What an awesome place! The staff is wonderful; the hotel is charming and the location is ideal!

The first evening of our reservation (initially) overlapped with a group who has been coming (to The Tides) for years --- yet there was an outside chance that one of the rooms required by this group would come available.

They "stalked" that room for weeks -- until it finally did come available -- and then called me on my cell phone to inform me. Now THAT'S customer service!

While The Tides warns you of potential traffic noise --- and they offer ear plugs "just in case" --- I must say we didn't notice the PCH noise at all. If that is a concern of yours --- put it aside as the traffic dies down relatively early in the evening and doesn't pick up too early in the morning. We didn't miss a moments rest!

We were in room 210 --- a small room tucked away in the corner. PERFECT for two. The bathroom is somewhat small --- but it reminded us of the European bathrooms we've been in --- so it was not a detraction from the stay. The room is tastefully decorated and spacious enough.

The pool area is beautiful --- and while we only partook for a brief amount of time one afternoon --- it was so cozy we both fell asleep! In the evenings --- the corner fireplace was active and inviting.

Being from out of state --- we obviously had a rental car. Parking is sufficient --- and our full sized rental fit just fine.

The location to town is perfect --- each morning we took the scenic, leisurely route through Heisler Park to the Starbucks and then on to Madison Square and Garden Cafe for breakfast (there will be separate review for that fabulous place). In the afternoon's, we strolled throughout the downtown area doing plenty of shopping and snacking. Ask the staff where to go and they will eagerly advise according to your "likes".

Laguna is a wonderful place --- and The Tides Inn is the PERFECT place to stay for a multitude of reasons. If our travels return us to (anywhere near) Laguna --- we will be staying at The Tides!

Great Staff! Great stay! Great memories!

Room Tip: room 210 --- as mentioned in the review.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SVaughn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    122
    28
    10
    10
See reviews for
105
167
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Benton, Louisiana
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I actually found out about The Tides Inn on tripadvisor.com. My cousin and I wanted to spend a few days in a beach town prior to a business trip to Irvine. We hadn't decided on any particular beach town -- just trying to find a relaxing place to stay. When I came across the reviews for The Tides Inn, I knew we'd found the place.

We were greeted very warmly when we arrived and continued to receive superior customer service throughout our stay. The rooms are not fancy, but they are very comfortable. The little kitchenette was nice to have and we spent some time in the chairs on the front porch of our room. The bathroom was a bit small, but we managed just fine.

The only thing I didn't like was my own fault. I confused "ocean view" with "ocean front." I had expected a room on the beach and was initially disappointed in my mistake. The inn is across the street from the beach. But we had plenty of beach access and were able to spend plenty of time on the beach.

The town had great restaurants, boutiques, art -- just a really charming place. The staff at The Tides Inn made us feel like we were guests in their home. We will visit there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

It's a lovely place with a good character. Spotless clean and perfect service. Only a bit close to the road, otherwise perfect. We stayed in one of the rooms with kitchen. (well the american version of a kitchen: no stove, but microwave, fridge..) its a white friendly room with a lot of space, big Tv with a list of all chanels.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Goldfishtrap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TidesLagunaBeach, Owner at The Tides Laguna Beach, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Hi,
We love your review and thank you for the lovely comments. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Safe travels.
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Very charming and well maintained hotel. The room was clean and had a bread and breakfast charm. Pool was great and loved the fireplace. Great location never had to drive once we got there. Even though they are right on the Pacific Coast Hwy you would never know it. The staff was very accessable and willing to help.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank korona123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TidesLagunaBeach, Owner at The Tides Laguna Beach, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Location. Location. Location. We love where we are also!
Thank you for your recent stay and for your kind comments. Our fabulous staff is always pleased to hear feedback from guests. We are hoping for a return visit soon.
Regards,
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Bear Region, California
Level Contributor
166 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We loved our stay at the Tides. This little hotel is quaint, charming, and well maintained. The room was impeccably clean, the pool was great, the service was friendly. It is on PCH, just 3 blocks from the center of town and 1 block from the beach. Everything is in walking distance. The only thing that would make it better would be if it were overlooking the beach, but then you would pay A LOT more for that.

This has to be the best place in town for the price. Especially if you come on your birthday and get the bday special. And the friendly management even upgraded our room.

Be aware that it is on PCH, which is a noisy highway, but then most of the other hotels are also located on this street, so I am sure they would all be just as noisy. They do provide ear plugs to sleep noise free and that worked for us.

If you want the big corporate resort experience, then go to the Marriott in Newport. If you want a little taste of a time gone by in a quaint charming little place, then give the Tides a try. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank We3luv2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TidesLagunaBeach, Owner at The Tides Laguna Beach, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thanks so much for the wonderful review.
Yes, it would be nice to be on the beach but our upstairs rooms do have a slight water view. We are thrilled you took advantage of our Birthday Special--such a great deal and we appreciate your taking the time to review us.
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

The Tides Inn stands just off the main Highway passing down the Pacific Coast Highway and offers excellent value in this lovey town. We only stayed here the one night which was regrettable as we were felt to be made very welcome from the moment we stepped into reception.

Rooms very well equipped, more a suite than a room and would not go amiss in more expensive boutique hotel.

A lovely if underused pool area to the front of the property just adds to the excellent value of this property.

Room Tip: More of a suite than a room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Howard_CRochdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Spent another 4 nights in Laguna Beach at the Tides Inn. Our second stay here to be repeated when we come to Orange County. Wonderful staff; extremely customer oriented, affortable accomodations considering it is Laguna Beach CA afterall. Nice pool and lounge area. Rooms spic and span. Great location within walking distance of absolutely everything. Make sure you walk North one block, cross PCH 1 towards the ocean and take the cliff walk that trails all the way back to the Laguna Beach city beach. Wonderful views of the magnificent Pacific Ocean.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DiverChaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laguna Beach hotels
0.8 mi away
Pacific Edge on Laguna Beach, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Inn At Laguna Beach
The Inn At Laguna Beach
#5 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 635 reviews
1.3 mi away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#8 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
Casa Laguna Hotel & Spa
#2 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,008 reviews
0.0 mi away
Laguna Beach House
Laguna Beach House
#3 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 218 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crescent Bay Inn
Crescent Bay Inn
#4 of 22 in Laguna Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tides Laguna Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tides Laguna Beach

Property: The Tides Laguna Beach
Address: 460 N Coast Hwy, Laguna Beach, CA 92651-1630
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Laguna Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Laguna Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Laguna Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Tides Laguna Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Tides Laguna Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tides Hotel Laguna Beach
Tides Hotel Laguna Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing